We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, perfect location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Collection Barcelona Gran Hotel Calderon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
NH Collection Barcelona Gran Hotel Calderon
Ranked #82 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Locarno, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, perfect location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

I travelled to Barcelona in August when the prices already turned low-season and the package seemed very suitable and cheap for us. We chose NH Calderon as the structure and rooms looked modern and comfortable, with all the necessary facilities and, most of all, its location is perfect. 5 minutes walking from La Rambla and with a metro station on the parallel street.
Actually the room (standard double) was a bit small but, as we spent the whole days visiting sightseeing and nights partying and clubbing, it was just a place for resting after the long walks.
The fridge and the air conditioner didn't work so good, the were powerful during the night and very low during the day.
The rooftop swimming pool is pretty small and the chairs weren't enough, but the view from there is fantastic.
We tried the breakfast once but there is not a wide choice at all, just the typical English Breakfast buffet with the addition of some Spanish pastries and fruit.
I would recommend this hotel for couples and small groups of friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    775
    743
    151
    42
    19
See reviews for
288
655
67
410
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

The location is perfect for walking pretty much anywhere in Barcelona. I'm a big walker and likely covered 25km over the 2 days I was there.

Priceline had sold me on a few things on this hotel that were not true. They mentioned: 1) Free breakfast (not true....but the hotel graciously honored this....although it did cause significant confusion) 2) Free parking (not true, but not an issue as I didn't need to park) 3) Rooftop pool (True, but as not heated, it's closed outside the summer months).

They did have free internet, though. Each password lasted 24 hours, so I needed to collect new passwords from reception.

The breakfast was good with a variety of fruit, bread, cheese, yogurts, spreads, eggs, meats, pastries, juice, coffee etc. We got it for free, but it would otherwise be 24 euros/person/day. It would have been worth 18 Euros.

The staff was friendly; the place was clean.

The bedding was not to my liking. There was a white top cover that didn't seem like it got washed enough. Then it had one of those cheap hotel blankets (which I personally hate). The single pillow was sufficient for me, but I know that many folks would have needed to call housekeeping for an additional pillow.

The place was fine. I'd likely not stay there again as I'd probably want to try something else, but it's a perfectly reasonable place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeattlePH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

The location was great, the hotel was just OK.
Positives: Clean, large bathroom, well-stocked
Negatives: Small room (probably OK by European standards), strange bathroom setup, the WC was at the corner with hardly any legroom, staff not friendly, wifi is free but you need to keep getting a code everyday (codes work for 24 hours), there is a fitness room but tiny with no weights.
Again the location though could not have been better. It is right by Plaza Catalunya so close to the action down there but is in Eixample, which is quieter and nicer. Easy walk to everything.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicago3206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

First of all the location - very close to Plaza Catalunya, right on the Rambla Catalunya (with a vast range of restaurants), round the corner from Paseo de Gracia (shopping avenue). Just perfect if you are visiting the city or if you are, as I was, lucky enough to have business meetings in Barcelona center. The building is not the most attractive in the area (a bit too 80s and clashing with the beautiful modernist buildings in the Ramblas...) and the lobby is rather small in contrast with the hotel size (I would imagine this could cause issues when big groups are checking out...). The room though was of good size, well appointed, with all amenities you would expect from a 4* hotel. Only the TV could result a bit small but aside from that I had a very comfortable stay and I would go back to this hotel. I would recommend not to take breakfast though (or breakfast included rates) as in the Ramblas you can have excellent fairs for a third of the price you would pay at the hotels.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilfDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortenberg, Belgium
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Double doors and windows makes sure you do not have any disturbance from being in the city centre.
The breakfast is beyond normal.
Everything else is just very good.
Did not find the pool though (but I did not pursue in my search as November is not really a swimming season).

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

I stayed there in early November this year. The rooms was clean, was quite despite being on the main Street , had towels and amnities, but was very small with even less closet space. The lobby was unattractive, and front desk staff had limited English and a sour pout . They were very unhelpful in providing assistances such as travel reservation, taxi booking, events tucker booking, and tour reservation assistance. The breakfast was average and the staff do not speak any English and do not smile if you begged them, not even Buenos Diaz !!!.
They had a strange WiFi service ( extremely important to many travelers today) where password was changed daily and kept disconnecting it almost made it useless. I will never stay there again, and I don't know who NH are, but they are also off my hotel list.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yasmine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

very nice hotel on a super location to visit barcelona...
clean rooms with a very good size , very good breakfast with a wide variety and after a day walking in the city you can cool down in the rooftop pool

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saraherwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
NH Collection Barcelona Podium
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#63 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,715 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Rambla
Hotel Praktik Rambla
#69 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Alma Barcelona
Alma Barcelona
#17 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,704 reviews
Eixample
H10 Metropolitan
H10 Metropolitan
#24 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#20 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Barcelona Gran Hotel Calderon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Barcelona Gran Hotel Calderon

Property: NH Collection Barcelona Gran Hotel Calderon
Address: Rambla Catalunya, 26, 08007 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly NH Calderon)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#55 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#61 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#110 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#133 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Collection Barcelona Gran Hotel Calderon 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Barcelona's city center, the NH Collection Barcelona Gran Hotel Calderón hotel is surrounded by everything that makes the city so hot! Restaurants, shopping, culture and businesses are all right at our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your NH Collection Barcelona Gran Hotel Calderon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Calderon Barcelona
Nh Calderon Hotel Barcelona
Nh Hotels Barcelona
NH Collection Barcelona Gran Hotel Calderon Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing