We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, comfortable, beautiful, spacious homely apartment hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites
Ranked #16 of 722 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
MALAYSIA
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“clean, comfortable, beautiful, spacious homely apartment hotel”
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Eric Vokel Grab Via Suites is located right in the city of Barcelona in a very well known road , Gran Via. all types of food can be found walking distance all around the hotel. a bakery can be found next door. the hotel is equipped with a very big and clean kitchen and you can opt to cook if you want to. it cones with a big dining table. the sofa can be converted into a bug double bed. we can even see fire works from our sitting room window. walking distance to passiege de Gracia, a high end shopping street, and Las Ramblas and Monjuc. very convenient area regards to location . Hotel still maintain a working condition a century old lift . only 3 people can get in at a time but better than none.the unit also come with an aircon. you don't need it in month of Oct. just open a small section of window and cold air will rush in. 2 sun chairs are provided at the balcony and you can sun bath and enjoy the view.
the place is very modern in design and furniture. a washing machine is also provided. we have a unit for 7 people but only 6 people are using, so we have
ample space. suitable for families. I understand they have smaller units to cater for less people. given the opportunity to return, I would not hesitate to book again. thanks for the wonderful experience.


  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HBBMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ericvokelbcn, Gerente at Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taken your time to post a review on our apartments.

We loved that you had a great stay with and we loved the good description you did.

Do not hesitate to come back again.

Kindest Regards,

Alexandre Petignot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    811
    306
    53
    14
    7
See reviews for
643
212
18
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We where 3 people staying in a two bedroom flat for 4 days. The flat was light and clean, and it had almost everything you needed. My only two complains are lack of pegs to hang your cloths on in the hall, bedroom and bathroom. It would also have been nice with a small dresser with trays to put your underwear in. The cabinets only have one shelf, so two of us had to keep our cloths in our briefcase. Many guest before us have complained about the noisy elevator, and I agree. You have to be very quick closing the inner doors, otherwise it starts "screaming".
Except for this our stay was perfect. The beds are good, and we even had two balcony`s. The service are excellent, if you need more accessories like toilette paper etc. you always got what you asked for, and they even spoke good english. We had rented a car in Barcelona, and we hired a parking place through Eric Vøkel Gran Via Suites. It was only 2 min. walk from the apartment, and with 24 hours security. We even got free breakfast vouchers ( too use in the cafe next door) since we had an internet reservation, a really nice surprise from Eric Vøkel. Thanks for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ericvokelbcn, Gerente at Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review, we are proud to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We apologize the inconveniences you had with lift, we are working on a better system but as the lift is a unique antic piece from 1900 (refurbished totally in 2011) it is not so easy to find what we could need and we love it for his antic aspect.

We also took note of your comment, our guest are the most important for us and their suggestions make us improve every day.

Thank you also for mentioned that booking on our own website page we offer you the breakfast for free in the bakery next door.

Hope to see you back again.

Kindest Regards from Barcelona,

Alexandre Petignot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2012

booked these apartments for champions league. the rooms were brilliant, excellent value for money .the staff were very helpful and friendly.i could not think of one negative thing to say about the apartments or the staff.loved my stay here and will definitely be coming back with my family.
beautiful rooms,beautiful city, beautiful people.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjcceltic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ericvokelbcn, Gerente at Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for a such review, all of us are so proud to hear that you loved your stay with us.

Thank you so much for mentioned the great job of all of us.

Do not hesitate to come back, it will be a great pleasure for us.

Kindest Regards,

Alexandre Petignot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Wonderful location for a family with two daughters of 13&17. the appartment was very proper, modern and big enough.
A special compliment to Alex in the reception. He was extraordinary helpfull and smart.
Before we arrived we had some trouble to receive a mail with orders for the check in. Because we arrived 7pm the reception was closed and we tryed the check in machine. That didnt work. We had luck because Alaex was still there and he helped us immediately.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cstauffacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ericvokelbcn, Gerente at Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear family,

Thank you so much for your review, I am so happy to see that you had a great stay with us and thank you for mentioned my name.

It is true that after 18h our guest have to use the kiosk machine to make the check-in (if we already left) and in case of problem or whatever we always have someone who has the emergency phone and who will help you any time

Hope to see you back again!

Kindest Regards from Barcelona,

Alexandre Petignot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Enjoyed a 3 night stay at the very comfortable Gran Via apartments. We were scheduled to stay at Industria sister apartment but we had to be moved to Gran Via due to unexpected building work being carried out. We found it to be a great base to get out and explore on our 1st visit to the city. We were met by a very friendly receptionist upon check in who gave us all the info we neded. As we had booked through Erik Vokel's own website we were provided with complimentary breakfast at a patisserie next door which was great (delicious cakes available from the cafe during the day as well!). Many places to eat locally; particularly enjoyed dinner at Zinc restaurant which was within walking distance. So much to see and do in Barcelona, we will definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPARKY36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ericvokelbcn, Gerente at Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear guest,

Firs of all we want to apologise once again that we had to move you from one building to Gran Via Suites because of a maintenance work at Industria Suites but feel better as you loved the place.

Thank you for your review and for the great description of the area you did.
Thank you also for mentioned that booking through our website page we offer you the breakfast in the well know bakery next door.

We hope to see you back in the future.

Regards,

Alexandre Petignot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larbert, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had previously used various hotels in Barcelona but as we were struggling to get two hotel rooms in this area for a decent price - around £500/night for the two rooms in any decent standard of hotel within 1/2 mile of Catalunya square. This apartment complex popped up as an option on various booking sites and having checked the reviews on trip advisor we went ahead and booked and we are very glad we did. We rented a 3 bedroom apartment (sleeps 7) as an overnight stop with some friends prior to boarding our cruise ship.

The Gran via Suites are about 0.5km from Placa Espanya where the Aerobus from the airport stops so only a ten minute walk and your there. This is where the Las Arenas shopping mall is (an old bullring I believe) which has a lot of shops and restaurants to chose from.

We ourselves decided to take a private transfer though as there were six of us (two families of 3) so the cost of the transfer was only marginally more expensive than the Aerobus and you get the benefit of a door-to-door service. It takes about 25 minutes to get to the apartments from the airport.

When we arrived at the front door, as soon as it opened we were impressed by the contemporary feel of the place as when you look at the building from the outside, you just don't expect it. The reception staffs were extremely pleasant and helpful and gave us some maps and told us a little about the local area, where the Opencor supermarket was etc. which was very useful. Previous reviews of the building have been negative about the lift. It is very small but it does fit in perfectly with the 'original' building and is a reminder of that. As we were on the top (8th) floor we packed our cases into it and used the stairs to go up ourselves. Not ideal for the elderly or infirm but this is only an issue when arriving or departing, the rest of the time we managed to get 4 people in the lift no problem (there is a maximum load of 400kg).

When we opened the front door of the apartment we were over the moon! The place looked very fresh to the point where it looked hardly lived in and the facilities were excellent.Our top floor apartment 81 had a small terrace with a couple of loungers accessible from the main bedroom and lounge. There was another small terrace from the kitchen/lounge area which you couldn't get access to as the doors were locked for what we think was safety reasons as there was a sign up on the terrace warning of potential fall hazard. The main lounge had a large sofa bed and a glass dining table with 6 Perspex chairs. A wall mounted LCD TV had a few English channels but we never used it much with only being there one night. The free WIFI was much appreciated and worked very well.

There were 3 bedrooms in total, 1 double with en-suite, 1 twin and 1 single, all with fitted wardrobes with plenty of space for hanging clothes. There was a shower room off the main hallway which also gave access to a small laundry room with a washer/dryer which would have been great had we been staying for longer. All the bedrooms and bathrooms were well fitted out and very clean. The kitchen was fitted with a large fridge freezer, microwave, electric ceramic hob/oven and dishwasher and the small welcome pack with 'get you started' pack with a few cloths, washing up liquid, dishwasher and laundry tabs was most welcome.

The Rocafort metro station is right outside the apartment which allows you to get around the city very quickly and efficiently and it only took us 4 minutes to get into Catalunya square at the top of Las Ramblas. If you've never used the metro in Barcelona before then don't be concerned, it's much, much cleaner than say the London underground and is easily navigable. A single journey is 2 Euros but we bought a T10 ticket for 9.45 Euros which gave us ten journeys and every member of the group can travel on the one ticket so it’s very cost effective.

We had booked through the Eric Vokel website as the prices were the same as the other booking sites but we got a free breakfast in the small cafe next door for doing this. You got tea or coffee, orange juice, a small sandwich and a croissant/patisserie which was more than ample for us.

I cannot say how much we enjoyed staying here. Having stayed in Barcelona hotels in the past, the extra space and flexibility this gave us was fantastic - and all for less than the cost of the hotel room. We will never stay anywhere else in the city again and look forward to going back for a longer stay in future. Thank you Eric Vokel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ericvokelbcn, Gerente at Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for a such review, we are so glad to hear that you loved the apartment and the building.

We loved your review as you mentioned everything some future guest could need (how to get from the airport, the area, metro, apartment, services, ...).

We hope to see you back in the future.

Kindest Regards from Barcelona,

Alexandre Petignot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Who would have thought you could get such a beautiful suite, we were very impressed, there was everything you could want and a private terrace to boot! Located perfectly to both amenities and local attractions, would definitely highly recommend!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shirley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ericvokelbcn, Gerente at Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for a such review, it is a great pleasure for all of us hear that you loved the apartment.

Thank you also for recommending us.

Do not hesitate to discover our apartments in Madrid.

Kindest Regards,

Alexandre Petignot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Villa Emilia
Hotel Villa Emilia
#37 of 512 in Barcelona
2,252 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#99 of 512 in Barcelona
3,748 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#3 of 512 in Barcelona
215 reviews
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#60 of 512 in Barcelona
2,208 reviews
El Raval
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
#73 of 512 in Barcelona
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites

Property: Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites
Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes 454, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 722 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eric Vökel Gran Via Suites has been personally and decorated by Eric in a style that is a unique mix of functionality and the beauty of Nordic design with all creativity and spontaneity of Mediterranean design.Light and confort create the spaces in the apartments and have the highest level of ecological efficiency and confort, providing every convenience to make the stay as pleasant as posible. This building is located very close to the city center, Plaza Catalunya and Ramblas is the Eixample neighborhood. Furthermore, it is very easily communicated by public transportation from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Hotel Barcelona
Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing