We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The best meal of the trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tickets

Tickets
Ranked #48 of 8,646 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: El Raval
Description: Un original concepto de tapeo en Barcelona, una forma divertida de comer y de entender la vida. ¿Vienes?
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
“The best meal of the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I had pretty high expectations but still it blew my mind. The famous El Bulli olive is good. The cheese puff pastry is awesome. But the best dishes were the ones that seem ordinary. One chicken dish I had was a crispy chicken skin cracker on the bottom and three slices of roasted chicken breast. The chicken melts into my mouth like the best blue fin toro sashimi..with intense chicken flavor. The tomato salad is also a must try. The innocent looking gazpacho gelee taste more intense than the ripest tomato I ever had.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yehua L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,718 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,278
    266
    91
    54
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
HK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“High expectations, slightly disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Having just finished a fantastic dining experience at Cal Pep, we had very high expectations for Tickets. We unfortunately left disappointed, because:

-Every single dish was room temperature. Not sure if this was intentional, but it made for a less than satisfying experience. Some dishes certainly can be room temperature, but certainly not EVERY dish

-Surprisingly the dishes did not serve to highlight the natural flavors of the ingredients, especially since the ingredients are no doubt top notch

-Novelty for novelty's sake: I get the approach, which is to make a whimsical journey using food as the story-telling medium...but this might have been possible to do without losing focus on flavor. After all I'd go to a movie if all I wanted was entertainment. To go to a restaurant, all things might be good, but the crux of the delivery is fantastically delicious food

We were glad to have visited, as the server was keen on getting feedback and obviously excited at his job, and it can be notched up as an experience, but I wouldn't be in a huge hurry to return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bigyam77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible presentation of delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Amazing food, presentation, and service in quirky atmosphere. Olive signature dish cannot be described - must be experienced! Felt a little rushed at the end, apparently to turn oer the table. Go with four or more to have a greater variety of dishes and tastes.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Imaginative Food, Odd and Poor Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We were looking forward to our dinner at Tickets for two months. Most of the food we had was very good to excellent with one exception but the service we had was very poor.

First the good part: Fried Pistachios, Peaches marinated in white wine, white rum, (a cocktail within the fruit slices) the famous El Bulli "olives" an explosion of olive essence, the cheese airbags (again an explosion of flavor) , the quail eggs with the amazing presentation, the manchego cheese with hazelnut caviar airbags, then the delicious foie gras with the tiny corn puff, a selection of a half dozen oysters done three ways (we preferred the natural and the red wine vinegar with the olive oil caviar to the ones with the ponzu sauce which masked the taste), the marinated fish with the shiitake mushrooms was delicious, then the sandwich with the pork and mozzarella with brioche was fabulous. The unsuccessful dish was the chicken with a BBQ sauce that really was not that great and which we didn't order anyway (more on that later), then two fabulous desserts with liquid chocolate enclosed in pastry and the second a cold cylinder of chocolate formed as a cigar and filled with hazelnut ice cream. The presentation was great.
Now you say, what could mar this wonderful dinner? Read on.

Now for the poor. We reserved early in the evening and from the time we arrived felt rushed through everything. Since we had studied the menu and pretty much knew what we wanted, we told the server we would choose our dishes but welcomed her guidance. At each stage, we consulted her about the dishes. Perhaps they prefer it if it if you let them decide what you eat. They suggested that at the beginning. It seems to be a part of their theater to bring out the dish and discuss the great things they've chosen for you.

We ordered four things from the first part of the menu. Despite the server saying they would bring them out one at a time, the peaches arrived just after the pistachios. We wanted to savor what we ate but they made it difficult. Each time the server brought out the last dish on that part of the menu, she said, this is the last tapa you've ordered, do you want to order more? Couldn't she wait for the one or two bites of the dish to ask us. We would have preferred that we be asked this after the dish was eaten so we didn't have to juggle the menu and try to enjoy the presentation and the dish at the same time. The dishes came fast and furiously. After the first round we asked her to slow down and she said of course but didn't really change that much.

After we asked about some of the dishes, she twice brought us the last dish we asked about instead of the one we had decided on. Perhaps there was a language problem. As a result we got the marinated fish which was fine since we were thinking about it anyway but the second time we ordered the bean, sausage and octopus casserole and got the chicken which we didn't want. We should have sent it back and I'm sure they would have been gracious about it. But we hardly felt like fighting the tide at that point. It was only an hour after we'd entered so you can imagine how fast this dishes were coming. We noticed other people who had come in at exactly the same time being served more slowly, so who knows what it was. Did they need to turn our table over to use for another group, did they not like the way we ordered? Who knows.

The final straw was when the waitress delivered the last main dish and she asked if we would like to have dessert outside at deserted tables in the front of the restaurant. Why we would want to contemplate dessert before we even finished our other dishes. Why would we want to change tables.? It wasn't even that warm last night.

We have dined at some great restaurants and are seasoned world travelers. We were polite and interested diners. I have never felt less welcome at any restaurant of this caliber before. The food was great and interesting but we ended the evening feeling like the whole experience was very marred.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing tapas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We went here for lunch on a saturday. The food was delightful, everything tasted fantastic and, more importantly, surprising. Al dishes had an element of something different, a twist on the original or the expected. The whole concept of the restaurant with its interior, the open kitchen and the circus uniforms of the staff set a creative and fun backdrop for the meal. The staff is very friendly and professional, even enthusiastic, and give great guidance as the menu is not completely understandable or predictable (of course). Another thing that impressed us here was the timing, the food and drinks came without us ever waiting or asking for anything, the waiters were quick and observant and everything worked seamlessly. We had an amazing time!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank annecgronvold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tickets also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Tickets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing