We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option for a budget stay in Barcelona”
Review of La Isla Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Isla Hostal
Ranked #141 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I stayed at Hostal La Isla for two nights in September 2012. The hostal is located very close to Arc De Triomph metro and about 15 mnutes walks from the top of Las Ramblas and Placa Catalunya.

The staff were very friendly, the rooms and bathrooms were very clean. I would say that this is an excellent option for someone who wants their own room for a good price rather than staying in a dormitory. Not really a choice if you are looking for luxury.

The one issue that I did have was that I hit Barcelona in a hot snap and the rooms got very hot (the fan provided was quite weak and the window was to an internal courtyard).

I bought a two day metro pass and I used it alot to get around (Barceloneta / Park Guell / Sagrada Familia etc). Some of the interchanges at stations seemed like a vry long way! I highly recommend the seafood in the main market in Las Ramblas.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 143 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

The hostel is suituated right next to Arc de Triomf metro station but around 30 minutes walk from plaça de catalunya. There are many cafes and restaurants nearby. The staff are very friendly and the bathrooms are quite clean. The rooms are tidied daily but it does get hot inside during Summer. Overall, great place to stay for a short trip to Barcelona.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sophie888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The room has no air-conditioner, and the fan is too weak, my portable fan is even more stonger than that. After I made a complaint, they changed a much better fan for me (better than nothing).

The towel do have blood sting, have to check it everytime before I use it.

Beside the room and the towel, staffs were very friendly and helpful, they will give advise where to go, and how to get there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank htieK_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FERDI1274, Manager at La Isla Hostal, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thanks for your review and for your staying at La Isla Hostal.
We'd like to clarify you that when an establishment doesn't advertise air-conditionate, it means the property doesn't have it, so if you organize a visit to a city on summer and you have an issue with the heat, we recommend you to choose an establishment that offer air-conditionate. Our establishment offers fan on our rooms, and if there's any problem with it, it will be immedeately replaced, as happened in this case.
About the towel, no comment, our dry-clean industrial laundries deliver us fresh and clean towels and linen. Any complaint about it should have been adviced at the moment to be immedeately solved.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We had a great time at La Isla Hostal and would definitely stay again. The price was just right and the Hostal was easy to find, right opposite the arc de triomf and 2 mins from the underground station. It was very clean, and the staff were really helpful, giving us tips about where to go and what to do etc. The room was basic, but comfortable and I thoroughly enjoyed my time here. It can be a bit noisy on an evening outside, and then early in the morning, but I guess this is a problem all over Barcelona as it is such a big vibrant and bustling city and it didn't prevent us from sleeping.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Booked this last minute for a business trip during a time where it's almost impossible to find anything near Barcelona city center. What a pleasant surprise it was! Excellent location (also serviced by a subway station across the street) and the rooms were quite nice. The staff was also very helpful. The free Wi-Fi worked very well too.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Between the bus terminal and placa catalunya, very good location, clean and comfort beds, very helpful staff, free tea and coffee, i ve stayed @ private double and it was big enough for two. And very silent for a hostal! Lovely

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank halilCyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

This hostal was very clean and in a great location, just a 10 minute walk to the Placa Catalunya/Ramblas. They have clean facilities with a backyard area for drinking coffee in the mornings. The staff is VERY friendly, as they gave us great recommendations for food and sights. They were very accommodating when I needed to leave my bags for the day due to having a late flight out of Barcelona. I will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jllejeun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Eddy's Guest House Barcelona
Eddy's Guest House Barcelona
#110 of 308 in Barcelona
133 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Pension Arosa
Pension Arosa
#122 of 308 in Barcelona
74 reviews
Montjuic
Camino Bed & Breakfast
Camino Bed & Breakfast
#115 of 308 in Barcelona
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Pension Francia
Pension Francia
#238 of 308 in Barcelona
149 reviews
Albergue Studio
#109 of 308 in Barcelona
136 reviews
Gracia
Hostal Lesseps
Hostal Lesseps
#73 of 308 in Barcelona
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Isla Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Isla Hostal

Address: Ronda Sant Pere 53 Entresol 1, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range: $49 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Isla Hostal 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Isla is a Hostal located in the heart of Barcelona, midway between the stylish Eixample and the vibrant Born and Gothic Quarter, an unbeatable location. If you like to travel without complications, discover to the maximum and especially enjoy Barcelona, La Isla is what you're looking for! We have double or single rooms with private or shared bathroom. La Isla, travel, discover, enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Isla Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Isla Hostal Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing