We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlights of Barcelona”
Review of Julia Travel

Julia Travel
Book In Advance
More Info
$46.92*
and up
Priority Access: Barcelona Sagrada Familia Tour
More Info
$66.17*
and up
Montserrat Monastery Tour from Barcelona Including Cogwheel Train Ride
More Info
$52.94*
and up
Flamenco Night at Tablao Cordobes
Ranked #212 of 582 Tours in Barcelona
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Julia Travel is a Spanish company with more than 80 years of experience dedicated to incoming tourism in Spain and deals both with the tourism industry and directly with tourists. We offer half/one day tours in Barcelona and surroundings on our confortable buses and always with a bilingual guide who provides all information and more to fully enjoy the trip!
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We booked several tours through Julia travel (their tours not third party). We did the highlights of Barcelona (full day) and Freixenet/Stigas (1/2 day). The highlight tours of Barcelona were exactly that an overview of what is to see. However, the afternoon and morning were entirely different experiences with some common items anyone should be aware of.

The major difference was the tour guide. In the am the guide did NOT adhere to the schedule and waited for some people to return to the motor coach (after having said there was a few minute grace period. At one stop it was over 20 minutes which caused us to miss some sights. The afternoon we actually left one person who did not return after 10 minutes and had a much better experience.

A common item is language. Even though both tours were primarily english speaking the guides both started in Spanish (the first 1/2 day was 90% english speaking), the afternoon was about 60% (with 3 other languages). This means that as you pass points of interest you may MISS the place entirely by the time the explanation is provided.

That being said we would have had to take taxis to several of the points which would have cost more. Also it was a highlights which means no time to really explore. If the morning tour had followed the schedule and both tours had started with the language of the majority of the visitors it would have been okay

1  Thank 3CatswillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTcustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Julia Travel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Please be assured that we fully appreciate the points you have raised and would, once again, like to offer our sincere apologies for the disappointment you have expressed.

Regarding the difference between the morning and the afternoon GUIDE way to deal with the waiting time, I agree with you that 20 minutes is too long. We reminded our guides that we have a schedule to follow, so there is a global procedure on how to deal in these cases.

Otherwise are the languages used as all our tours are done, at least, in English and Spanish. Sometimes in the tour there are more English speaking travelers and sometimes there are more Spanish speaking travelers and our guides always tell the same in both languages or at least they try to do.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again soon for a hopefully improved and more enjoyable experience.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (542)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

377 - 381 of 542 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

We booked a half-day tour of Barcelona through Marriott, which was handled by Julia Travel. The guide was fine till the end (more on that below) although the tour, while nominally in English, was actually done in three languages which limited the amount of information that could be conveyed.

The real problem, however, was that the guide abandoned us along the way. We were instructed to be at a certain location at a certain time. We were there but he never showed up and we ended up having to take a taxi back to the hotel. This was particularly surprising since we were part of a small group and he could have easily recognized our absence.

Thank Itsobvious48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTcustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Julia Travel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Regarding the languages used, all our tours are done, at least, in English and Spanish. It can be done in three languages depending on the group nationalities

I’m concerned about being abandoned by our guide, It would be very helpful to receive more details of your trip through an email as to which tour saw it and which day.
However let me point in all our tours everything is scheduled, this is a regular tour departing and arriving at scheduled times. We must follow the program to be on time at the different places we are going to visit.

We understand that there may be some unforeseen delays which delays the return of the passengers. So before we departs, there is a courtesy waiting time of 15-20 minutes; once this time has been passed, the bus heads to its next destinations, as there are more passengers on board who complied to the meeting.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Day trip out of Barcelona using two guides. The Girona guide was well informed and pleasant but hampered by a full tour group requiring several languages. Ample free time provided for lunch and wandering. Little direction provided at the Dali museum but plenty of time to see the exhibits.The bus is a snug fit for anyone with height. The cost made this a reasonable day tour but nothing made it an outstanding tour.

Thank Beverly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTcustomerService, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Julia Travel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you so much for your constructive feedback following your experience with us.

All our guides are official tourist guides and they are specialist in these destinations. All our tours are done, at least, in English and Spanish.

Our company is part of a GRUPO JULIA, with more than 300 vehicles of all sizes, with an average age of less than 4 years, equipped with the latest safety features. Our buses are 50 – 52 seats vehicles.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again soon for and hopefully improved and more enjoyable experience.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Really enjoyed this tour. Have done Skip the Line tours elsewhere, and think they are the way to go if you have limited time, and don't want to queue up. We waited for about ten minutes outside the Julia office before being split into two groups of about 15 each group. Ana our guide then walked us over the park to the rear entrance to the Sagrada, we waited another five minutes to get each audio device fitted and working, and then began the tour with an interesting and informative background on Gaudi as well as detailed info on the intricate symbolism of this amazing building. We then entered the cathedral, which is truly spectacular. Our guide walked us through the different areas inside, detailing the structure, the materials used and why, and gave us a real insight into this cathedral, which isn't due to be finished until 2025-2030!
The tour includes the museum area under the main building, and features a collection of models, and photographs that chart the history of the Sagrada.
We found Ana to be informed and passionate about Spanish history, and in particular Gaudi and his vision. Happy to recommend.

Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTcustomerService, Guest Relations Manager at Julia Travel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you so much for your constructive feedback following your experience with us.

I am happy to read that we succeeded in meeting or exceeding your expectations and to know that you have given us an opportunity to demonstrate our commitment

Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I was very surprised to read some poor reviews for Julia Travel's Sagrada Familia tour as I thought it was fabulous. I booked online via the Barcelona tourist guide website and went for the queue buster and guided tour of the Sagrada Familia. Our guide, Carlos, was really good and I have to say I wouldn't have noticed half of the things he pointed out whilst on the tour. I also thought it was well worth it to beat the queue, which was approximately two hours long on the day I visited. Some people in the group did moan about having to wait for the tour to start, but we waited 10 minutes at the most and that was due to late arrival of other guests rather than the tour guides themselves. Highly recommended.

Thank Expat_Girl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTcustomerService, Guest Relations Manager at Julia Travel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for taking time to send a review to Tripadvisor regarding your experience with Julia Travel.

I am happy to read that we succeeded in meeting or exceeding your expectations and to know that you have given us an opportunity to demonstrate our commitment.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Julia Travel also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Julia Travel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing