We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You really get what you pay for”
Review of Pension Arosa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension Arosa
Ranked #102 of 307 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Juan de Alicante, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“You really get what you pay for”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We booked this Pension late, 3 of us decided to share a room and did not want to pay very much as all we needed was a place to sleep and to shower. I did not realise when I booked it that we would have a shower in our room but we had to share a toilet!. The place was basic but clean and the beds were comfortable, the flooring in our room needed replacing, we had a balcony overlooking a very busy street one away from the Rambla. There was no air con so we needed the balcony window open at night, this was a problem as the street was very noisy, initially with people but then with rubbish collections and street cleaning. However the Pension was cheap and very secure. The owner Lucho is lovely and nothing is too much trouble for him, he lives at the Pension , he speaks & understands English. Would I go back, probably not as I do like my own loo!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sueandsteve9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    38
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
19
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Great location just 2 min from Pl Catalunya, 3 min to La Rambla and 15 min to the beach! Shared bathrooms are kept very clean and the property felt very safe! Room with balcony is a nice option. Owner was really friendly and accommodating. Do take note however that there is no lift in the building.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JackN88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed in Barcelona for a lads' weekend at the beginning of March 2013. Found the property on Hostel World. Location was our prime criterion. And this place didn't disappoint; it's right next to Placa de Catalunya and about a ten minute stroll to Las Ramblas.

It's basically a chap's apartment next to a shop and he has turned the various rooms into guest rooms (all with secure locks). The chap in question was called Lucho and seemed very pleasant and amenable to simple requests such as an adaptor to charge our phones and was very helpful in giving us directions etc.

We didn't see anyone else staying in the apartment over the weekend, although admittedly we kept very unsociable hours.

Our room with twin beds was quite dated but did have a nice balcony (sitting room) overlooking the street at the front. Room contained the bare essentials, sink with mirror, wardrobe and the beds were comfy enough. The toilets and shower facility were communal and located in the centre of the flat. Although it was all relatively basic, I must emphasise that everything, from the facilities to the bed sheets and towels were extremely clean.

We had a key to the room and the front door of the apartment and could come and go as we pleased. On the day of departure Lucho was happy to keep an eye on our travel bags in his living room whilst we made the most of our last day in Barceona before the flight in the evening.

At approximately 25 euros each per night this was perfect for our primary requirement of needing somewhere central to crash after two heavy nights out and somewhere to leave our stuff during the day. Do not expect much more than that, however it is far better than some hostel accommodation.

Overall I'd recommend to young revellers looking to enjoy Barcelona from a prime central location.

Room Tip: Excellent view from the balcony for rooms on the front of the street (Portal de l'Angel)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

I chose this place because of the location and the price. My flight has a delay, so I arrived at 1am, the owner was fine, no problem with checkin during the night.
Amenities was clean, and its right in the centre, few metres from Catalunya, few metres from Barri Gotic.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank burtie144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I chose Pension Arosa because the location right in the city center, about 300 meters from airport bus stop at Placa Catalunya and low price.
Pension Arosa is small and quiet but It really needs renovation. My room was tiny, equipped only with an old bed with clean bedding, wardrobe, small fridge and washbasin. Unfortunately floor there was very dirty, it looked like it hadn't been cleaned for a few weeks. Shared bathrooms were old but clean.
Staff was friendly and helpful, speaking english. I could left my suitcase there for whole day after check out.
I can recommend that place for a short stay if you need central location and have very limited budget.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paxmaruda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Brun Barcelona B&B
Brun Barcelona B&B
#82 of 307 in Barcelona
44 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Colkida
Hostal Colkida
#34 of 307 in Barcelona
350 reviews
Eixample
bcn Fashion House
bcn Fashion House
#49 of 307 in Barcelona
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hostal Excellence
Hostal Excellence
#169 of 307 in Barcelona
53 reviews
El Raval
Hostal La Palmera
Hostal La Palmera
#99 of 307 in Barcelona
145 reviews
El Raval
Pension Bertolin
Pension Bertolin
#108 of 307 in Barcelona
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Arosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Arosa

Property: Pension Arosa
Address: Av. Portal de L'Angel, 14 | 1º Piso, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 307 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Pension Arosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Arosa Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing