We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tapas bar with class”
Review of El Bitxo

El Bitxo
Ranked #1,253 of 9,585 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: El Born / La Ribera
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Tapas bar with class”
Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

We walked past this little bar and were drawn in by the beautiful arrangements of oriental lillies. The bar is in what seems to be a medieval building and has bags of character. Food and wine are taken seriously here. We opted for G&Ts (it was that hour) and sampled some of the excellent cheeses and sausages. We also shared a sandwich of brie, rocket tomato and spicy sauce served on delicious crusty bread. Left very happy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    98
    21
    10
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
“hospitality at its best”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

After narrowly escaping a purse-snatching, I ducked into this tiny tapas bar for a late lunch with a friend. When I told the owner about my experience, she immediately went into hospitality mode by bringing me a refreshing glass of cool white wine and a plate of olives. She then sat close by and chatted amiably while I waited for my friend and explained how each tapas was prepared. I felt as though I had stepped into someone's kitchen for a treat.

The tapas were unusual (e.g., the salmon in coffee reduction- delicious) and quite tasty. We started with a basic house white wine, which was fine, but the owner brought us a better quality for our second round and announced she thought we would like it more. We did.

El Bitxo is down a narrow alley but worth finding if you want to spend an hour or so in a bar with lots of ambiance, hospitality and good food and drink.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maggie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peize
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic place for tapas & wine”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

While wandering around the old town we accidentally found this little gem and immediately loved it. It's very small, very authentic and the food is just delicious. Friendly and helpful staff makes you feel right at home and although the menu is somewhat limited there's an excellent choice of local specialties. Try the tuna/fig salad or the ham specialties, accompanied by a nice "La Miranda" wine and you'll always want to come back here

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JosvanDongen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Improve your customer service, please”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

The place is fine. I just ate the xistorra which was dry, small and cost 1.5 €!! The horrible thing was the waitress service: unkind, bossy... She didn't know who the customer was.
It's a pity because I had been there before and there was another waitress who was really nice

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarmenRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Small tapas restaurant opposite the Palau de musica.

Food: tapas not bad, but very difficult to order anything cooked here. The premises are so small that there is no real frying facility, so all the tapas are mostly cold or microwaved. That being said, the tapas they did serve were quite creative (cod marinated in green tea, not bad), and the prices moderate enough that you could try several things.

Service: the service was exceptional I think, with just a man and a woman working the man did the serving and the woman did the food prep. He was very nice, spoke great English and patiently took me through the menu and explained everything.

Overall a nice place for a bite prior to seeing a concert. Though not fancy, the place quite simply exudes "hole in the wall"-type charm. That also means it might not be suited for those who won't enjoy slightly-unfinished decor, wooden tables and stools, menus pinned up
on the wall. Plus, it is so close to the palau that you can practically leave when the show starts and still be on time.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tyler L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Bitxo also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to El Bitxo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing