We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Grums: Stay only if you're on a tight budget and need a place to sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Grums Barcelona
Ranked #193 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We booked this hotel through Hotels.com because it was highly rated and reasonably priced ($119 per night)

When the hotel was revealed, it looked fairly new with modern decor, all sounded good. Also listed was the hotel was located 5 minutes walk from Las Ramblas (actually farther, though it might have been 5 minutes if we hadn't gotten lost and no one knew the hotel even with a marked map).

The Good:
~Modern decor: small, but nice reception area, black and silver fixtures
~No street noise
~Great self-serve coffee machiine, but watch the time. If during breakfast hours, you'll be charged for breakfast. If after breakfast hours, all the coffee you want.
~Nice back patio area to enjoy your free coffee, if it's not raining
~Taxi arrived within 5 minutes of being called for
~Electric adapters available at reception free of charge

The OK:
~Beds: firm with nice sheets and pillows
~Elevators: quick, but small
~Staff: friendly, but definitely language barrier and our room was never cleaned during three day stay. Seemed like if you didn't catch the morning housekeeping rounds, you wouldn't get your bed made or fresh towels

The Not so good:
~On arrival, we were told our room was ready for early check in, but when entering the room, it had obviously not been cleaned from last occupant as towels and bedding had been used and there was still trash in the room.
~Reception held our bags for the hour and a half while we went out to get coffee (had not discovered the self serve coffee machine yet). We then again went to the now "cleaned" room only to find our room keys didn't work, so another trip down to reception with luggage in tow.
~Hotel is one side of a quad of residential buildings, so while there was no street noise, there were dogs barking and the view from the window was similar to the set of "Rear Window" with laundry hung out to dry
~Hotel is only marked when facing the hotel, set in the midst of other similar buildings, unable to see the hotel front when looking up the block, so easy to miss. Maps we were given, two different versions, did not have the hotel street listed and no cards or brochures available with the hotel's address listed. Spent hours walking around, looking to return to the hotel, asked for directions, roads weren't clearly marked and intertwined at inconsistent intersections. Turned out we were only two blocks from the hotel and had been literally walking around the hotel for over an hour.
~Staff recommendations: don't go to The Brassiere, which the reception staff recommended as a close by restaurant to get tapas. Shellfish was bad and menu was limited for inexpensive tapas. Also another language barrier when trying to explain mussels were fishy bad, but they did take it off the bill
~Though modern in appearance, seemed like more money was spent on decor, not functionality.
-There was no hot water, had to call front desk who explained there was a problem, but was fixed fairly quickly.
-Room refrigerators did not keep drinks cold, only kept contents to temperature inside. Reception provided a large beer mug of ice to put in the fridge to help cool the inside temperature.
-Some lights in the room didn't work.
-Vanity sink was outside the bathroom.
-The shower door was only a half length of the bathtub, so the bathroom floor got wet.
-The bathtub was also raised, so you could easily trip and fall getting out of the shower.
~Room was small, almost equivalent to our cruise ship's cabin.

Things to bring if you stay at the Hotel Grums:
~Detailed map of the area in English or native language
~Spanish/English dictionary or native language (pocket sized)
~List of directions to what you want to see/highlighter for map
~Earplugs
~Shampoo/conditioner/soap, hotel only provides one type of universal body wash
~Hotel address

Hotel Grums would be down near the bottom of my list of places to stay in Barcelona. And if you do stay there and leave the hotel, look for landmarks rather than street names. If you plan on walking around, these landmarks will hopefully keep you from getting lost trying to follow street signs.

Happy travels!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,185)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Grums Barcelona
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

425 - 431 of 1,185 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2013

Great place with very good amenities. Tried and did everything and very happy all round. We get about a bit and whilst we are not fussy, we know what good looks like, and we thought this place was great. Price wise? Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Nice and tidy hotel but the area you have to walk through from Las Ramblas to the Hotel stinks and does not feel the safest at night... No problems during the day though although we did see a drive by scooter drive off with someones suitcase when they left it un-attended but that is not really the hotels fault

No coffee or tea making facilities in the room was a disappointment as well, you do get free coffee in restaurant in the afternoon... There is a fantastic cafe a few doors along though which was a life saver in the mornings

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyTwoToes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Our stay in Hotel Grums was very nice and much better than expected. Location was great, short and easy walk to the center of Barcelona. Breakfast was also fine and service overall from the hotel could not be better.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Louwrens H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stay in hotel Grums for a weekend, hotel is fine and pretty centrally located and good value for money. Some of the staff far from helpful, the girl on the desk just didn't want to help with any request, told us couldn't get large taxi for 5-7 pax however we never had a problem getting one back to the hotel. No English breakfast tea available either morning, and other answer was we are out!!!!! No effort. Lidl was only around the corner could have bought it there. Rooms very clean and good size.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KursaalCalafell, Director General at Hotel Grums Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear guest,

A taxi for 5-7 pax is not always available. The fact that on that day the staff said to you there was no taxi, it does not mean that she did not wanted to help you. Some days Barcelona it gets very busy and getting a taxi can be difficult, specially a taxi for 5-7 people.

For anyone reading this reply I would like to point that the hotel has a very good rating on Tripadvisor reviews concerning the helpful staff we do have on our hotel.
I'm glad to hear that you had a taxi back on your way back to the hotel.

Our breakfast is a full buffet breakfast and tea facilities is available at breakfast and and during our free coffee and tea corner open from 12.00 am up to 19.00 pm every day.

Yours sincerely,

Mark Mackay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel was a gem. Perfect for a weekend stay , a short 10 min walk to la rambla. Grums was very modern, clean and has a feeling of luxury at an affordable price. Breakfast was not included and we never ate in the hotel. We found the bakery next door , Miro, was superb value and really lovely. Hotel is situated in a slightly run down area, we walked during the day and never had a problem , but got taxis at night, which took us anywhere in town for around ten euros. Grums also has a relaxing spa area with small pool and steam room/sauna, it was well worth a visit after a hard days sightseeing.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had booked 3 nights Bed and Breakfast in advance. The first morning we arrived for breakfast at 9.50 - breakfast ends at 10.30, there was no bacon, eggs or tea. When we asked why the waitress told us "it was Monday and the produce was finished". We explained that we had paid in advance, she went into the kitchen and came back and said the bacon would be 10 mins but there were no eggs. I asked her could she get some eggs in a local shop and she went back to the kitchen and came back again and said the eggs would be ready in 15 mins. I left the hotel and went to a local café and brought back tea in a plastic cup. Very disappointing. However the bedroom was very clean but I could never get used to the bathroom sink in the bedroom.

Room Tip: We were at the back of the hotel and it was fine.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaffyDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KursaalCalafell, Director General at Hotel Grums Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear guest,

Just to let you know that I'm sorry to hear about your review and that I will double check some procedures in order to avoid this matter in the future.

Thank you for your opinions because it helps us to be aware in which points we do need to improve.

Yours sincerely,

Mark Mackay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Montjuic
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel
#279 of 513 in Barcelona
3,491 reviews
Eixample
Acevi Villarroel
Acevi Villarroel
#142 of 513 in Barcelona
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Room Mate Pau
Room Mate Pau
#48 of 513 in Barcelona
1,180 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#100 of 513 in Barcelona
3,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grums Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grums Barcelona

Address: Carrer Palaudaries 26, 08004 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Montjuic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#27 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#125 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#132 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#134 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $123 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grums Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 stars Hotel in Barcelona, located in one of the most emblematic and central zones of the city, Hotel Grums is a great option for discovering the charms of Barcelona.Charming, modern and cosmopolitan, involved in culture, arts and the most cultural and representing movements of Barcelona. All this reflected in every single room, where our client will be able to discover a part of Barcelona.Barcelona is art, design, avant-garde, trend, fashion... And Hotel Grums is Very Barcelona.Its perfect location, in one of the most active zones in the city, makes Hotel Grums a perfect choice to spend some days with all your family, in couple or in a business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grums Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grums Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing