We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Grums Barcelona
Ranked #201 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Tiel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect location, nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Our stay in Hotel Grums was very nice and much better than expected. Location was great, short and easy walk to the center of Barcelona. Breakfast was also fine and service overall from the hotel could not be better.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Louwrens H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    526
    168
    49
    27
See reviews for
302
538
17
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stay in hotel Grums for a weekend, hotel is fine and pretty centrally located and good value for money. Some of the staff far from helpful, the girl on the desk just didn't want to help with any request, told us couldn't get large taxi for 5-7 pax however we never had a problem getting one back to the hotel. No English breakfast tea available either morning, and other answer was we are out!!!!! No effort. Lidl was only around the corner could have bought it there. Rooms very clean and good size.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KursaalCalafell, Director General at Hotel Grums Barcelona, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear guest,

A taxi for 5-7 pax is not always available. The fact that on that day the staff said to you there was no taxi, it does not mean that she did not wanted to help you. Some days Barcelona it gets very busy and getting a taxi can be difficult, specially a taxi for 5-7 people.

For anyone reading this reply I would like to point that the hotel has a very good rating on Tripadvisor reviews concerning the helpful staff we do have on our hotel.
I'm glad to hear that you had a taxi back on your way back to the hotel.

Our breakfast is a full buffet breakfast and tea facilities is available at breakfast and and during our free coffee and tea corner open from 12.00 am up to 19.00 pm every day.

Yours sincerely,

Mark Mackay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel was a gem. Perfect for a weekend stay , a short 10 min walk to la rambla. Grums was very modern, clean and has a feeling of luxury at an affordable price. Breakfast was not included and we never ate in the hotel. We found the bakery next door , Miro, was superb value and really lovely. Hotel is situated in a slightly run down area, we walked during the day and never had a problem , but got taxis at night, which took us anywhere in town for around ten euros. Grums also has a relaxing spa area with small pool and steam room/sauna, it was well worth a visit after a hard days sightseeing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had booked 3 nights Bed and Breakfast in advance. The first morning we arrived for breakfast at 9.50 - breakfast ends at 10.30, there was no bacon, eggs or tea. When we asked why the waitress told us "it was Monday and the produce was finished". We explained that we had paid in advance, she went into the kitchen and came back and said the bacon would be 10 mins but there were no eggs. I asked her could she get some eggs in a local shop and she went back to the kitchen and came back again and said the eggs would be ready in 15 mins. I left the hotel and went to a local café and brought back tea in a plastic cup. Very disappointing. However the bedroom was very clean but I could never get used to the bathroom sink in the bedroom.

Room Tip: We were at the back of the hotel and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaffyDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KursaalCalafell, Director General at Hotel Grums Barcelona, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Just to let you know that I'm sorry to hear about your review and that I will double check some procedures in order to avoid this matter in the future.

Thank you for your opinions because it helps us to be aware in which points we do need to improve.

Yours sincerely,

Mark Mackay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiria, Portugal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We booked 7 rooms (7 couples) for a 1 night pre cruise stay. Very nice place and friendly staff. The spa pool is excellent and the location was perfect for our group. A short walk to "las Ramblas" and the HOHO bus stops. Also, a short taxi ride to the port. Had breakfast at the cafe next door and loved the service there! We had the regular rooms which were perfect for travelers who just need a relaxing sleep, a clean room and a shower. Simple, modern, clean!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaraPrinceDuarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We arrived by taxi (£30 for a ten minute journey but we chose this way to save time)

Reception staff were very friendly and helpful and the smell of the spa on entering was tantalising!

Our room was a terrace room on the 5th floor. Large spacious room with a huge comfortable bed and lovely large shower. Plenty of room for clothes and all other items.

TV showed one English channel - World News. Wifi was good.

Breakfast was included in our deal. At a cost of around 12 Euros I would not have paid extra for this. The breakfast was enjoyable with plenty of cereals, cold meats and cheeses, pastries, fresh fruits, etc. The hot choices did not look appetising so I didn't try them. My partner did and he said on one occasion the baked beans, and egg were luke warm. The only gripe at breakfast was that on one morning they had run out of tea bags and only had flavoured tea which several guests, including myself did not like. For a 4 star this surprised me, but I had a coffee which was fine, from a coffee machine.

The waiters and waitresses were lovely, very helpful and friendly, as were most of the staff.

We did try a snack at around 9pm one evening which was ok, pizza and chips, pizza was not very hot so sent it back and they took it off bill, otherwise would have been expensive.

The hotel is very modern and clean and apart from the above gripes, I found it quiet (most important to me as I find it difficult to sleep), near Las Ramblas and the lovely Gothic area and also the marina. It was unfortunate that there were some loud guests staying near our room and on two nights they were banging doors and shouting and talking late at night in the corridor, and one morning one of them decided to hammer on another guests door shouting 'its a burglary' but this was not the hotel's fault and apparently the man was drunk so they asked him to leave. It was a talking point at breakfast!

We actually didn't get to use the spa even though it was included in our stay because we were out of the hotel sightseeing and by the time we got back it was fully booked in the early evening. We went downstairs to look and seemed quite small but modern, with a small pool and rooms off which I presumed were steam/saunas. They also do treatment at an extra cost. Shame we just didn't have time to get in there.

You can walk to the beach but it takes you about half an hour.

We did not use any public transport whilst there, which is unusual for us, but chose to take the open top bus tour (there are 3 in total, taking you to different areas) where we got a feel for the place as you would never see enough in 2/3 days. We plan to go back soon to take in the beach more and to visit more of the sites in detail. I would consider staying here again but next time plan to stay nearer the Gothic area and beach which we preferred.

La Ramblas is ok but we preferred the gothic area with all the tapas bars and restaurants and shops, it was a little more traditional. Whilst walking around the streets don't forget to look up! Lots of photo opportunities of balconies with flowers and washing hanging out and graffiti on door ways, which anywhere else would be a shame, but strangely added to the character of the place. Museums tucked away on tiny allies and so many different places to walk round, squares with little bars etc. Really was enchanting.

All in all I would still recommend this hotel and give it 4 stars!

Room Tip: There are no bars and restaurants too close to make any noise at night so I would imagine most rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a short break and had absolutely no problems. We arrived by taxi and were welcomed by a lady called pinaar. She told us about the hotel facilities, gave us some booklets + maps + explained in full the tourist bus routes + advised the hotel could book same for us with a small discount. We did take advantage of this and i have to say it was the perfect way to see the city in all its glory in a short couple of days - i would highly recommend it! Our room was lovely, v clean, bathroom + shower were v good and towels were replaced every day that we were there. If i had anything to complain about with the room it was the noise of the plumbing when the room above used their bathroom + also a lack of natural light but these issues werent enough to cause us concern. Because we were only on a short break, we were more interested in gettin out into the city so i cant comment on the bar, restaurant, room service or spa but it all looked good. There is a great little bakery beside the hotel - v busy but worth the wait. The hotel organised a taxi to take us to the aerobus after check out, with it actually arriving 5-10 mins early. This hotel is bright, modern, clean and service we experienced was v good. You would not expect to find a hotel like this in the area it is in and all of our taxi drivers were not familiar with the hotel. The bottom of las ramblas is certainly within walking distance but its a very local area to walk through and although we did walk at night without any problem i would prefer to get a taxi. Barcelona is an amazing city with so much to see that we will definitely return and given the price we paid for hotel grums, a return to this hotel could also be a strong possibilty.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaile B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#97 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,606 reviews
Hotel Gran Derby Suites
#152 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
SERHS Del Port Hotel
SERHS Del Port Hotel
#166 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Montjuic
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel
#258 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,284 reviews
Les Corts
NH Barcelona Les Corts
NH Barcelona Les Corts
#268 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grums Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grums Barcelona

Property: Hotel Grums Barcelona
Address: Carrer Palaudaries 26, 08004 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Montjuic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#25 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#125 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#133 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#134 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grums Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 stars Hotel in Barcelona, located in one of the most emblematic and central zones of the city, Hotel Grums is a great option for discovering the charms of Barcelona.Charming, modern and cosmopolitan, involved in culture, arts and the most cultural and representing movements of Barcelona. All this reflected in every single room, where our client will be able to discover a part of Barcelona.Barcelona is art, design, avant-garde, trend, fashion... And Hotel Grums is Very Barcelona.Its perfect location, in one of the most active zones in the city, makes Hotel Grums a perfect choice to spend some days with all your family, in couple or in a business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grums Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grums Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing