We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Grums Barcelona
Ranked #196 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We chose this hotel as it was close to the port, as we were arriving on the ferry from Palma, Mallorca, it was dark when we arrived and found the hotel easy to find, the hotel has a car park underneath, which has very limited space and is very tight! You will need to book if you need a space. The rooms were a good size and very clean, the only issue we had was the location, not a nice area to be walking out at night, we felt on our guard at night walking out, lots of tramps and people sleeping rough! When we come back to Barcelona I think we will be choosing a better area nearer the centre of the city, the only problem is finding a hotel with parking.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank w33pea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

451 - 457 of 1,200 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend in December as we had tickets for Barcelona v Athletico Madrid. The hotel is absolutely gorgeous, very spacious rooms in a very modern hotel! The decor is in keeping with Barcelona's 'cool' image! The spa facilities were very clean and perfect for chilling out at after wandering the city all day. The hotel is in a quiet location about a 5 minute walk away from the metro which is the BEST way to get around the city. The hotel was everything we were looking for and as we bought a deal through living social we even had free drinks on arrival. The staff are very helpful and security is fantastic! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hugheslittlej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at the hotel Grums for 4 nights. We found the hotel to be generally good. Our main issue was the location... Set around 10 mins from the top of la Rambla and near a park area that had all sorts of strange people around it. Tramps laying on benches and groups of teenagers. You can imagine how this felt walking passed them at night.

The hotel has a gym (3 exercise bikes), steam room and a jaquizzi bath. You have to book this for €11 in advance. We had booked 2 days in advance for 10am. When we got down to the spa level there was no one there. After going up to reception we were given our towels and apologised to for the person not being at the spa on time to switch things on. We carried on and used the gym...45 mins later still no sign of anyone at the spa. Back up to reception who could only apologise and take the charge off our room.

Our room was small but had enough space for us to use as a base. It was strange having a basin next to your bed! What were the hotel thinking! Also there was a odd smell that came out of the basin after we ran water.

We must say that Fran on the front desk is really friendly and helpful and tried to help during our spa issues. He also helped us with directions to the Camp Nou. (Les Corts metro stop)

The hotel has coffee corner from 12-7pm where you can have free tea/coffee from the machine which we really enjoyed. Although the bar was not open during this time.

The hotel has the metro Paral lel stop nearby. We got a T10 card each at €9. You can use this for 10 trips around the main city area. (Great for travelling to/from the football!)

La Rambla is great for everything touristy. The market is amazing with so much fresh fruit, meat and food to eat.

In the evening everywhere is trying to entice you in to eat. We loved a restaurant called La Poma. The food was really well presented and tasted so nice. It was packed out all evening. This is located on La Rambla.

We had a really bad experience getting from the airport to the hotel. We got a taxi to save on hassle of finding things when we were tired. Big mistake... We got to the taxi rank and got a taxi driver who did not know where hotels were. He didn't seem interested in getting us to the hotel but instead insisted on la Rambla. He ended up stopping his cab at la Rambla and saying he didn't know where to go (even though I showed him the hotel address!). Cost of €33. If we were to go again we would have got the aerobus as this would have dropped us near the same place for a fraction of the price. The other option is to pre book transfers before you go. Do not just get a taxi from the airport!


Overall we really loved Barcelona, apart from a couple of things that went wrong, we would go back again but stay closer to the main strip.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank baros1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Fairly central and only a very short pleasent stroll to a variety of activities associated with Barcelona this is a very modern and contemporary place. The rooms are well presented and screamed luxury. The breakfast was extensive and very good and there was plenty of room inside and out to dine. The staff were accommodating, helpful and courteous at all times and the room was cleaned regularly throughout our weeks stay. We booked the travel and accommodation separately through popular online holiday sites and shopped around extensively for a good deal and this worked out considerably cheaper than if we had booked directly. Other than a couple of small issues with the room, the only downside was that we were departing on a very early flight back to England and checking out seemed to be a problem for the only member of staff on duty, the security guard. Albeit helpful he was almost insistent that we needed to pay for the room even after we had showed him documentation to confirm that we had paid in full in advance of our trip. We were kept waiting a good 30 minutes before it was all sorted but I think our driver was more anxious than we were at the wait hence why I have still given this a four rating. Overall Barcelona is a great place to visit and a place not to be squeezed into a couple of days, the zoo itself will take a full day!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul8124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for Valentines weekend in Feburary. It was okay, the hotel itself was lovely. Really nice interiors etc. Our room had a nice big window and bed etc, but the sink was in the actual room, which I found strange? We didn't eat there so I can't comment on the restaurant, but we did use the spa facilities on two of the days. This was lovely apart from the horrrible spa staff (the main reception staff were lovely just to add) they were two women which were extremely stuck up and unhelpful. I approached the desk on both nights to ask to use to spa and they talked amongst themselves for a few minutes until even acknowledging me! I then asked if they did coupled massages and the girl bluntly said no. The next night when I went back down to the spa there was an advertised offer on couples massages! Ridiculous! Anyway, apart from that it was a lovely relaxing stay. I would stay again if not for the rude spa staff!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1992g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

You can tell a lot about a hotel by standing in the shower. If you have a bit of space around you (without a clingy curtain), a decent shower head giving a strong flow of water and an easily accessible place to put that shampoo or soap, you are more likely to be in an establishment that knows what it’s doing. The shower at Hotel Grums more than met the standard.

This is a stylish, very well designed, modern hotel that can be a real bargain if you check rates on travel sites online. There have been some negative reviews about the location and, while it’s not at the centre of things, it is only a 10 minute walk from the foot of the Ramblas. It is on a quiet street in a mainly residential area which means there is little or any noise at night.

We had a Privilege (executive) room which was spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean. One nice touch is that every room in the hotel is named after a place, person or artistic movement significant to Barcelona’s history which is a bit of an educational journey in itself. Free coffee and cakes were provided everyday from 2-7 pm and there is a small spa in the basement (sauna, steam room and plunge pool along with a small gym). Staff were very pleasant and helpful.

It is not perfect, however. There were two unsightly small holes in the bathroom wall where a coat hook had fallen from at one time and had never been replaced. Given the quality of the rest of the hotel, this is something that should have been attended to.

Breakfast was not an unqualified success either. Hot food on two of the four days we stayed there had been lying out so long that it had all but dried up. In addition there was little fresh fruit. These were days when the restaurant was very quiet and few staff were around. The situation improved as the week went on but the inconsistency from one day to the next was annoying. Overall though – a very nice hotel - especially if the price is right.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donsfan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed in one of the queen sized rooms during our stay. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was fabulous. We ate dinner at the restaurant both nights of our stay simply because we were too lazy and too tired from walking around ALL day to venture out again. We also had breakfast at the hotel because it was included in our package.

The breakfast was ok. The beans and eggs were cold so I didn't have that on the second morning. There is a plethora to choose from. From toast, donuts, croissants, fruit, yoghurt, meats and cheeses and much more. There was also a variety of drinks also. It filled us up so we couldn't complain.

The staff were very friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they were very helpful when giving us directions to all the tourist spots.

Now on to the spa. We went twice because it was too good of an opportunity to miss. The pool is small but adequate with the addition of gadgets to make it very relaxing. They also have a steam room and a sauna. Both a good size. These facilities were included in our package but I've read on other reviews that there is a surcharge. They provide towels and flip flops if you don't have any but if you require the use of the locker you need a euro, which you get back afterwards.

All in all this was a great stay. The hotel is very trendy and modern and I would gladly return again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#92 of 515 in Barcelona
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#106 of 515 in Barcelona
3,393 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Salles Hotel Pere IV
Salles Hotel Pere IV
#290 of 515 in Barcelona
232 reviews
La Rambla
Oriente Atiram
Oriente Atiram
#227 of 515 in Barcelona
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grums Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grums Barcelona

Address: Carrer Palaudaries 26, 08004 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Montjuic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#28 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#125 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#134 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#134 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $71 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grums Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 stars Hotel in Barcelona, located in one of the most emblematic and central zones of the city, Hotel Grums is a great option for discovering the charms of Barcelona.Charming, modern and cosmopolitan, involved in culture, arts and the most cultural and representing movements of Barcelona. All this reflected in every single room, where our client will be able to discover a part of Barcelona.Barcelona is art, design, avant-garde, trend, fashion... And Hotel Grums is Very Barcelona.Its perfect location, in one of the most active zones in the city, makes Hotel Grums a perfect choice to spend some days with all your family, in couple or in a business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Grums Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grums Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing