We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good could be great!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Grums Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Grums Barcelona
Ranked #201 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“good could be great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

on arrival front desk staff were brilliant booked day before arrival so expected a few hiccup's none brilliant, looked a little off the beaten track but when you get your bearings i think its a great place to stay just close enough but far enough away to get a good night sleep!5 min walk and theirs a tube/metro and your in the thick of it . rooms are clean and bright,bathroom was very good walk in shower everything you need,the Spa was great just what you need after a long day robe and towels all laid out for you everydaybut as for food i cannot say what the evening meal is like but breakfast is appalling! cold buffet can just scrape through with adequate, but the cooked is cr-p! dont bank on it setting you up for the day!i have to say i have never seen such a bad display, bacon, bowl of dried beans and i think some sort of egg,15 euros if not included? how hard is it!! the catering team certainly lets the other staff down! one last tip book your own taxi to the airport was told 20ish euros by hotel reception driver tried to charge us 36 for 10 minute journey!

Room Tip: try and get a privelage room includes Spa entry and breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank REGCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    521
    167
    49
    27
See reviews for
301
532
17
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We were very pleased. The rooms were clean and modern. The staff were helpful and polite. The hotel was near to the Paralell, and the Metro. About a 5 minutes walk. We will come back. We had breakfast next door, in a bakery and the Supermarked was only 2 minutes away. Very quite place. No trafic noise.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ctr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

8 of us booked into Hotel Grums for the last leg of our Spain trip, we grab a cab from the train station and head to the hotel , well what a gem of a hotel we booked rooms with a terrace which are great to be able to sit out on after a day of walking around Barcelona and have a drink or two, the view was of some parts of the bay but mostly apartments and roof tops.The hotel breakfast is the standard affair that we got all over spain which is good, out the front door and you are 3 blocks from the port and the start of La Rumbla which is entertaining day and night, the mount where the cable car is, is right behind the hotel which is an easy walk and you get great views of barcelona.
there is a small indoor pool, the hotel also have someone to come in and do massage which was a godsend after a long day of sight seeing, there is a supermarket around the corner and it is an easy walk to see the sights , the staff are happy to help with any enquirys that we had and where very pleasant to dael with, as with everywhere else in spain there are more cafe's , bars and eaterys than you can poke a stick at, will stay there when visiting Barcelona again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Grums Hotel. The hotel is beautiful with very modern decor and the rooms are spacious, comfy, quiet and clean. The staff were very helpful and provided guidance and information. There is a great cafe right outside the hotel that serves excellent coffee and delicious pastries (a real local gem) and a supermarket around the corner.
The only drawback for us was the location. The metro station is located 5 minutes away or you can chose to walk 15-20 minutes to the center. However, if you would like to stay in the thick of things, you might consider an alternate location.
We booked the hotel through Priceline so we didn't have control over the exact location of the hotel just the star ratings. Overall, a very good stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gulig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

We came for a city break and had an excellent stay with polite and friendly staff. Walking to the Ramblas is not to taxing (5 mins). Walk at night can be daunting but don't let that put you off as the police seem plentiful. One of the streets from and to the hotel from the main centre go past the police station, plus the streets are well lit. A good and plentiful breakfast can be had and the spa is good, but go in the morning as it can get busy in the evenings.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for my daughters 21st birthday and cannot fault a thing. The hotel is in a very good location for exploring and the staff were very helpful with maps etc. The hotel is beautiful with very modern decor and the rooms are spacious and very comfy. The rooms were cleaned very thoroughly every day and smelt gorgeous. The spa facilities are fantastic and so relaxing after a hard days sight seeing as open until about 10 pm. I cannot thank the staff enough for all their help on making my daughters birthday very memorable. We will definitely be visiting again and would recommend to any one. Many many thanks :)

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylvia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, just a short walk of approximately 5 mins to La Rambla
Other comments from other people have stated beware walking at night, is that not anywhere? walk in well lit places, like near the main road to la Rambla, we did walk down the narrow unlit streets of which you can feel uneasy. However use common sense!
Hotel: clean and modern, fab sized room, free water in fridge, free coffee on first floor between 2pm-7pm compliments of hotel, we ordered snack good to our room which was tasty, we stayed room only as their are many eating places nearby.
Overall thud hotel was great and we will return one day soon I hope.

We visited the Sagrada Familia church which was a must, we paid €18 each which included a lift to the top, worth an extra €4.5, Wow what a view, and wait! You have to walk down all the way. How funny the last bit! Just trust me, you must try this!!

We ate at the Hard Rock Cafe which was really busy, food was nice.

We took a cable car on last day to see sights, it was raining so not the clearest day. However it was good.

You can get a train from airport to LA Rambla. Download Metro map. Easy when you have done it, to get about use the Metro, buy a T10 ticket which was €9.80 which you can use 10 times anywhere and does not expire, you can use it to get back to aeroport (airport) which takes 15 mins approx 7 miles from centre. We caught the bus when we landed and paid €12 to get to the city for two people. So don't do this, save your money and but a T10 ticket which you both can use. Ten train trips anywhere in Barcelona,

Only moan is that you have to pay a hotel tax when you stay in this area?? We were made aware if this when we checked in. We per booked and paid via travel republic. It costs €1.10 per day per person plus 20% tax on tax!

Apart from that it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stu1860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#93 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,581 reviews
Hotel Gran Derby Suites
#144 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Acevi Villarroel
Acevi Villarroel
#143 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
El Raval
SERHS Del Port Hotel
SERHS Del Port Hotel
#182 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grums Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grums Barcelona

Property: Hotel Grums Barcelona
Address: Carrer Palaudaries 26, 08004 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Montjuic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#25 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#125 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#134 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#135 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grums Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 stars Hotel in Barcelona, located in one of the most emblematic and central zones of the city, Hotel Grums is a great option for discovering the charms of Barcelona.Charming, modern and cosmopolitan, involved in culture, arts and the most cultural and representing movements of Barcelona. All this reflected in every single room, where our client will be able to discover a part of Barcelona.Barcelona is art, design, avant-garde, trend, fashion... And Hotel Grums is Very Barcelona.Its perfect location, in one of the most active zones in the city, makes Hotel Grums a perfect choice to spend some days with all your family, in couple or in a business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Grums Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grums Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing