We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit of a Let Down !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Grums Barcelona
Ranked #203 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A bit of a Let Down !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

on the positive side, this hotel is very clean and staff helpful, its close to the Rambles, but I didn't think that the hotel was situated in a particularly nice area.
However we arrived friday 23/11/12 with my husband and son, the bar is only open between 7 pm - 10 pm only, and we decided to walk back early to have a cocktail and beer in the bar, only to find that one of the staff had walked off with the keys to the bar, so we couldn't get a drink.
We stayed on Floor 1, and found it a very noisey hotel, as the rooms are not carpeted, considering this is a 4 star hotel, I don't think it deserves this rating, maybe a 3* we were dissapointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adele b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    526
    168
    49
    27
See reviews for
302
538
17
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel following a 12-day Mediterranean cruise. The location was great! It was walking distance to the funicular that takes you to Montijuc and was just a few blocks from Las Rambles. We pretty much walked everywhere and only relied on the metro a few times. (If you are coming or going from/to the cruise terminal, I definitely recommend a taxi. I would also recommend spending the extra money to get a taxi to the bus station to catch a bus to the airport. We tried to take the subway/metro to the bus station and we ended up having to carry our heavy luggage up and down flights of stairs.) Our room wasn't ready when we first arrived, honestly, because we were early, but they let us store our luggage in a secure room while we went off to explore the city. The room itself was very nice. The beds/linens were very comfortable and the curtains kept all of the light out in the middle of the day when we needed to rest! My only complaint was with the tile floors in the rooms, noise traveled very well and you could hear everything! (Hence, why I usually travel with earplugs!) Each of the rooms is themed after a person of influence in Barcelona, which was neat. The breakfast provided was the BEST breakfast spread I have ever seen at a hotel! I would definitely recommend this hotel to others. It was conveniently located, had all of the amenities and was clean and comfortable!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBuggy0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for four nights in Oct 2012 (Groupon deal). It was very nice, clean room, large bed, nice hotel in general. The reception staff were very nice and helpful and free internet and printing in the lobby was a huge plus for us. There's a restaurant not too far away which was really good so that was great and it isn't too far from the pier and Montjuic is walkable. We didn't use the spa area but it looked very nice. Downsides: unfortunately when we stayed an extra night and paid the full rate it seemed quite expensive, plus breakfast was extra and seemed unreasonably priced when we weren't on groupon deal which had made the hotel good value (and about right in price really). The location didn't feel too great after dark and we strayed off Las Rambles to cut through to the hotel one night and that was a bit dodgy to be honest. Other small notes- the wifi didn't work in the room, don't expect a view, and although breakfast is until 10.30, if you turn up just at 10.20 they turn you away or are less than impressed. They should say last entry to breakfast is 10am, not 10.30am because they don't want you there at 10.30am. There isn't really an evening bar or restaurant and no evening atmosphere, so go out for your dinner. It's a nice hotel but the catering side lets it down as the restaurant and bar area is really nice (outdoor space too) but really quiet and empty and hardly ever any bar staff on.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FernEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

This hotel may seem to be a bit off from the city centre, but it is really well situated. Just a short walk from La Rambla and the harbour. Modern design, nicely furnished. Small details maybe, but important when you stay for a couple of nights; lots of surfaces to put your belongings on, good number of power points, free wifi that worked good enough and the staff give good service.

Room Tip: We got small rooms although we thought that it was rooms like the ones on the website, not too small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaki66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

i spent 2 nights at GRUMS HOTEL in Barcelona. the hotel is located near colombus circle. not far from la rambla - the sea side of this street.
huge room with 2 double beds. very modern looks hi-tech.
good food. great service. the reception efficient staff even mamaged to buy me a cheap ticket for the football game between Barca and Celtic from Scotland.
7 minutes walk from the green subway line.
mostly recommended.
no special wiew from the window.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goori_vered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
187 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed the Saturday before our cruise, so as to get used to the time change. We arrived at 10:30am, so our room wouldn't be ready until 2pm. They held our luggage so we could go explore. The hotel is located just a short 10 minute walk from Las Ramblas area and the Barri Gothic, a very unique area. The bed was so comfortable and the room was spacious. We had room 504. There was a balcony, but the view was nothing to write home about. There were robes and slippers waiting for us in the room, too. There is free wifi which was a welcomed amenity. We didn't use the pool or gym, but it was nice. For the price, this hotel is a great value.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank mommytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

This was our first trip to Barcelona, so only knew that we wanted to be near La Rambla and the coast - which this hotel was perfect for!

Situated in the shadow of the former Olympic Park, the rooms are basic but modern.

I can't say much about the hotel (as we weren't there very much) other than it was clean and the staff could not do enough for us. The free wifi was shocking bad in our room and very infuriating, especially when you are trying to check in on line for your return flight!

There are no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, however you can access a vending machine in the bar when the "coffee corner" is not open.

Oddly there was not a plug for either the bath or sink - I'm sure it was all in the name of conserving water, however it was a bit irritating!

It is on an underground line which is very helpful and is surrounded by stores including a Lidl and an excellent bakery downstairs which is very handy.
La Rambla is only a ten minute walk away and La Rambla de Raval (which we ate at all three nights and is much less touristy) was just as close.

We would definitely stay there again when we have our next (I hope!) visit to Barcelona.

Tips: There is a fridge in your room (look for the cupboard with an icicle on it) which we did not find until the last day! Ha ha!

Do not ask the staff to book a taxi to the airport. They will tell you it will cost between 30-35 euros for a taxi to the airport, however I challenged the taxi driver as he pressed a button to up the cost as we headed up to the airport. He also told me that 7 euros of this was because "the hotel had called them". I contested and wouldn't pay it, but I don't want you to have to do suffer this. We should have got the very reliable Aerobus back to the airport!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank outonthelanai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#96 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,609 reviews
Hotel Gran Derby Suites
#149 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
SERHS Del Port Hotel
SERHS Del Port Hotel
#163 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Montjuic
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel
#260 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,291 reviews
Les Corts
NH Barcelona Les Corts
NH Barcelona Les Corts
#268 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grums Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grums Barcelona

Property: Hotel Grums Barcelona
Address: Carrer Palaudaries 26, 08004 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Montjuic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#25 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#125 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#134 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#134 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grums Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 stars Hotel in Barcelona, located in one of the most emblematic and central zones of the city, Hotel Grums is a great option for discovering the charms of Barcelona.Charming, modern and cosmopolitan, involved in culture, arts and the most cultural and representing movements of Barcelona. All this reflected in every single room, where our client will be able to discover a part of Barcelona.Barcelona is art, design, avant-garde, trend, fashion... And Hotel Grums is Very Barcelona.Its perfect location, in one of the most active zones in the city, makes Hotel Grums a perfect choice to spend some days with all your family, in couple or in a business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grums Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grums Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing