We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good God”
Review of Salterio

Salterio
Ranked #198 of 11,291 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Moroccan
Neighborhood: El Congres i els Indians
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: El Congres i els Indians
Reviewed September 14, 2019 via mobile

I must say.. I had heard that this place was good, and good is an understatement. Good doesn’t touch the surface. Divine might come close, but ethereal would be more accurate. You find this place by turning down multiple streets and alley ways and then all of a sudden you arrive at the tiny hole in the wall that is Salterio. It boasts small town and huge flavor. The menu comes in both Catalonian and English and offers a wide variety of hot teas, beers, sangrias and tapas. The kitchen is right in front of you and the food is unlike anything you’ll ever put inside of your mouth. Try one of everything!

Date of visit: September 2019
3  Thank iamguccci
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (556)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 556 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2019

Writing this after just leaving Salterio, have jus been there for the second time in 2 days. Amazing little place ( be prepared to possibly have to wait for a table, but believe me it’s worth it). Staff are amazing so friendly and helpful, food is all prepared and cooked from scratch on a little grill behind the bar so takes a bit of time. The saldo is just delicious, my husband and I tried 4 different ones on our 2 visits which were all so tasty. The best food we had in Barcelona and the sangria was also very nice. Lovely cosy atmosphere, especially on a rainy day. We also loved the music playlist, very funky. If your having problems finding it just use google maps, it’s worth the extra effort.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank bostonBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 8, 2019 via mobile

Enjoyed excellent sangria and vegetarian tapas. Although a little hard to find, it was a very relaxing hour out of the rain. Would recommend highly

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank Z8472OJandrewb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 12, 2019 via mobile

Up a side alley from Carrer de Ferran you may find Bar Salterio and if you do well done - you have made it.
I loved this bar

Date of visit: July 2019
1  Thank stuartp340
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 2, 2019

We stayed in Barcelona after finishing a cruise and found this hidden gem of a restaurant.
Although we are not vegan or vegetarian we thought we’d try eating here and what a pleasure it was.
The staff were welcoming and attentive and the food was very tasty the Sarda was especially great. The bread and tomatoes were lovely as too was the salad. We had a real feast. Highly recommend this place and good for carnivores who want to take a break from eating meat. You may even be tempted to give meat up completely!

Date of visit: July 2019
2  Thank markywarren2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travelers who viewed Salterio also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Salterio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.