We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most enjoyable eating experience in Barcelona!”
Review of Salterio

Salterio
Ranked #198 of 11,291 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Moroccan
Neighborhood: El Congres i els Indians
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: El Congres i els Indians
Reviewed May 18, 2017

Unpretentious, charming small cafe in Gothic Quarter. Simple limited vegetarian menu. Love the atmosphere. Warm, low lighting. Nice music. Best sangria so far in Barcelona. Got out of there for under €30 for two- large salad, shared a sardo, 1/2 liter of sangria and two light desserts and a bottle of water.

They have an extensive tea selection and bring it out in lovely pots.

We tried to go back the next night (Thursday) and oddly it was closed so call ahead.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pnuke2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (556)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

99 - 103 of 556 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2017 via mobile

Went here with my girlfriend. This place is authentic as can be- they don't speak English but as long as your nice and friendly they will treat you very nice. Wonderful fresh sangria. Good values.

Even made me a fresh smoothie he made his wife who works there for free.

Go

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank TravelJohnH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed April 22, 2017

This place is difficult to find and easy to miss. It's very small and cozy. We had a great meal of tapas and wine.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BettyKey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed April 14, 2017

I stumbled upon this place while strolling around the Gothic Quarter in Barcelona. What a gem. Basic, rustic and authentic. Very relaxing vibe, and lovely wine. Fascinating to watch dishes and drinks being prepared behind the counter. Well worth a visit. There are also a few other nearby bars worth visiting such as Zona D'Ombra and Bodega Biarritz 1881. Enjoy!

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
Thank JillianMorkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed April 4, 2017 via mobile

First time in Barcelona. We were hungry and tired and found this "whole on the wall" and it was amazing!! My husband is a very picky eater and wannabe vegetarian with not much success but this place is really delivered with Excellent food and service! Highly recommended whenever you are in this wonderful city! One more thing, my 11 year old daughter was
With us and she also loved it...Wonderful service, wonderful food ...

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank Angelica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travelers who viewed Salterio also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Salterio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.