We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in barcelona”
Review of Gilda by Belgious

Gilda by Belgious
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
Gilda by Belgious is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #432 of 9,924 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $18 - $45
Cuisines: Belgian, Mediterranean, Spanish, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Description: Welcome to Gilda Tapas y Platos! Dedicated to the fading art of good service and fine, flavorful food at a good price, we seek out the freshest, quality ingredients to ensure your experience is of the highest calibre from beginning (our delectable gourmet tapas) to end (our mouth watering house-made deserts)! Since we are part of Belgious, don't be surprised to discover that some of our dishes come with wasabi, ginger, curry or even cannabis ice-cream ! Our kitchen opens every evening from 18:30 till midnight (even later during weekends), meaning you can even walk in at 23:45 and still enjoy dinner with us. If you would like to try our gastronomy at noon, we do open the restaurant -prior reservation- for private groups from 14 to 38 guests (Ideal for celebrations or company related luncheons).
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We ate here on a recent trip to barcelona. We did not have a reservation but this was not a problem. We got a table and were given the menu. We both chose the flemish beef stew with fries which was excellent accompanied by a lovely bottle of red wine. Staff were very friendly and the guy even recommended a few dishes to us. Definitely be back again on our next trip to barcelona. Highly recommend this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank grooviechique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,140)
There are newer reviews for Gilda by Belgious
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

430 - 434 of 1,141 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We visited Gilda recently without making a reservation, the restaurant was busy but we were seated without any problems. The food we had was absolutley gorgeous (we had 3 different courses each), couldnt have been better, each one was perfect. The service was also excellent, would go back again tomorrow if I could!! Absolutley loved it here!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank S2kes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Being a Belgian couple living in Barcelona, we wanted to try out this restaurant on Valentine's day. We went for dinner at 8pm, which is early to Spanish standards. For the first hour, the restaurant was clearly understaffed, only one girl for about 8 tables. She forgot about a few simple requests we had like extra plates to share the starters, but the actual food was really good! I can definitely recommend the "garnaalkroketten".
One other thing, the tables are awfully close towards each other, the waitress bumped in to my chair each time she served the table next to us.

I would go back, but just for the food, not the service or atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sven_Barca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgobarcelona, Propietario at Gilda by Belgious, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Dear Sven,
Thank you for visiting the restaurant on Valentine's day and sharing your opinion on tripadvisor. Your comment regarding the service is right and let me explain: during the low season and mid-week, we usually have one waiter from 18.30 until 21.00, since it really gets busy after 21.00 in Spain. We had planned for the second waiter to come in at 20.00 since we had early bookings that day. Unfortunately, there has been a misunderstanding and he came in at 21.00. I guess this is Murphy's law.
Regarding the tables: only 40% of the restaurant's are set up next to each other. The other tables are arranged next to the walls and in the bar area. It's a personal choice and taste whether one likes to be seated next to other people or not and we use to leave the choice to our guests if the place is not full yet. There are even guests who prefer to eat at the bar in order to be closer to the "action". The tables arranged next to each other reminds of a bistro type of set up which is very common in barcelona and other big cities in Europe. Next time you come, ask for a different table, if you prefer to have more privacy, it is definitely possible at Gilda ;-)
The most important thing is that you were happy with the food as the grand majority of our visitors, the "garnaalkroketten" (North sea shrimp croquettes) are nice and it's the only place in Barcelona to offer them on the menu list, amongst other typical Belgian dishes.
As you are from Belgium I also remind you that we offer typical Belgian menu's with other plates which are not on our regular menu list.
Thank you again for your visit.
Best Regards
Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I hate giving bad reviews. But I don't understand how this restaurant gained a top rating. My partner and I were very disappointed after visiting Gilda on February 11 2013. We ordered from the tapas menu - Argentinian prawns, meatballs, Flemish stew, spinach and pine nut croquettes, guacamole. Nothing was delicious. We felt that every dish was missing something. The prawns came close, but one of my partner's prawns was not cooked through. Service was perfect. But we wouldn't recommend this place based on what we ate.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Angiolina86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgobarcelona, Propietario at Gilda by Belgious, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience at Gilda even though u express your disappointment about the tapas you ordered. First of all, our earned tripadvisor rating is based on more than 300 comments in less than two years of existence, I don't think that 90% of the positive commenters are ignorants. But then again, food tasting is a very individual and subjective experience which I fully respect. Looking at the tapas you have selected I am even more surprised you didn't like it:
1- The argentinian prawns are stirred in a pan all together, so a difference in cooking is impossible. It is one of the most appreciated tapas on the list.
2- The meatballs are made according to an original Belgian recipe and since we introduced them (3 months ago) I only got very positive feedback (especially from Belgian natives)
3- Tapa of Flemish beefstew on toasts. The original main dish comes in a hot plate with sauce and fries. The tapa is meant to give a taste of this original recipe from the Flanders.
4- Spinach and pine nut croquetes : I never had anyone not saying how good these are ;-)
5- Guacamole. One of the cooks is from Chile and she perfectly masters the art of selecting ripe advocates to make the most tasty guacamole.
Again, I respect your opinion. The pity is that you have limited your dinner to tapas which are the most "basic" preparations we have on the menu list. Our guests like to select some tapas to share before moving to the main dishes which are the "real" specialities of the house and were our chefs have been using their full creativity (like the pea soup with shrimp ice cream or our reward winning duck magret preparation....not even talking our famous Belgian chocolate mousse).
So next time you post a bad review, make sure you base it on a more complete selection of what the restaurant is offering.
Glad you liked the service tough and feel free to visit us again if you ever make it back to Barcelona.
Best regards
Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We visited this restuarant on Tuesday 22nd January and were not disappointed, very friendly service, well priced menu, a meal for 2 starter, mains & wine will cost around £60 well worth it as some of the places on Las Rambles will charge you this for very basic food.
Offered free coffee & cava at the end of the meal which was a nice touch
No criticisms.
Will be back again later in the summer

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gilda by Belgious also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Gilda by Belgious? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing