We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice for a city trip with the family!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apartments Sixtyfour
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed at the Sixtyfour apartments for 3 nights on a city trip with the family.

The apartments are ideally located on near most of the city's attraction nearby the sea (e.g. La Rambla). The train from the airport stops at about 100m from the apartments!

Because the other rooms were fully booked and because we were the largest group to stay in the apartments, our friendly host upgraded us to the biggest apartment on the first floor (room 801). What a fantastic place this was! The apartment was gigantic, 4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a large kitchen and living room.

In general our stay was very pleasant, the rooms are all very clean and well kept, the temperature was perfect and the noise levels were very low.

The only issue we had was with a group of noisy girls in the apartment next door. Although our host and we tried to get them to be quiet, unfortunately they were very loud on the third night of our stay and kept us up until midnight. When I discussed this with the apartment host the next day he apologized sincerely and said he would take action against this type of behavior. I should probably have called him the night before when the noise was happening, I'm sure he would have intervened then, unfortunately I didn't.

If I go back to Barcelona one day, this place will definitely be in my list of options!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bj0rnC_BE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Director General at Apartments Sixtyfour, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for such a nice review :)

We are really happy to see you took great advantatge of your very central location and enjoyed 100% your upgraded apartment.

We would like to inform other future guests that The Sixyfour offers a restricted reception service but we are available 24h at our contact telephone. Do not hesitate to get in touch with us if there is anything going wrong in order to find the fastest solution :)

It is very important for us that the established fixed strict conduct standards are respected, and the quietness and peace in our apartments are one of our main concerns.

See you very soon ¡!

Best regards,

Àlex Tetard
Apartments Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (526)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

277 - 283 of 527 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

Very nice accommodation. Large apartments. Excellent service from Alejandro including recommendations. Central to everything in Barcelona (Las Ramblas, Casa Batillo, shopping, great restaurants, etc.) Was travelling with my mom and niece and needed a larger place at a reasonable rate. Quiet. Note: they do not have someone at reception all the time, but if you are arriving early or need to depart later in the day; call and they will come and store your luggage. Definitely recommend. No daily service but that did not bother use and was expected.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Director de Recepción at Apartments Sixtyfour, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Dear Brad,

We would like to let you know that Alejandro sends his regards: he is really happy that you find his recommendations so useful!

We appreciate the time you've spent sharing your Sixtyfour Experience with our Trip Advisor community. We are pleased that you enjoy how big our apartments are as well as their situation in Barcelona downtown.

Certainly, unlike Hotel Sixtytwo, for instance, Sixtyfour do not offer 24 hours reception, since it is a touristic apartment. We do, nonethelss, offer 24 hours assistante on our mobile phone, so we can store our client's luggage in a safe locked room.

Thank you for your recommendation!

Have a happy easter and please receive our warmest regards from the Mediterranean!

Fabricio Tocco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

My husband and I just returned a week ago from our first visit to Barcelona. Barcelona is a wonderful city to visit, and Apartments Sixtyfour was a near-perfect place to stay.

We stayed for 6 nights in a two-bedroom, two-bathroom apartment that cost us less than if we had stayed in the hotel we had considered booking, and we had the advantages of a comfortable living room, a full kitchen with washer and dryer, and an extra bathroom. In addition, as many other reviewers have written, the location of Apartments Sixtyfour is excellent. We're walkers, and we wandered all over the city on foot (except when we went to Montjuic and to Park Guell, when we used Barcelona's easy subway system and a cab).

Some reviewers have complained that there is no fully-staffed desk at the Apartments, but we didn't find this to be a problem at all; when we rent an apartment during our travels, we don't really expect it to be run like a hotel. Fabricio Tocco was responsive to our email questions and requests before we arrived, he was at the desk at the time we had arranged for check-in, and he was very helpful during our stay (personally showed us how to use the dishwasher, washer, and dryer). In addition, when we had two issues arise during hours when the desk wasn't staffed, we simply went to Hotel Sixtytwo next door (same owner/different management), and the front desk staff there graciously helped us out. Also, a few reviewers have pointed out that the apartments aren't cleaned regularly like hotel rooms are; again, we don't really expect this in an apartment. However, we decided that we'd like to have a general cleaning, new sheets, and new towels halfway through our stay, so we arranged a mid-week cleaning that cost, I think, 35 euros. The cleaning person did an excellent job, and we arrived "home" that evening to a very clean, refreshed apartment.

The apartment had a notebook that included several suggestions for sightseeing, restaurants, etc, but here are some suggestions for those of you interested in staying at Apartments Sixtyfour:
*Breakfast - There is a cafe right next door on Passeig de Gracia where you can buy croissants and other pastries, and a good bakery for breads/pastries a block away at the corner of Carrer de Valencia and Carrer de Pau Claris. In addition, Cafe Emma, just around the block on Carrer de Pau Claris, is a nice little place to sit with morning coffee and to get eggs if you want a bigger breakfast.
*Groceries - The Eixample neighborhood has its own market, much nicer and cleaner and less crowded than La Boqueria (which is way too touristy in our view, and we'd never go back). The Eixample market, La Concepcio (closed Sunday), is on Carrer d'Arago, just an easy four block walk from the apartment, and sells fruit and vegetables, meat and fish, bread and cheese, etc. Below the market is a regular Opencor (sp?) grocery store for the things you can't buy in the market. Also, for a real treat, stop by Taller Pasta, a small store on the corner on Arago before you get to the market; we bought spinach ravioli and sausage/mushroom ravioli there and it was made while we waited and watched -- the store owner rolled the pasta dough, spooned on the fillings, and then hand made the ravioli. We also bought homemade sauce there and made a terrific Italian dinner back at the apartment; indeed, we enjoyed this meal so much that we returned to the store later in the week and repeated our meal. If, at the last minute, you need groceries, wine, etc, then there is also a small Supercor (sp?) just around the corner on Arago.
*Restaurants in the neighborhood - We didn't try many restaurants in the neighborhood, as we tended to eat lunch out in other neighborhoods as we wandered the city, and then we returned to the apartment to make dinner. We did discover, though, that nearby Tapas 24 on Carrer de la Diputacio, just off Passeig de Gracia, was a popular, reasonably-priced tapas place with good food -- tapas made from scratch in the kitchen rather than the microwaved tapas served at some of the places on Passeig de Gracia. Also, one day we ate at La Rita, on Carrer d'Arago at the corner of Carrer de Pau Claris, and found the three-course daily meal to be very reasonable -- just check the posted menu to make sure it's something that appeals to you.
*Evening walks and wine/tapas - A wonderful thing about staying on Passieg de Gracia is that people are out strolling and sitting in sidewalk cafes late into the night (and many of the cafes have heat lamps, so they're pleasant even on cool nights). However, we actually preferred to walk one block over and walk on Rambla de Catalunya (parallel to Passeig de Gracia), which has less traffic and a nice center median walking area. One night we were wandering down the Rambla de Catalunya and found a friendly, classy little corner place (on the right side of the rambla as we headed in the direction of Placa de Catalunya) that sold only Spanish hams -- they had about 10 different ones that night, and we ordered a small plate of two types, complemented the hams with glasses of champagne (as per the suggestion of the shopkeeper), and sat at one of the two tables feeling like we'd found a bit of heaven.
*Sightseeing info -- In our view, almost everything is walking distance (from the Gracia neighborhood to El Born to Barceloneta and a stroll along the Mediterranean), but if you're interested in Gaudi's architecture, both Casa Mila and Casa Batllo are right on Passieg de Gracia (Casa Batllo just across the way from the apartment). Also, there is a cab stand directly in front of the apartment, subway and train station a block away, and --though we didn't do this ourselves-- the two-decker, on-off tourist bus stops right on the block. Personal notes not necessarily reflecting what the guidebooks say: (1) We disliked Las Ramblas, as it was filled with tourists and held no appeal for us, and (2) We enjoyed our visit to Montjuic -- to the castle/fortress at the top of Montjuic, as it was a blue-sky day, and the 360 degree views of the city were wonderful, and to the Miro museum, which is housed in a beautiful, contemporary building, and is just a block's walk from the funicular that connects to the subway.

You can probably tell from this too-long review that we really enjoyed our stay at Apartments Sixtyfour. We did, and we will stay there again for sure.

Some suggestions for Apartments Sixtyfour that would, we think, make the apartments even more satisfying and popular:
1. The dishes/glassware/silverware in the apartment are nice and in good condition. The set of pots and pans needs replacing though (handles loose, clearly an inexpensive set).
2. As per comments made by several other reviewers, additional towels would be much appreciated, and it wouldn't really cost the apartments much to provide them. Right now, Apartments Sixtyfour provides one large bath towel and one hand towel per guest, and charges for additional towels, and that just seems tacky. Why not provide a few additional towels in order to make guests feel happier and more comfortable? Any extra cost would be minimal and worth the good will generated.
3. When we travel on vacation, we leave our computers at home, so we don't personally care about internet connections. However, these days, internet access is almost expected by travelers/guests, and multiple reviewers have complained about paying for internet access and about the erratic connections. Again, why not just include internet access in the apartments?

The suggestions above would, perhaps, result in happier guests, but they are definitely not issues that would prevent us from staying in Apartments Sixtyfour again. We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again, nor hesitate to recommend the place to family and friends. Indeed, we are looking forward to another visit to Barcelona (a week is not enough!), and we will definitely stay at Apartments Sixtyfour again. We had a very pleasant stay there!

Room Tip: My husband is a light sleeper. We stayed in an apartment that faced the back courtyard rather than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Readyfornexttrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Director General at Apartments Sixtyfour, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2014

Dear Readyfornexttrip,

Wow ¡! Thank you so much for such a great and complete review ¡!

You cannot imagine how Sixtyfour team was pleased to read your words :)

We will keep maintaining our standards.

Thank you for mentioning our extra services available bookable before arrival for all our future guests: cleaning service, wifi, extra towels, welcome baskets... All of them available on our website.

We take note of your suggestions for future changes and would like to inform you our wifi system will be renewed before the end of the year (2014).

See you very soon ¡!

Àlex Tetard
Apartments Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment at Apartments Sixtyfour for four nights and the experience was excellent. We were a group of 3 adults and 2 young children, but the apartment was large enough for 6 people.

It is situated in the middle of Passeig de Gracia. The location is perfect for high-end shopping and dining. It is only walking distance to the main train station as well as metro.

Next time I am in Barcelona with my kids, it is definitely the first choice for accommodation.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Director de Recepción at Apartments Sixtyfour, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Dear Leon,

We appreciate a lot your beautiful review of Sixtyfour. We are so glad that your experience was so great! Indeed, you are totally right: Sixtyfour Apartments can hold six to even eight people in bigger three-bedroom apartments and it is perfectly located not only for a nice boutique promenade around Passeig de Gràcia but also for public transportation.

Please write us to our e-mail address next time you come to Barcelona with your kids so we can see what's the best deal we can offer you.

In the meantime, have a nice easter and receive our warmest regards from the Mediterranean.

Fabricio Tocco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I booked this place because we were traveling as a family and needed a place that would accommodate 5. The LOCATION of this place is unbeatable. The apartments are SUPER SPACIOUS, which I love. I almost wanted to keep it a secret to myself. It is just a 1 min walk to the train station, which takes you directly to the airport.

The place is very well cleaned, but housekeeping only comes the first day, and then after you check out. Much like your own apartment. Laundry facilities are avail in the apartment and you can buy detergent at the supermarket around the block.

The furnishings remind me a little of ikea stuff.. not the most durable, but looks pleasant to the eye and usable.

Keep in mind that check in is at 4pm, no exceptions. Everyone checking in on the same day will be there at 4pm.

On my last day, housekeeping came as early as 9am, and kept coming back every half hour to wake me up and evacuate the place.. I would have appreciated to have my beauty sleep for a little longer, since check out is as 12pm. That's my only complain.. don't bother me until it's time to get out!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pinkfacedbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Director de Recepción at Apartments Sixtyfour, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Dear Mrs.,

We are extremely grateful that you have not kept your Sixtyfour Experience as a secret and you wanted to share it with other Trip Advisor users. We couldn't agree more: our location is one of the best in downtown.

Just a little note on your words regarding the laundry: we do have complimentary detergent both for the dishwasher and the washer machine, on all of our kitchens. We are really sorry if this has not been clear during check in. Next time we'll make sure it will!

The housekeeping department is very glad that you find the Apartment well cleaned. We apologize if you were bothered very early by any of the chambermaids. I have personally spoken with them and it seems it was a misunderstanding, they though your apartment was not occupied, by mistake. We are really sorry for this.

We hope you have a great easter and we look forward to seeing you back at Sixtyfour some time soon.

In the meantime, please receive our warmest regards from the Mediterranean.

Fabricio Tocco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Apartment Sixty Four in February 2013. It was absolutely beautiful. We had a two bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment which featured a full kitchen with in unit laundry, and windows that open up to create a balcony like atmosphere inside the apartment. It was located on the major strip of Passeig de Gracia, close to everything. I cannot praise the staff enough for the courtesy and assistance whenever it was needed. Honestly, if you are visiting Barcelona, look no further than here for a great place to stay!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Director de Recepción at Apartments Sixtyfour, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Sir. or Madam,

We are really glad that you have had such a great time in Sixtyfour Apartments! Thank you for sharing it to the Trip Advisor community. We would like to let you know that the whole staff is thrilled after reading your praises. We hope to see you again next time you'll come back to Barcelona! Sixtyfour Apartments balcony atmosphere is waiting for you!!!

Keep traveling, regards from the Mediterranean,

Fabricio Tocco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

It was really an excellent location. It ended up being cheaper than staying in a hotel and it was home away from home. It was so near Casa Batlo and in the main street. Very clean and I liked that we had option to cook if we wanted too. Very convenient to travel from. I ended up walking from the apartment to Las Ramblas, La Boqueria, Casa Batlo and Casa Milla. If staying longer, it would be excellent to have a bike to ride. I ended up cycling the city with a great couple who offered to tour me around. I would definitely want to stay here again if I go back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blessc21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Director de Recepción at Apartments Sixtyfour, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Mrs. Blessc21,

We are very grateful for your candid comments.

You are so right! Sometimes, staying at Apartments like Sixtyfour can be more affordable than Hotels, specially worth-while when you are more than two or three people. And it is also so comfortable! You can cook and enjoy all the advantages of having a space of your own. In this sense, we are really glad that you feel like home with us, it is always great to experience that feeling when one is abroad, isn't it?

As we usually say, Sixtyfour's location couldn't be better! All Gaudí's main masterpieces, Passeig de Gràcia, Rambles: all is so close than it is impossible to miss any of this main attractions! We hope you come back to us and have a ride on a bikes. We could help you finding a place where you can rent a great one and Barcelona is really prepared to be known with bicycles these days.

So, see you next time and in the meanwhile we send you our warmest regards from the Mediterranean.

Fabricio Tocco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Sixtytwo Hotel
Sixtytwo Hotel
#15 of 516 in Barcelona
1,582 reviews
Eixample
Midtown Apartments
Midtown Apartments
#2 of 736 in Barcelona
191 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Aparthotel Arai
Aparthotel Arai
#1 of 736 in Barcelona
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
BCN Rambla Catalunya Apartments
Eixample
Paseo De Gracia Bas Apartments
Eixample
Aspasios Rambla Catalunya Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments Sixtyfour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Sixtyfour

Address: Passeig de Gracia 64, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 736 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range: $128 - $591 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apartments Sixtyfour 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
APARTMENTS SIXTYFOUR, EXCLUSIVITY AND LUXURY RIGHT IN THE HEART OF BARCELONA Apartments Sixtyfour are located in one of the traditional buildings on Paseo de Gracia. It is, without a doubt, Barcelona’s most prestigious street, a paradise of shops and modernist art. Our apartments are completely refurbished and have been designed to offer you room, comfort and wellbeing during your stay in the city, be it for business or pleasure. Therefore, everything from the bedroom, to the dining room, kitchen and bathroom are fully equipped down to the last detail. Ideal for both families with children and groups of friends (maximum capacity 8 people). Their privileged location means that you are within walking distance of the main tourist sites with Las Ramblas, the Cathedral and the Gothic Quarter, the Sagrada Familia, Gaudi’s most emblematic buildings or the most representative shops of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Apartments Sixtyfour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartments Sixtyfour Hotel Barcelona
Apartments 64
Apartments Sixtyfour Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing