We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meson Castilla Atiram

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Meson Castilla Atiram
Ranked #211 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Probably the best thing about Meson Castila is it's location, 5 minutes walk from Placa Catalunya and La Ramblas. The airport shuttle bus terminates in Placa Catalunya, so it's the nearest your going to get to a door to door service, for the grand total of eur5.80 each. However, if you are going to pitch up in Barcelona after dark, or even before, it's worth checking google maps to orientate yourself as to which way to go. Placa Catalunya is vast, and the hotel is down some rather small ally's.
The hotel is small and basic, but non the worse for that. After all, your only going to sleep there! The rooms are clean and comfortable, and the street noise down below did not bother us as it was too cold to have the window open. If you are staying there when nights are going to be hot, you might want a room at the rear. The breakfast is perfectly nice with a variety of meats and bread, fruit etc from a buffet.
The other big plus for this hotel is that it's cheap, considering its location at the centre of a major city. There is not much to fault here, except perhaps the street noise outside in the evenings. Another solution to this is do plenty of walking to see the many sights in Barcelona, stay up late like the locals, drink the inexpensive wines, so when you get into bed, you just crash out.

Room Tip: Barcelona can be very hot after March. Check the air con in your room, and consider asking for a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    373
    152
    33
    14
See reviews for
201
311
31
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

I chose this hotel as it was the cheapest, best rated for the dates I wanted. It is very close to La Rambla with lots of cafes, tapas bars and restaurants in the surrounding area. I felt very safe walking alone in the evening. The single room I had was a great size, but looks dated due to the yellow chenille bedspread and funky blanket. However, it was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. The walls and doors were a little thin so I could hear my neighbours but it was fine for 2 nights. Staff at reception could not have been more helpful. I arrived around 9am and was able to check straight in. They have safety deposit boxes for €5 in the office behind reception. They also have a locker room with lockers that can hold a suitcase. These are €1 each time they are opened. I was also able to leave a suitcase to be collected by a courier company the day I left. Free wifi was fine. Breakfast was more than adequate, cereals, boiled eggs, bread, pastries, yoghurt etc. Something for everyone. It's not five star flashy but I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Redjazz68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Meson Castilla is about 50 yards from the north start of Rambla. It's next to the University square and is therefore alive but not disruptive.

It's a 5 minute walk from the central stop for the airport shuttle.

The foyer/lounge is just that - a small area to check in and to sit and wait as your party assemble for the day ahead. It's not somewhere to plan an evening.

*Note: The front desk offers a security box service for peanuts - whilst there they also sell large bottles of water.

Shuttle: It is easy and a 30 minute trip either way. Coming back we were lazy and arranged for their shared shuttle service to pick us up from the door. Think it was 15 euro (5 euro for the bus) but there were demonstrations and our driver took some fantastic short cuts to make sure we got to the airport in time.

The lift is one of those little (4 thin people or 2 normal) ones but works well.

Rooms are compact but clean, tidy and the bathrooms were spotless. There are front / middle and rear rooms. Front may be a little noisy if you go to bed at 10. Middle means a view of nothing but silent and cool. Rear is quiet. A few rear rooms have small balconies - worth the premium for this luxury.

Each floor has the traditional mini-lounge by the lift which gives the hotel a feeling of style and chic.

Buffet breakfast is served on the 1st floor - worth getting one of the limited number of tables on the tiny terrace to breakfast al fresco. It's standard hotel continental breakfast but all seemed very fresh and well presented.

Staff were cheerful, pleasant, helpful and welcoming. We only stayed 3 days but we were made to feel like valued guests. Our short break in Barcelona was made by this perfect little hotel :)

Room Tip: The area looks a bit rough - it's actually pretty chic and very safe. Front might be a bit loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RogerWabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

There is always a degree of trepidation when you book a 2 star hotel, but there should be no worries with this place. Ideally placed to let you explore Barcelona it is very clean and the staff are wonderfully courteous and helpful.

We stayed for three nights just before Christmas and on the first night we mentioned the late night noise from the exuberant locals, from our room at the front of the hotel. Without hesitation we were offered a rear facing room. It was larger and very quiet.

The breakfast was perfectly adequate for a 2 star hotel.

La Ramblas is a short walk from the hotel as indeed are many of Barcelona's sights.

The hotel seems to be a bit of a throwback from an earlier more decadent past with beautifully decorated wardrobes and headboards in the rooms and glorious room where breakfast is served.

There are no tea and coffee facilities in the rooms (although there is a vending machine near reception). The free WiFi is decidedly variable, but this is also true of almost every hotel that I have ever stayed in.

So don't be put off by the 2 star rating because this place is worth considering.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank EricChorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Just had a great weekend break here and have to say it was excellent very clean and tidy. The receptionists were always helpful with local information. It has a great location minutes walk from the shops and restaurants. We paid for open top bus tour for 2 days well worth the money (32 euros) and you can get on and off when you like, this enables you to see much more of Barcelona than you would on foot. The only down side was all the graffiti which did spoil the look. I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back which was very quite, don't think it would be so at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

I have nothing but praise for this hotel, I was nervous when booking this hotel as I would not normally stay in a 2* hotel however the location and price was what I wanted to pay for a short weekend break. From the moment I arrived at the hotel the staff was so helpfull and nothing was too much trouble the hotel is very clean and is typical spanish decor, the breakfast was continental and a good choice, I would rate this hotel more of a 3*. The location is excellent right at the top on Las Ramlas and within a few minutes walk to a few metro stations (which are easy to use) and very cental to walk to Placa Catalunya, Gothic Quarter and Port Vell. Outside the hotel are a few bars and restaurants which I would highly recommend as the food and drinks are very well priced. Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone regardless of its 2* rating couldn't have chosen a better hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bex49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel deserves a better rating than 2*! The location of this hotel could not be better, 2 minute walk upto las ramblas and a main shopping street with, topshop, h&m, mango, c&a etc. There are a few metro stops in these areas too, you can get anywhere on the metro and are very easy to use! (We got a pass for 10euros which gave us 10 trips on the metro/busses/trains). The hotel staff were all very friendly and was happy to help and advise us whenever we asked for it! Breakfast is continental and very nice. The rooms are lovely, traditional Spanish and very clean as is the rest of the hotel. There is a bar/restaurant just next door on the corner of the hotel called Muccis, which is lovely and very cheap! Would definitely return to this hotel if I was to visit Barcelona again!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyE1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Oriente Atiram
Oriente Atiram
#222 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
El Raval
Grupotel Gravina
Grupotel Gravina
#225 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Marvi
Hotel Marvi
#297 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
HLG CityPark Pelayo Hotel
HLG CityPark Pelayo Hotel
#373 of 522 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Acta BCN 40
Hotel Acta BCN 40
#202 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Ciutat Vella
Hotel Ciutat Vella
#166 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meson Castilla Atiram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meson Castilla Atiram

Property: Meson Castilla Atiram
Address: Valldonzella, 5, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#159 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#194 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Meson Castilla Atiram 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Meson Castilla Atiram reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meson Castilla Hotel
Meson Castilla Barcelona
Hotel Meson Castilla Barcelona
Meson Castilla Atiram Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing