We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and value” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meson Castilla Atiram

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Meson Castilla Atiram
Ranked #211 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great location and value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

We picked this hotel for our two nights in Barcelona because we wanted something a bit more Spanish looking rather than a modern place. It was quite quaint and looked like the pictures on the website especially in the area towards the restaurant. Staff were generally very helpful and having a carpark in the building was terrific. The room itself was a bit average but there was a little balcony so we could look out over the roof tops to the hills. Very convenient for getting around; we were there on Catalunya Day and it was great to be able to walk round the corner and join the masses of (well behaved) revellers. As long as you are not expecting any modern style or all the luxuries, this hotel is a good place to spend a few days exploring Barcelona. We had a happy couple of days.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank AgingSlowly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    374
    152
    33
    14
See reviews for
201
311
31
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed in a lovely twin room at the back of the hotel with a small seating / tv area and a large outside terrace to soak up the mid-day sun. Hotel is very clean and the staff are helpful and friendly. Excellent central location with small supermarkets / bars on your doorstep. Breakfast (included) was available until 11am with good coffee (always a bonus) and included boiled eggs, ham / cheese / tomato, a selection of cereals, yoghurts, various breads / croissants / pastries, etc. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boudica_Blighty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Booked through a British Airways package - very good value. Perfect location just off the top of Las Ramblas; we could walk amost everywhere and less than 5 minutes walk to the closest metro. Continental breakfast perfectly adequate and convenient rather than having to find breakfast elsewhere. First room in the front noisy and a bit cramped. Moved after the first night and had a lovely double in the back (#253) with terrace (small and no view but still nice!). Rooms do vary in size. Friendly helpful staff.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front noisy - definitely go for one in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarthaTres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

The photographs on there and the street/Google guides do not do justice to this lovely little hotel.

First off - if you are expecting a 5* Hotel for this price then you are not being reasonable. If you are looking for helpful and attentive staff, clean rooms, great services, wonderful atmosphere and incredible location then just go ahead and book it :)

Get the Aerobus from the airport and get of at Pl University or the end stop Pl Catalunyia. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from either square. If you arrive during the day the road will look quite. It wakes up as the evening unwinds.

Rooms (like all of Barcelona) are not huge, think a large cabin suite. Air conditioning works well as does the modern plumbing.
Little security safes are available at reception as are large 1.5lt bottles of chilled water rather than relying on the mini-bar.
The small 4 person lift wins no races - but works and is reliable.

Breakfast on the 1st floor is a delight - simple continental breakfast with limited cereals if you need them and soya/low fat milk! Here there is also a 6 or 8 table terrace where we enjoyed breakfast al fresco mid October!

Cathederal is about 15 minutes stroll down Ramla; Rambla itself is almost 1 minute stroll away. There are numerous eating houses around, pizza on the run or fine dining. Pointless recommending anywhere since they will have changed hands but realise you are in a student area so the food is good and reasonable rather than Jamie Oliver.

The Aerobus back to T1 is about 40 minutes - you have to cross the city so make sure to add 15 minutes for Spain and traffic.

The hotel happily pre-booked most areas and gave the internet discount so worth checking out. The citytour / tourist bus leaves from Pl Catalonia about 5 minutes strol max from the hotel.

Hope your stay is as magical as ours.

Room Tip: Front rooms may hear a little noise when clubs close - but only if you sleep with your windows side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roger A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Wonderful stay in beautiful city in family hotel, well run, clean and extremely well located. Had room #354 with balcony, in back and absolutely no noise. Well located to La Rambla and all other sites and good restaurants. Front desk help was excellent. Breakfast more than adequate. Would definitely stay again - very reasonable. Thanks for helping make our trip as wonderful as it was.

Room Tip: There are 3-4 rooms with balcony at the back... try for one. Good place for a glass of wine and some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 444JanMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

I traveled in 2011 to Barcelona to attend a conference. The university was very close to the hotel. the conference gave us a discount in the hotel so the price was great. For any tourist and traveler to Barcelona, the location of the hotel is really great. It is very close to las ramblas which is the famous street in Barcelona where you can find restaurants, souvenirs shops, the sea, the beaches, undergrounds, streets' artists and shows especially Mime artists, Carrefour where you can buy anything with good prices and La Boqueria wher you canbuy fresh fruits and fish. Moreover, the hotel is close to the square called Plaça de Catalunya where you can find hop on hop off buses and the airport bus which takes you directly to the airport.But, the hotel lobby is very small. The room is very small but I like the furniture it looks like what is found in the pic that i saw on the internet. The television set is old. The Air conditioner makes a big noise and does not work. The weather was hot in July in Barcelona and the A.C did not cool. You can hear the streets' noise at night especially that Barcelona and this area do not sleep early in summer which is something i like. The breakfast was good but i find many items in the breakfast buffet bought from Carrefour. I like the restaurant where you can take breakfast in a small balcony or indoor. I like the furniture which looks like being antiques. There is a wifi and a pc in the lobby to use the internet. I could not call Egypt from the hotel and the receptionist could not help me to make the call. I bought a ticket to watch flamenco show in a place also close to the hotel which is one of the best in las ramlas and called Tablao Flamenco Cordobés. Also, if you walk a bit you gonna find malls, and many other sites.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

I booked this Hotel as a surprise 50th birthday treat for my husband, I paid for a taxi transfer from the airport as I had no idea how to get to the Hotel. Once there, we were welcomed by a lovely lady on reception. after booking in, she gave us clear directions to the local Metro and answered all my queries. all the staff were very friendly, what made it even more personal was the fact that when we came into reception the receptionist greeted us by name each time. The hotel couldn't be more central to everything, it was literally around the block from La Ramblas.and close to the local Metro.

Room Tip: Try to get a room towards the back as a lot of young people gather in the nearby tapas bars in the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cherylwatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Oriente Atiram
Oriente Atiram
#221 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Marvi
Hotel Marvi
#297 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
El Raval
Grupotel Gravina
Grupotel Gravina
#225 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
HLG CityPark Pelayo Hotel
HLG CityPark Pelayo Hotel
#373 of 522 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Acta BCN 40
Hotel Acta BCN 40
#202 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Ciutat Vella
Hotel Ciutat Vella
#168 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meson Castilla Atiram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meson Castilla Atiram

Property: Meson Castilla Atiram
Address: Valldonzella, 5, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#159 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#194 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Meson Castilla Atiram 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, HRS and Reservation Counter so you can book your Meson Castilla Atiram reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meson Castilla Hotel
Meson Castilla Barcelona
Hotel Meson Castilla Barcelona
Meson Castilla Atiram Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing