We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Meson Castilla Atiram
Ranked #221 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Value for money”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Hotel location reasonable although at first it appeared to be in a rundown area, but you only have to go a couple of blocks to find up and coming shops, restaurants and bars. University just around the corner so plenty of young people about. The hotel itself is clean and staff polite and helpful. Continental breakfast good and plenty of it, apart limited choice of fresh fruit. Room size is not as big as it appears online but adequate and clean. Housekeeping excellent as room was cleaned daily and sheets and towels changed regularly. Quiet location yet close to La Rambla, Placa de Catalanya and Placa de Universitat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    388
    155
    35
    15
See reviews for
207
324
32
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We recently stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. Staff were polite and helpful. Rooms were clean. Breakfast was very good. It is located 5 min walk away from the Placa de Catalunya, which is a transport hub of Barcelona. It is only 3 min walk away from La Ramblas.

Room Tip: I would stay again in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NijMat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We were meeting friends of ours in Barcelona and they booked this hotel. We looked at it on the net, and the position looked great. We also booked this hotel and we spent some very wonderful days in this beautiful city. The hotel is only a 5-8 minute walk to the Rambla and the restaurants. A 10-15 minute walk to the Barcelona Cathedral (a must for visitors). The service at the hotel was first class,gets a bit noisy if you have a room at the front of the hotel as this place never seems to go to sleep..youngsters on skateboards are a bit noisy..other than that this place, although classified as a two-star is very central to everything and the staff are very good. No hesitation to stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: If possible, book a room at the 'back' of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgenoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Asked for and got a quiet interior room. Hard bed and lousy pillows. Generally quiet except when other guests in hallway. Good breakfast but couldn't eat on lovely terrace cause that's where all the smokers are. Convenient location one block from metro and 10 minutes from rambla. Very basic. If you want something special this is not for you.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynfo16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caister-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed here with my family (6 adults) and we were very pleased with the hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful, providing maps and lists of attractions. The rooms were a good size and always clean, and the breakfast was good - continental only, but as much as you could eat! The location is excellent for the centre - literally a 5-10 minute walk to La Rambla and the nearest metro station at Placa Catalunya, where the tourist buses also run from. It can be a little noisy at night as it is close to bars, etc., but don't let that put you off. Good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
316 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We enjoyed our stay from the pleasant welcome through to the excellent storage for our bags on the last day and farewell. Our room was large with windows that opened. We did not mind the noise which, on the nights we were there, did not seem excessive for the middle of a large city. It was lovely to have the balcony we requested. The 'double bed' was two placed together, but as each was large and the join was not particulary discernable, this was not the issue I have found at other hotels. Location is always an issue when one has only a short time in a city. Proximity to the Aerobus, the hop-on-hop-off buses, metro, Las Ramblas and restuarants was a huge + for this hotel. The breakfast on the Saturday morning was good. However, on the Sunday I had to ask for an item and the pastries ran out quickly and were not replenished.

Free wifi should not be something to cheer about. However, as the situation currently is, with many hotels charging (sometimes for an indifferent service) it was great to have this available free in the room.

I found the recommended (free sangria) restaurant rather ordinary. However, having tried two others through a guide book (one closed and the other with no capacity to assist English only speakers) perhaps one should not be too critical.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindylou45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed four nights at this hotel to explore Barcelona. This hotel was well located just off Las Ramblas and Catalonia Square so we could walk to most attractions and catch the Metro if we were travelling further afield. The Aerobus (A1) from the airport was also very handy. Our room was reasonable, clean and large enough as we didn't want to spend much time indoors. Breakfast was ample with plenty of choice. It would have been nice to have had tea/coffee making facilities in the room but one can buy hot or cold drinks in the lobby from vending machines.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Oriente Atiram
Oriente Atiram
#227 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
El Raval
Grupotel Gravina
Grupotel Gravina
#220 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Marvi
Hotel Marvi
#335 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Acta BCN 40
Hotel Acta BCN 40
#198 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
El Raval
HLG CityPark Pelayo Hotel
HLG CityPark Pelayo Hotel
#372 of 514 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Hotel Via Augusta
#183 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meson Castilla Atiram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meson Castilla Atiram

Property: Meson Castilla Atiram
Address: Valldonzella, 5, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#159 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#194 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Meson Castilla Atiram 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Meson Castilla Atiram reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meson Castilla Hotel
Meson Castilla Barcelona
Hotel Meson Castilla Barcelona
Meson Castilla Atiram Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing