We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so bad”
Review of Pension 45

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pension 45
Ranked #259 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not so bad”
Reviewed May 2, 2008

We stayed here for 3 nights,besides the bad reviews we read about this hostel, there was nowhere else to book so cheaper, near the city center and with a private bathroom.

Positive aspects: great location(2 minutes from Plaza de Catalunia), price, very quiet (the street is traffic free), the room was clean and the towels changed every day.

Negative aspects: the staff is not very friendly and the rooms are only to sleep, there's no tv ou telephone.

So, if you want to enjoy the hotel you should probably find somewhere else, but if you only want a nice bed to sleep, in the city center and noise free, this is a good option.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No breakfast
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krisita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    36
    34
    30
    34
See reviews for
14
68
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2008

Me and my girlfriend recently stayed here for 3 nights. We selected the property based on the price and great location and were aware of some of the poor reviews that others had given it here on "trip advisor".

Our room was clean and functional, but was small and devoid of any charm. (Sorry about the poor picture of the room, but you get the idea!) The staff were friendly enough and available 24/7.

The location really is great, though if you are not going to Barcelona for the partying then it is quite loud throughout the night. The nearest Metro stop was Placa de Catalunya, only 4 minutes walk away.

Ultimately, I could only really recommend this place if you are on a really tight budget, or if you are perhaps traveling across Europe and need a cheap place to stay.

It comes down to this; great location and really cheap, but not really somewhere to stay if you plan to stay in for any sort of extended period of time.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Small, charmless room.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank RMC2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

northeast scotland
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2007

Yes, Pension 45 is cheap, but you get what you pay for!
The rooms are tiny, with poor lighting/ furnishing and the odd cockroach! The noise levels are dreadful...building site at the back and noisy revellers at the front!
I can't think of a single redeeming feature. I stayed there based on recommendation...a big mistake!

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tomster_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2007

I had a mixed feeling about this hostal. It is very well located, 2 minutes walk from Placa de Catalunya and 100 meters from Las Ramblas. This location makes the hostal VERY noisy. My girlfriend and I are not
old (29) but we are not either heavy partyers and the first night of our stay there we almost couldn't sleep at all because of the noise in the street and the thin, bad isolated windows. Second night (Sunday
to Monday) was better. The staff there was very nice to us and tried to speak some spanglish to help us a bit.

Breakfast was included but it was a cup of coffee/tea + 2 mini croissants (1/3 the size of regular ones). Now about the rooms. It didn't look so clean even though it was not that bad. There were stains on the bathtub and dust under the bed. Bed was very bad for our
backs.

Overall I'd say it is a great place for people who plan to spend the night out and just want a place to crash. If you are expecting a confortable stay in Barca, do not stay there.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2007

I stayed at this hotel due to the positive reviews on this site, however, I was not impressed by this place.

The room was really stuffy and at night it was hard to sleep. I don't think there was any A/C available.

We were woken up in the middle of the night by the receptionist, who did not speak English and we had no idea what he wanted... or why he woke us up at 5AM !@#@!#

Location wise this place is good, close to the Ramblas and placa da Catalunya.

However, I'd stay somewhere else the next time I go to Barcelona.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegame_911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2007

This hotel is really bad, not only it's really dirty, the people there are not nice at all...and they try to take advantage of me seeing that I am a women and didn't speak that great spanish...
I called them and needing a room for one person, they said they only had vailable a double room which was souble the price...when I got there and was waiting to check in, there was somebody else asking for a single room for a night and they had it...so I try to tell him how come he told me on the phone that there were only double rooms and now, there was a guy just getting there now and the room was available...and he tryed to give me a lame excuse...well...to complete the experience, when I went to pay, he charged more then the price he told me over the phone...I felt horrible I was traveling alone, and from reading some of the reviews here I thought it would be a good, cheap and good location place to stay. I wasn't expecting a nice hotel for the price, but at least that the people there would be honest...Trust me, don't stay on that dumpster...

  • Liked — NOTHING
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dri_dri79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napoli, Italy
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2007

I'm an italian girl and I was in Barcellona this summer for the first time with a friend of mine.
I arrived in Barcellona just with my baggage and without reservation. I looked for a room and I was in a lot of hostels but finally I chosed one: Pension 45, the best I found in Barcellona!
It is located in a strategical place: you can reach rambla in just 2 minutes by walking and plaza catalunya in maybe 3 minutes.
The hostel is very clean and at the price of 25euro for person in a double you have included breakfast too (Abdel prepare a wonderful napoletan coffè!) until 12 in the morning. The most important aspect as regard as the hostel is its staff: the receptionist man is the best of all the world: friendly, fanny, and very serious!
I will never forget barcelona, pension 45 and the staff of the pension of course.
Thank you A. E.!

  • Liked — the staff
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Verygooder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Pension Segre
Pension Segre
#473 of 513 in Barcelona
134 reviews
Can Seuba
#178 of 308 in Barcelona
15 reviews
El Raval
Hostal 56
Hostal 56
#149 of 308 in Barcelona
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Eddy's Guest House Barcelona
Eddy's Guest House Barcelona
#125 of 308 in Barcelona
125 reviews
Eixample
Barcelona Rooms
Barcelona Rooms
#128 of 308 in Barcelona
252 reviews
Albergue Studio
#93 of 308 in Barcelona
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension 45? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension 45

Property: Pension 45
Address: C. Tallers, 45 | El Raval, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #259 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension 45 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Pension 45 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension 45 Hotel Barcelona
45 Hotel Barcelona
Pension 45 Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing