We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK for young party folks”
Review of Pension 45

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pension 45
Ranked #257 of 305 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“OK for young party folks”
Reviewed November 6, 2007

I had a mixed feeling about this hostal. It is very well located, 2 minutes walk from Placa de Catalunya and 100 meters from Las Ramblas. This location makes the hostal VERY noisy. My girlfriend and I are not
old (29) but we are not either heavy partyers and the first night of our stay there we almost couldn't sleep at all because of the noise in the street and the thin, bad isolated windows. Second night (Sunday
to Monday) was better. The staff there was very nice to us and tried to speak some spanglish to help us a bit.

Breakfast was included but it was a cup of coffee/tea + 2 mini croissants (1/3 the size of regular ones). Now about the rooms. It didn't look so clean even though it was not that bad. There were stains on the bathtub and dust under the bed. Bed was very bad for our
backs.

Overall I'd say it is a great place for people who plan to spend the night out and just want a place to crash. If you are expecting a confortable stay in Barca, do not stay there.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    35
    33
    30
    32
See reviews for
13
67
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2007

I stayed at this hotel due to the positive reviews on this site, however, I was not impressed by this place.

The room was really stuffy and at night it was hard to sleep. I don't think there was any A/C available.

We were woken up in the middle of the night by the receptionist, who did not speak English and we had no idea what he wanted... or why he woke us up at 5AM !@#@!#

Location wise this place is good, close to the Ramblas and placa da Catalunya.

However, I'd stay somewhere else the next time I go to Barcelona.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegame_911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Hollywood, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2007

This hotel is really bad, not only it's really dirty, the people there are not nice at all...and they try to take advantage of me seeing that I am a women and didn't speak that great spanish...
I called them and needing a room for one person, they said they only had vailable a double room which was souble the price...when I got there and was waiting to check in, there was somebody else asking for a single room for a night and they had it...so I try to tell him how come he told me on the phone that there were only double rooms and now, there was a guy just getting there now and the room was available...and he tryed to give me a lame excuse...well...to complete the experience, when I went to pay, he charged more then the price he told me over the phone...I felt horrible I was traveling alone, and from reading some of the reviews here I thought it would be a good, cheap and good location place to stay. I wasn't expecting a nice hotel for the price, but at least that the people there would be honest...Trust me, don't stay on that dumpster...

  • Liked — NOTHING
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dri_dri79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napoli, Italy
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2007

I'm an italian girl and I was in Barcellona this summer for the first time with a friend of mine.
I arrived in Barcellona just with my baggage and without reservation. I looked for a room and I was in a lot of hostels but finally I chosed one: Pension 45, the best I found in Barcellona!
It is located in a strategical place: you can reach rambla in just 2 minutes by walking and plaza catalunya in maybe 3 minutes.
The hostel is very clean and at the price of 25euro for person in a double you have included breakfast too (Abdel prepare a wonderful napoletan coffè!) until 12 in the morning. The most important aspect as regard as the hostel is its staff: the receptionist man is the best of all the world: friendly, fanny, and very serious!
I will never forget barcelona, pension 45 and the staff of the pension of course.
Thank you A. E.!

  • Liked — the staff
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Verygooder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2007

I have nothing but great things to say about Pension 45.
The location is great! It is right close to the action on Las Ramblas, but is located on a fairly quiet street. Our room was very clean, and so were the shared bathrooms.
The staff was also very friendly.
If you want value for your money, this is the place to stay.

  • Liked — The friendly staff and the great locatoin
  • Disliked — No air conditioning, but at least the rooms had fans!
  • Stayed August 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki6Calgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 28, 2004

pension 45 is a nice place if u want to be in the center of barcelona and u have not a lot of money. I live in Barcelona and after months looking for the cheapest rooms i can tell you this is the best!!

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 21, 2004

Pension 45 is located on C. Tallers, 45 in the El Raval section of Barcelona, a longish block away from La Rambla (next to Hosteria Grau).
They have 24-hr reception and a mix of small, private double/twin rooms, some with bath and others with a sink. The location is terrific, off the Ramblas so you don't have all the street noise (Tallers is a pedestrian lane), but close enough so you can get to the action in a 5-minute walk. The price is right too: we paid 45 euro for a double with bath, and 27 euro for a single-occupancy twin (they didn't have triples for us). The staff was really nice to us--we arrived too early for our rooms after taking an overnight bus from Bilbao, but they let us take showers in the shared bathrooms. They make you prepay for the night, and speak mostly Spanish (but are really friendly even if you don't). There is free coffee/tea in the TV lounge. The building is kind of old, but with the price as low as it is, not too shabby!

  • Stayed March 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Eddy's Guest House Barcelona
Eddy's Guest House Barcelona
#122 of 305 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Pension Arosa
Pension Arosa
#100 of 305 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
El Raval
Hostal 56
Hostal 56
#150 of 305 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gracia
Pension Norma
Pension Norma
#246 of 305 in Barcelona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hostal NITZS BCN
Hostal NITZS BCN
#149 of 305 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Pension Francia
Pension Francia
#197 of 305 in Barcelona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension 45? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension 45

Property: Pension 45
Address: C. Tallers, 45 | El Raval, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #257 of 305 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension 45 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Pension 45 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension 45 Hotel Barcelona
45 Hotel Barcelona
Pension 45 Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing