We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class in every way - best hostel I have ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Casa Gracia Barcelona Hostel
Ranked #34 of 305 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Globetrotter
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“First class in every way - best hostel I have ever stayed in”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed here with two friends in October last year as part of a lads trip to Barcelona to watch El Classico. Everything about this place is first class. Easy to get to by public transport from El Prat (the airport) and just a short walk along a main road from the underground station. Check in was efficent and the check in staff were more than happy to make recommendations re bars, places to eat etc as well as provide complimentary maps to the city.

We booked a private three bed room with ensuite, and were alloacated a lovely spacious 4 bed - including one double and 3 singles on the fifth floor with a nice view over the rooftops across the city. Our room was spotlessly clean, with fresh bed linen and could not be faulted.

Breakfast was included in the price - cereals, bread, preserves, ham, cheese, juice, tea and coffee - help yourself and eat as much as you like - with the choice to sit inside or in the open air courtyard at the back, which doubled as a place to sit and drink during the day or early evening if you liked, before heading out into the city. WIFI is also free for those with their own laptos, smart phones or tablets and the hostel has two free PC terminals which we used to book tickets for the Barcelona v Real Madrid match.

Location is great, very central and near to main underground lines that can take you to all parts of the city, as well as plenty of places to eat, drink or pick up supplies from within walking distance. Granted this place is not the cheapest budget option in the city, but as far as value for money is concerned it can't be beaten and in that respect well worth the price. Having stayed in hostels all over the world this is the best i've come across and is better than many budget hotels too. Absolutley first class - I can't recommend highly enough.

Room Tip: Email the hostel in advance with anyu special requests - quiet room, no bunks etc and they will do t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller1277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    686
    375
    113
    53
    43
See reviews for
182
255
192
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Solothurn, Switzerland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I was surprised when we arrived there.
We had a trip with our class, so, of course, we couldn't take a 5* Hotel.
This hostel is very very clean, the service is very nice and they have a nice little breakfast
Not where the other tourists sleep but very central and you have a subway station very near.
Good connections to everywhere. Enjoyed it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonikaM94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsens, Denmark
Level Contributor
367 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

At the reception, the staff was warm without being effusive, the checkin process was handled very efficiently, a little map was provided to mark essential services in the neighborhood, queries were thoroughly addressed. The bedroom itself was tastefully furnished, beds were comfortable, toilet-and-shower area was very clean, there was no airconditioning but air temperature was good. Our bedroom window had no view - but we were there only to sleep so that was not important. The breakfast room was large and airy. There were two buffet tables set, with well presented continental offering, so no crowding and queueing for food. There was a very large, clean, and well-appointed kitchen for guests' use. There was a secure room to hold your luggage while you enjoyed the last few hours of this beautiful city. Overall impression of the property was a perfect confluence of space and warmth. And you could not have been in a more perfect location - being almost diagonally across the tourist office confirmed that. Nothing but top marks for this hostel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stayed in two different rooms as a bookend trip to Barcelona with Madrid, etc. in between. The first room I was in (213) had obviously been renovated. It was a six bed room (no bunks, thank goodness!) and all but one bed had their own nightstand. The bathroom was better than most budget hotels I've stayed in. And... you get a towel!

The second room (203) was an older one. It was clean but the room felt a little tired (outdated tiling, etc.) and the shower was hard to step out of because of its height.

Breakfast was good - more than the standard bread and Nutella fair. The dinners were excellent, though slightly overpriced for what you got.

Otherwise, a beautiful hostel and one I would definitely stay at again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

As one previous reviewer wrote this place really is 'one of the best hostels in the World!' The time and effort that has gone into layout, decor, recruitment of staff etc. has really paid off, because the attention to detail here is amazing! The only downsides to our visit here in April were the building works that started at 8am and continued through to 6pm, and not being forewarned about this prior to booking, or even at check-in; and a leaky shower in our en-suite bathroom. If it were not for these two things I would have given an excellent rating!

The room price comes with breakfast included and this is a pretty decent fair for a hostel. Breads, cheese, ham, jam, cereal, milk and juice were being topped-up constantly over the two hour breakfast period. There is also a coffee machine in the breakfast area that guests have access to around the clock.

This hostel maintains a friendly, comfortable and at ease vibe, while still having a funky set-up that in other hostels could come across pretentious. I wish Casa Gracia all the best for their expansion and will definitely be staying here again in the future!

Room Tip: Ask about the current building work in order to get a quiet room as far away from it as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciriè, Piemonte, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Located in the same way of Casa Milà and Casa Batllò, this hostel is a very comfortable and lovely. The room was cleaned, the kitchen very large and the staff was gentle and smart. Every dinner you can eat, at a reasonable price, a typical spanish dish like paella and fajitas. Very recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salvatore A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

It's in a great location and everything about the hostel is positive from breakfast to clean bathrooms. If you've never stayed in a hostel before, make this your first time. If you've done others, this one will still impress. It offers activities and lies between Gaudi's main architectural feats and the squares with nightlife and tapas. Budget travelers should stay here!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rodgeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Poblenou
Hesperia Sant Joan
Hesperia Sant Joan
#204 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#96 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,662 reviews
Poblenou
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
#193 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montjuic
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel
#265 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,333 reviews
Montjuic
Hotel Grums Barcelona
Hotel Grums Barcelona
#199 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Gracia Barcelona Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Gracia Barcelona Hostel

Property: Casa Gracia Barcelona Hostel
Address: Passeig de Gracia 116, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Gracia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 305 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Gracia Barcelona Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel Casa Gracia is situated in the most emblematic zone of Barcelona. It’s a modernist building typical of the city, completely renovated following an elegant and creative design, leaving a wonderful feeling of home. Founded in June 2010 Casa Gracia offers comfort, fun, tranquillity and security in a central place of the city.Who are we?We are innate travellers wishing to create a hostel which reflects art, simplicity, comfort, everyday luxury. As frequent travellers we know what tourists are looking for when visiting Barcelona. At all times the hostel thinks of its guests. We help you to feel part of the family. We believe a journey is special if the composition of elements function, of which one is to feel good in a place where one leaves ones belongings, where one sleep and relax, in where one ultimately stays. Casa Gracia creates the possibility of your visit to become fun, relaxed and special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Casa Gracia Barcelona Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Gracia Hotel Barcelona
Casa Gracia Barcelona Hostel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing