We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Gracia Hostel Barcelona One of the best hostels in Europe!”
Review of Casa Gracia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Gracia
Ranked #26 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I was Rec by my boyfriends bother and friends to stay at Casa Gracia and it did not disappoint!! I stayed in a private room on the 5th floor of casa gracia with my best friend because we wanted a private bathroom it was beautiful, modern, clean, not a big room but we were fine we had two big suitcases and big bags and we managed! Great air con! Close to all the main shops, the staff are friendly and helpfull.we stayed hear before heading to Valencia for la tomatina 2012!!! The casa gracia staff help you with directions to the train station, beach and also areas to be careful of! We were warned of pick pocketers but the 4 of us (all Australian girls 24yrs old) were fine and we felt safe :) will never book a hotel in Barcelona I would just stay at casa gracia good value for money!.. The only down side I could pick was the lift! It's so small and can only fit two people in at a time! Otherwise have fun with the 70 odd steps up to the 5th floor after a bowl of paella and 1 liter of Sangeria :) enjoy!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carmsnickia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstherAmatriain, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casa Gracia, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Dear customer,
We are delighted to hear that you had a nice stay with us at Casa Gracia Barcelona Hostel. We are proud to read comments like yours as our clients satisfaction is our main target.
We hope to welcome you back on future occasions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

592 - 598 of 1,364 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2012

The wifi is awful. It never works, and when it does, it's slow. The people are friendly but the administration is a little unorganized. My room wasn't ready for hours, then I had to check out of another temporary room the next morning. Also, hot water didn't work on the main floor. Unless you don't use wifi and like cold showers, I don't recommend this hostel.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank april_sees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstherAmatriain, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casa Gracia, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Thank you very much for your comments, those are being a great help for us to improve  the quality of our services and facilities.

We regret any inconvenience that our wifi connection have caused you during your stay, we are working hard to solve this problem. Concerning the hot water is a temporary problem which already solved.  In your review we can read some issues that we are taking into a serious consideration to be solved ASAP, yours and other guests dissatisfaction means a lot to us.

Please accept this review as an apology. We hope you will give us another opportunity to accomadate you in the future, if you agree, please contact us directly and let us know the dates of your stay in order to compensate you in some way. Our guests satisfaction is one of our most important values.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Myself and my friend stayed at Casa Gracia for 4 nights at the beginning of August. The hostel itself is a short walk from the nearest metro station and easily accessible from the airport. It's located on Passeig de Gracia which is the equivalent of our Bond Street and was walking distance from Las Ramblas, the main eating/shopping bit. There were designer shops everywhere! We had a private twin room which was clean, the beds were comfortable and the sink was clean. The shared bathroom was next to our room and was cleaned regularly and fully functioning. Reception staff were always extremely helpful and recommended us a very good tapas restaurant which we ended up eating at a lot. The living room is clean, has lots of seats, free internet access and wifi and a massive tv which was showing the Olympics. The hostel runs various nights throughout the week, we went to the mojito night, where mojitos were very reasonably priced at 2euros and quite well made and the paella night where you get a glass of sangria and a massive plate of paella for 8 euros, which was good. There is also a supermarket very close by. All in all, the stay was a very pleasant one and I would definitely recommend it to people wanting to stay in Barcelona on a budget.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonKate_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

That was my second experience with hostels and i had such a good experience.

The place is very clean, people are great and the place has a good vibe.

I also saw some families in there

Fore shure ill indicate this place to other people

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tmiashiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

By hostel standards, this place is good. It has wifi, the free breakfast is ok (cereal, ham, cheese,bread, juice, coffee and tea). However, Our first room which was a triple with private bathroom was very depressive. Its window overlooked the pipes and the hot water ran out after 10 minutes. Our second room which was a triple with a shared bathroom was better in terms of lighting. It overlooked the main street. Also, the shared bathroom was clean whenever I used it.

I liked the location because it was away from the crazy tourists in la rambla but you could go there whenever you wished since it was 2 metro stops away or 20-25 minutes waking.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
Thank basmaberti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

WOW! I recently went on a month long trip around Europe and Casa Gracia was most certainly the best hostel that we stayed in, in Europe!!

There were three of us girls travelling, so we had a private three bed room, looking over the main street with a large ceiling to floor window! The room was huge, with a bunk and single bed, along with a small table, and a sink. You did have to go outside to use the bathrooms for showering etc... but that was fine by us! The bathrooms were large and clean, well decorated too so we didnt feel as if we were at a hostel or even sharing with anyone else! You just have to make sure you claim a bathroom for a shower when you want one, as there aren't too many to be shared...wasn't sure about the other levels though!

The atmosphere at this place was amazing! The best reception staff you could ask for, 24 hours guarding the place (not that it needed guarding!), safe that stored all of our passports and valubles, and they let us know really awesome information! The "activity" staff were also so sweet and really fun!! always organising fun night events and making sure we had a drink in hand! They took us out to a Salsa club one night, and we all had the best time! It was however a bit weird and annoying being kicked off the outside terrace at 11pm, when we were still drinking and relaxing before a night out. That was far from our troubles though! The people staying there were lovely, lots of people to meet! There were a couple of families staying there at the time, and was slightly a downer to the party mood we would sometimes be in but cant do much about that!

The whole place was beautiful and modern. Tastefully decorated!! The terrace and breakfast/common rooms were so lovely, with white wooden tables, mosaic, etc.. very clean and well kept! we felt very comfortable and almost as if we lived there! There was a large kitchen for anyone's use, with two large fridges for storing our food! Breakfast was slightly common, but it was free so there is no need to complain!! If you like, there are supermarkets just a 2 minute walk from the hostel! The metro line is another 2 minute walk, and the metro is really easy to navigate and get around! Buy a T-10 pass, its cheaper and you definitely wont use it all! (well...depending on what you do and how much time you spend in Barcelona!). The location is amazing, because its slightly up town a little and it makes a world of difference! A lot quieter in terms of traffic, and still close to everything you need!!

Casa Gracia was the best 4 night stay ever! Wish I was back there now, sitting outside on the warm summer afternoon on the terrace!! You wont regret staying here!!

Room Tip: Private Triple Room! The best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wardsc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casa gracia b, Director Comercial at Casa Gracia, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Dear friend,
Thank you for having chosen Casa Gracia Barcelona Hostel for your visit to Barcelona.
Your feed-back is highly appreciated and encourages us to continue improving our service so our customers fell like at home....this is our target!
Looking forward to welcoming you at Casa Gracia on your next visit to Barcelona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Amazing place, very unique. Staff very helpfull located 20' walk to plaza Cataluna hearth of Las Ramblas y Mercado Central
The food very affordable "Paella Night" for 8 euros drink included
I will visit again in my next trip to Barcelona,
"

Room Tip: No swimming pool or fitness center enough exercise walking the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcello F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Hesperia Sant Joan
#211 of 516 in Barcelona
923 reviews
Ibis Barcelona Meridiana
#220 of 516 in Barcelona
1,188 reviews
Gracia
Generator Hostel Barcelona
Generator Hostel Barcelona
#22 of 736 in Barcelona
1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden House Hostel Barcelona
#122 of 308 in Barcelona
108 reviews
Urbany Barcelona Hostel
#67 of 736 in Barcelona
1,181 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Martinval
Hostal Martinval
#22 of 308 in Barcelona
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Gracia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Gracia

Address: Passeig de Gracia 116, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Gracia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range: $36 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Gracia 2*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We help you live, breathe, eat and sleep like a local while you discover Barcelona and the Barri de Gràcia, its culture, events and people. We're your home for a few days, we're Casa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Gracia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Gracia Hotel Barcelona
Casa Gracia Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing