We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa Gracia Barcelona Hostel
Ranked #30 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Nice hostel set in a beautiful building in a great part of town. Really close to La Pedrera and Casa Battló, also good metro and bus connections. Rooms are nicely decorated, but the ones facing the street a little noisy during the night. Good breakfast spread, very kind nice staff.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back (not dorm rooms) are quieter.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fmreina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,325)
There are newer reviews for Casa Gracia Barcelona Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

597 - 603 of 1,325 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights in May with my husband. We had a private room on the 4th floor. I was surprised the hostel had an ancient elevator and they provided breakfast. The room was very clean and comfy, the staff was excellent. We occasionally were bothered by the noise from other loud groups in the halls or rooms nearby. One night a janitor was cleaning the floors infront of our room with what smelled like paint thinner, this was very unpleasing and we had to complain, but it was our only complaint. Love it and recommend for all who seek, fun and luxury in the heart of Barcelona.

Room Tip: higher floors got hotter, however less noise and located further from common areas where people are...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spottedgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

I stayed here for 7 nights in April. I was really excited to be staying at Casa Gracia because of all the great reviews and photo's. I must admit, I was a little disappointed.
The room i was in was big enough, it had 6 beds, but the top bunks are ReALLy high! It wouldn't be a problem if there was some kind of rail, so if you have a problem with heights or move around a lot in your sleep, mmaybe choose a bottom bunk. The bathroom was lovely and big and cleaned everyday.
The kitchen was big enough to prepare your own meals if you wanted to, and there was always a hostel paella or cous cous night if you wanted to join in. Breakfast was served between 8am-10.00am, it was big and varied, with cereals, toast, ham, cheese, coffee etc. On my last day, I had to catch a morning flight so had to leave the hostel at 8am. It was 7.50am and I asked if it was possible to make some toast 10 mins earlier than breakfast starting time, but I was told quite rudely that it was not possible.
I think the thing that really disappointed me was that there wasn't any atmosphere in the place. The staff didn't interact with guests and even the guests didn't really talk to each other. The age of the guests was pretty broad, from 18 years old to 80 years old which was fine, but it felt like more of a hotel, where people don't chat to each other.
My boyfriend was staying at another hostel around the block (there was no availability at Casa Gracia) in the Gracia neighbourhood which is a really hip area, with lots of cafes and bars, and i think i preferred that area. We found we would usually hang out at his hostel as it was more like home and people would chat to one another and we could watch a movie if we wanted to.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pipilaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

This place is amazing. You really can't believe you're staying in a hostel. The shared areas are fantastic, there's a great terrace. It's the best place to meet people because they have designed ti so well. The rooms are clean and spotless and there's loads of shared showers. I cannot recommend this place highly enough. And the breakfast is the best I've had at any hostel in Europe, and it's free! You will not believe how good this place is, and on top of that it's in the best location.

Room Tip: Take a shared room, they're massive! No need for a smaller room here.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Hotel in a quiet but very handy section of Barcelona. Up some spiral stairs but with a cute lift to assist with bags. We had a private double room with ensuite that was comfortable and neat - room to swing only a small cat! But I do like a window and this only had window into air shaft with gurgling pipes. We managed a jostling but fun breakfast.

Room Tip: See if you can get window to outside!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tav_mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Everything was fantastic - common room areas were great, our room was brilliant for the price, huge bathroom. Good breakfast. Couldn't have asked for more from a hostel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdg90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I stayed with 2 girlfriends in a private room for 4 nights in March. The hostel is located in an architecture-wise stunning area, a modernist outdoor gallery. Walking distance to many of Gaudi's sights. 20 min to the old town, direct train to the airport, close to metro station.
Staff friendly, everybody speaks Spanish, English, + some other languages, always have time and a smile for you, + really trustworthy recommendations! So much better than googling stuff for ages.
Info on website is precise and realistic.Map provided. A lot of activities organised too, free pubcrawls, dinners etc., recommended. I travelled with friends, but it's a place where you'd feel at ease if solo.
Everything is spotlessly clean(!!!), free internet usage,kitchen, laptops provided. Good breakfast! .
Beautiful interior and patio, attention to detail. Great value, but don't forget it's not a hotel - bunkbeds even in private rooms and queues to the bathrooms (especially 07:30 - 08:30 am).
One of the best hostels I've seen in Europe and great value. Would come back on my own/with friends/boyfriend. Just agree between you whether there's anybody happy to sleep on upper bed and take an extra 20min for bathroom waiting time if you're trying to catch a plane in the morning.
Don't forget to try tapas in of of the recommeded local bars, unforgettable!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eateria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#100 of 513 in Barcelona
3,825 reviews
Hesperia Sant Joan
#213 of 513 in Barcelona
908 reviews
NH Barcelona La Maquinista
#178 of 513 in Barcelona
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Via Augusta
#187 of 513 in Barcelona
913 reviews
Gracia
Generator Hostel Barcelona
Generator Hostel Barcelona
#26 of 732 in Barcelona
1,540 reviews
Garden House Hostel Barcelona
#117 of 308 in Barcelona
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Gracia Barcelona Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Gracia Barcelona Hostel

Address: Passeig de Gracia 116, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Gracia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range: $46 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Gracia Barcelona Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel Casa Gracia is situated in the most emblematic zone of Barcelona. It’s a modernist building typical of the city, completely renovated following an elegant and creative design, leaving a wonderful feeling of home. Founded in June 2010 Casa Gracia offers comfort, fun, tranquillity and security in a central place of the city.Who are we?We are innate travellers wishing to create a hostel which reflects art, simplicity, comfort, everyday luxury. As frequent travellers we know what tourists are looking for when visiting Barcelona. At all times the hostel thinks of its guests. We help you to feel part of the family. We believe a journey is special if the composition of elements function, of which one is to feel good in a place where one leaves ones belongings, where one sleep and relax, in where one ultimately stays. Casa Gracia creates the possibility of your visit to become fun, relaxed and special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Gracia Barcelona Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Gracia Hotel Barcelona
Casa Gracia Barcelona Hostel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing