We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in the Rough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barcelona City Apartment
Ranked #599 of 736 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Reviewed June 13, 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
bcncityhotels_com, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelona City Apartment, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 66 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Hope H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
bcncityhotels_com, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelona City Apartment, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

The bathroom had no curtains or other ways to prevent others from peeking inside. That was a pitty. Had very pleasant conversations with Carlos, the cleener and manager.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Petrus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcncityhotels_com, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelona City Apartment, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Hi,

Thanks for dedicate a few minutes to write this opinion about your experience in our accommodation and share it with other users.

We are glad you had pleasant conversations with our staff. They enjoy their work and try to provide always a kind attention!

All the bathrooms of our apartments have doors and all the showers have glass shower enclosure, so we cannot understand what kind of problem you had with the bathroom. Don't doubt to send us an e-mail in order to explain it, as maybe is a problem of misunderstanding.

We wish welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

Elisabeth Gómez
Social Media Manager
Barcelona City Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Carin R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
bcncityhotels_com, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelona City Apartment, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 28, 2011

I recently booked this place with my sister and neice The pictures on the website are very deceiving. There are no windows and the sleeping area is in the basement, There is a so called patio that really isn't outside, but that the other apartments also have. People are smoking and talking all night. The air conditioner made a loud noise every 20 minutes just to make sure you didn't sleep. The shower head dribbled cool water . The landlord was nasty and the neighborhood scary. No refunds, and after 2 nights we left and went to a hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mski58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcncityhotels_com, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelona City Apartment, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Hi,

First of all, thanks for sharing your point of view about our apartments. Every travel is a different experience and is good for everybody to know diverse opinions.

The apartments have ventilation as required by law, and all of them have of course windows. We are sorry if you though it was not enough. The “patio” is also another source of ventilation -in spite of you said- and it has plants and more than 12 square meters in a building of three floors.

We ask guests to be quiet at night, but we can not control it. Same thing that can happen with neighbors in your home. You have a 24 hours phone number to call if there is really some problem and a person will arrive to resolve it in less than 15 minutes.

We imagine that wrong expectations caused you to see it all wrong. Why you didn't asked to change of apartment if it was really the problem? I'm sure we offered it if you expressed your inconveniences, as we strive to make every stay a nice experience, but it seems you were looking for another kind of accommodation (a hotel and not an apartment?).

Our apartaments are located in a passage of 20 metres with many residential and comercial buildings in the most innovative area of Barcelona, the 22@, an old industrial area that since 20 years is being reconverted in the knowledgement quarter of the city. So we think, sincerelly, that it cannot be a scary area a place that is one or two blocks away from a university, the National Theatre, the Auditorium, the Agbar tower (where a luxury hotel will be opened soon), the Design Hub Museum and, that is important, the police station of the quarter, that has its emergency exit just ten meters away. You really think it is unsafe or scary to sleep there?

Finally, each booking has a refund policy, as I checked you made a non-refundable booking, that gives you a big discount, but with strict payment and refund conditions. I repeat, we could change you of apartment to make your staying more confortable, but it seems it was not the problem.

We are really sorry you did not enjoy our apartments, that you could see clearly described, with clear pics and clear maps in the place where you made your booking. We really regret to not have met your expectations.

Best regards,

Elisabeth Gómez
Social Media Manager
Barcelona City Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

It is my fault, that I have not read a review on this "apartments" on tripadvisor. Usually reviews do not lie!
We had to book these apartments on short notice, because there was an exhibition in BCN, so the choice of hotels was rather limited. I have booked directly on website with "special rate of 90EUR/2 pers/day.
1. When we arrived, the "service-man" told that the apartment we have booked is occupied and offered the one for 8 people with bedroom underground! When I told that I need a room with window at least, he pointed at so called "patio" - actually a piece of land, which you can reach through window in kitchen, faces 2 high walls on both sides, and if you look straight above - you will see sky.Next day we were moved to another room, which they advertise on pictures.
2. When we told, that due to dramatic difference we saw on pictures and in reality we would like to stay in apartment only for 1 night instead of 3 - we were refused to receive refund. Managers were doing ping-pong of responsibilities and finally one morning we have met an arrogant, rude man asking "hey, what’s the problem? you have claimed to my colleagues, that you do not see a window in your room", although it was not the only one problem we faced.
3. Lack of hot water. The boiler tank is only for 40l and temperature 50 degrees, so it is not enough even for very quick shower for 2 people.
4. Definitely not a safe area to walk in the evening, especially for women. A living community of immigrants who work on construction sites is near by. They live with families in trailers outside and go for clubbing in bar, which is close to apartments.
I would never recommend to stay in these apartments, even though the only thing that was good - relatively clean bathroom and bedroom. If you need to stay for any reasons in this area of Barcelona, I would rather choose a world-known branch of hotels(Novotel), which is closer to metro Glories, and for the same price you will get a clean double-room. Unfortunately it was not listed on booking sites, but when I contacted them directly they had available rooms. It is not advertisement, just a tip how to find alternative accommodation.

Room Tip: room on 2nd floor facing street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaniYani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcncityhotels_com, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelona City Apartment, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Hi,

First of all, thanks for sharing your opinion with other users. It is important to read reviews of other guests before book your lodging, as you said, as they are useful to get an idea of what can be expected of our accommodation when a realistic opinion is read.

When you book an apartment with us you are not booking an specific apartment, you are booking an apartment for 1, 2, 3 or 4 people. We have not apartments for 8 people, as you explain in your opinion. All our apartments enjoy windows and all of them appear in the pics in any website (there are pics of all of them).

As you didn't like the first apartment and our staff tries always to bring you the best experience, you were moved to another apartment the day after (when it was possible), not because it was the apartment you booked, it was because you were complaining about the first one and you preferred to move.

All our apartments enjoy windows, as anybody can see in the pics or coming to check them.

If you have made a non-refundable booking and you are making complaints with no sense booking conditions apply. You are free when you book to choose which kind of booking you make (standard, non.refundable…).

We disagree about the unsafe area you talking about. We are 20 meters away the police station of this area. You were sleeping blocks away from the National Theatre, the Agbar tower, a shopping center, the Design Museum, the National Music Auditorium and Glories square, one of the main transport hubs in Barcelona. It's true that this area was an industrial zone that is being reconverted, so it can be misunderstanding, but as you have been there you know that perfectly.

We are sorry if you had problems with hot water too. The capacity of the tank is enough for 2 people and our guests do not usually have problems with the shower, as anybody takes showers of 50ºC.

We are sorry you did not enjoy our apartments. It seems you were looking for an accommodation in another area or of another kind.

Best regards,

Elisabeth Gómez
Social Media Manager
Barcelona City Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2010

Our recent 6 day stay at his three star facility (as publicized by a major travel site) was a disaster. Firstly, these are not "apartments" but small rooms. Ours was about 450 sf barely large enough for two adults...and if you are tall (I am 6 foot 4) you will not fit in the bed or the tiny shower. The rooms are furnished with cheap children's furniture, and your will get no cleaning during your stay. Secondly, the building is located in a bad section...south of the Plz Glories begins a dark and dirty industrial section of Barcelona. The intersection of Tangers and Ali Bei is dark, dirty, marked by vacant lots and graffitti. See my pictures. Ali Bei where the building is located ( 7 Ali Bei ) is not even a street, but a narrow, dark, dead end alley way !!! Thirdly, the building has poor security. The front door does not lock during day light hours and shockingly there is a sign for the guests NOT to lock it themsleves. Thus the building entry is unsecure for most hours. Fourth, the WIFI seldom works and when you can connect you are frequently disconnected by a weak signal. Fifth, dont expect hot water for any length of time. The tank has a 40 Litre capacity. One can get a shower if quick, two maybe like warm and three, you are out of luck. Sixth, onsite management is not there is evening hours and spotty at other times. They tried to grapple with our complaints but senior management was rude, uncooperative and simply arrogant. Your wifi does not work ? There was a disturbance at 3AM yester day ? You must be lying...no one else complained.

Immediately upon seeing the facility I complained and attempted to leave after 2 days with a refund of the remaining days or to have our 3 star rental fee reduced to a more justifiable 1 star rate. No way - managment told us we could leave whenever we wanted with no refund.

Please AVOID this facility at any price !!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dogbone44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcncityhotels_com, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelona City Apartment, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Hi,

Firstly we want to thank you for the time you spent writing this review and uploading pictures of the surroundings of our apartments. It is important for users to draw their own conclusions.

The first thing we want to clarify is any member of our staff NEVER say to a guest he (or she) is lying. What I know is that our staff at our central office told you that if there was really disturbance at 3AM why you didn't call to our 24-hours emergencies phone instead of phone us the day after? For another hand, we could not find any other guest hearing people doing noise during the night and the video surveillance didn't show us any party or something like this. Doing that, we are not telling you "you are lying", we are trying to solve your claim in the best way, as we did with all your claims during your staying.

Secondly, we do not agree about “bad section” of our apartments. Barcelona City Apartment are located next to Glories Square, the National Theatre, the National music Auditorium, the Agbar Tower and the 22@ business district. It is true that the street where the apartments are located is a small street with dead end, but this doesn't mean to be in a “bad section”.

In reference to the security of the building, our apartments have the necessary security for the type of accommodation we offer. There is 24 hours video surveillance system in the hall and all the building floors (as I suppose you could see) and our staff is working there during all the day.

When we advise to not lock the main door of the building, we mean you can close it, it is safe enough, but not lock it, as we are taking care of the safety of our guests, as in case of fire or any other accident they could not leave the building without having a key.

Finally, as you can read in other answers, our company has a defined return policy and this is what we will apply. This is common in most accommodations. You made a non-refundable booking, which implies a big discount, but strict cancellation and payment policies.

We apologize if you did not like our apartments, and just tell you that is a bit strange to find that everything is a disaster but to be able to remain with a cheaper rate…

Kind regards,

Elisabeth Gómez
Social Media Manager
Barcelona City Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Poblenou
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
#196 of 516 in Barcelona
2,016 reviews
Gracia
Generator Hostel Barcelona
Generator Hostel Barcelona
#22 of 736 in Barcelona
1,601 reviews
Garden House Hostel Barcelona
#118 of 308 in Barcelona
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Urbany Barcelona Hostel
#68 of 736 in Barcelona
1,182 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#101 of 516 in Barcelona
3,893 reviews
Barcelona City North
#205 of 308 in Barcelona
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona City Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona City Apartment

Address: Passatge Ali Bei, 7, 08018 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #599 of 736 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range: $50 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelona City Apartment 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Barcelona City Apartment!Barcelona City Apartment are fully equipped apartments in Barcelona that offer you live like Barcelona citizens. The apartments are located next to Plaça Glòries and AGBAR Tower, in the thriving business district of the city, District22. Barcelona City Apartment are perfect for a break or for longer stays, the perfect place to come for holidays or business in Barcelona.¡ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Barcelona City Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona City Apartment Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing