We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel shame about the staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Ohla Barcelona
Ranked #39 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel shame about the staff”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed here for a romantic getaway in August. First impressions of hotel was stunning, very modern clean feel to it. The check in service was quick and very accommodating. Rooms again modern and well set out. Location excellent not rough as a few reviewers have said. My biggest complaint the staff. Ok the breakfast was a joke. A few pastries sitting on the bar with help yourself coffee and a supposedly made to order egg list. We had breakfast twice and were never offered eggs once. Second big complaint was roof terrace service. After a wonder about barca before going to our roomto get ready for dinner we went for a couple of cocktails on the roof terrace ie pool bar. The pool is tiny if that matters to you. The service was shocking wait 15 minutes for someone to take your order, another 15 to make your drinks and walk the 5 feet to serve you then Another wait to payyourbill. So me thinking a tip would go a long way tipped the staff. After my meal in the Michelin starred restaurent that wasn't anything great. We went up to the roof terrace for a couple of cocktails. Same staff, same crap service. All in all loved the hotel, loved barca not to happy with the staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finny82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,067
    369
    105
    23
    20
See reviews for
166
1,010
43
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The hotel is in a great position, set amongst a warren of narrow streets with interesting buildings, shops and restaurants. The hotel building itself is beautiful (although I'm not so sure about the additonal eyeball style things stuck all over the outside).
Inside, Ohla is clean, with the modern feel consistent throughout. The room itself was good, comfortable bed and large desk area. Downsides are the bathroom area (open plan with no door) was decorated with black tiles which made the area very dark. Not a problem in itself, but the only mirror in the room was in the bathroom, so a mirror in the brighter bedroom area would have been good. The usual over-priced mini bar was provided, but no complimentary tea/coffee making facilities, which was a shame.
Overall, we loved the area the hotel was in but probably wouldn't go back to that particular hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WouldLikeToBeThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Rooms were awesome! The shower was right in the center of the room and was a very cool change from a traditional hotel room. The toilet in the hidden room was unusual but really cool as well. Rooms were immaculate and the staff waits on you like no other- helped with luggage, calling taxis, making reservations at any restaurant in Barcelona, translating over the telephone for us when we had to call the airline! Breakfast was very good- they actually had American coffee which I couldn't find anywhere in the city, even at Dunkin donuts. A huge plus. beds were super comfortable. A bottle of champagne awaited us, as we were there for our honeymoon. Pool was really cool and different. Overall- we had a really great experience and recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne_fasanella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Lovely hotel. Great quirky bar with unusual cocktails. The food in the downstairs restaurant was always good too. Nice pool area on the roof and the rooms were bigger than most others we have had in Barcelona. Very trendy!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Over the last 10 years, there has been an increase of upscale boutique hotels in Barcelona and having wanted to stay there for some time, we had been looking at them in detail. The Ohla looked very good and the price also seemed reasonable.

Upon arriving at the hotel, our expectations were immediately exceeded. The hotel is set in a beautiful corner building overlooking a small square and avenue. Decorated in ultra modern tasteful decor (spanish contemporary) and blacks and neutrals, we were very happy.

The room itself overlooked the square at the front of the hotel and even considering we were surrounded by buildings, the detail in the surrounding architecture was fascinating in itself. Furnishings in the room were plush and upscale and the bathroom design was both functional and minimalist modern.

We ate in the hotel's tapas restaurant and we were impressed with the food. Service was sharp and thorough, and we weren't waiting long for our food. The tapas were delicious and very authentic with a few outside influences on the menu.

We also visited the hotel bar on the other side of the hotel. The bar was, to be expected, also modern contemporary in style and was surrounded in glass from top to bottom. We were very relaxed there and enjoyed a few cocktails, which were the speciality of the bar staff there. The bar also attracted a fair amount of passing trade.

One of the main attractions of this hotel was the rooftop pool. Innovatively placed against a wall, the pool was a kind of fish-tank style which allowed for a good sized pool on the roof of this old building. There were lots of sun loungers around the roof in different locations and a bar of course for some mid summer supping and evening relaxation. The way they have managed to get this pool onto the roof is quite amazing.

Location-wise, hotels around there seems to be marked upon proximity to the Rambla. The Ohla was around 10 minutes stroll from there through the windy Barcelona passeigs to the middle of La Rambla. Plenty to see on foot in the area including Barcelona Cathedral and enivirons. The Sagrada Familia around 10 mins by cab, Parc Guell around 15, and the nightlife in Barceloneta less than 10 mins.

We are planning on returning here next year and thoroughly recommend this as it's great value for money.

Room Tip: Facing out the front of the hotel probably has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamo_DJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londra
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

i went to Barcelona to celebrate my wedding anniversary. I chose the Ohla for the location, which in fairness it is probably the most central you can imagine. The experice was quite weird, you go in and on the right there is the concierge desk but no reception. You need to walk up half a floor to find a very trendy receptions which consists of separate office desks. It fells like you are going to book a holiday rather than checking in an hotel. Our room was the deluxe on the 6th floor. Very nice room, the glass shower is really cool, Toilet is hidden away. We had a balcony but it was locked (a shame). apparently no guests have the abiltiy to go on balconies. Room was clean, spacious, and nicely decorated. TV was big. I ordered a bottle of Cava, strawberries and chocolate ... i was expecting to find it in the room but the reception called me after a couple of hours to find out when i wanted it delivered. i actually preferred that. Gym is very small, there is a small sauna and treatment room. The sky bar on the 8th floor is really nice. The space is small but the pool is funky and unusual. Views from there are excellent. One thing to say is that we came here a few times and every time we had to walk up to the bar to order. Waiters were there but were just talking to each other... not expected in a 5 star hotel.
Breakfast is nice, good selection but again, service is very poor. My wife waited over 30 min for an omelette and i waited over 40 min for a hot breakfast at which stage i decided to cancel. The following morning we also had an issue with the coffees ... didn't arrive at all. When i enquired they were there in 30 sec. So we came to the conclusion that the issue was with one single waiter who kept forgetting things and didn't seem to bother. This was the only negative thing i can say about this hotel.

overall judgement is good. Nice building, fenomenal location, nice room with cool shower, small SPA, small gym, nice rooftop bar and pool. Need to improve service. If i went back to Bcn i would probalby try it again to see if they picked up on the reccomandations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yazfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The service was very good, from everybody we came into contact with. The reception staff were wonderful offering friendly advice, and happy to book restaurants we had researched.
The room we had was big, with beautiful smelling quality amenities. Breakfasts were good without too much of the usual rubbish you get at a buffet. Eggs to order and lovely cured specialty meats etc...
The location was good, not too close to Las Ramblas, but well within walking distance.
Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#29 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,835 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#22 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#10 of 514 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 514 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Eixample
Alma Barcelona
Alma Barcelona
#17 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
Eixample
Ohla Eixample
Ohla Eixample
#26 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ohla Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ohla Barcelona

Property: Hotel Ohla Barcelona
Address: Via Laietana 49, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#26 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#35 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#43 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ohla Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ohla Barcelona Hotel is a five-star boutique hotel located in the historical center of the city Barcelona, surrounded by three of the city's most popular sight-seeing and shopping areas: the Gothic Quarter, the Born and the Eixample. Inaugurated in February 2011, its location is perfect for tourism, shopping or business, with a fusion of calm serenity and the bustle of downtown Barcelona. The project has left untouched the building's historical facade from 1920 and other listed elements, including the main staircase, while giving the establishment a cutting-edge, minimalist interior design that combines various textures of black, white and oak wood. The building stands out for the sculpture on the facade by world-renowned artist, Frederic Amat. The hotel has 74 rooms, all equipped with a 40-inch TV screen and satellite channels, free Wi-Fi, telephone, safe box with room for a 17-inch laptop, adjustable lighting, individual thermostat, Egyptian cotton sheets, robe, slippers, kettle and minibar. Its culinary spaces are one of the highlights of the hotel, which locals consider great meeting points: Caelis restaurant, awarded with a Michelin star; La Plassohla, 'tapas' and small plates and Vistro 49, a boutique bar specialized in wines and cocktails. The terrace and the enclosed pool, the only one of its kind in Barcelona, have been called one of the best places to relax and enjoy a spectacular view of the city. Meeting rooms, gym, sauna and massage room, internet corner and parking garage are just some of the other services the department of Public Relations can offer to even further personalize each guest's stay and ensure it is an unforgettable experience. In short, a world of experiences that the whole Ohla Barcelona team offers guests looking for a hotel with charm and personality in the center of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Ohla Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ohla Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing