We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great 40th anniversary stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bagues

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Bagues
Ranked #20 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great 40th anniversary stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

Can't fault the hotel.
Staff so helpful and friendly,everywhere clean ,quiet rooms,comfortable bed,great service throughout.
A suprise 40th wedding anniversary present from the kids , will be back.
Wonderful location

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    178
    44
    15
    9
See reviews for
95
495
29
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

An inspired choice by my partner. We do enough of the big chain hotels to know what they provide - what's harder to find are friendly, efficient, comfortable and funky hotels like this one. Ideally situated right on La Rambla (noise not an issue thanks to the sound proof windows) and very convenient for the Gothic Quarter, Plaza Catalunya, the port area and Montjuic.
Rooms are small but well equipped and comfortable. The decor is modern and a good antidote to the usual dull and lifeless colours found in the big chain hotels. Breakfast in the restaurant is very good (we did not use it for lunch or dinner) and the staff are all friendly and extremely helpful.
The roof top terrace is a great extra feature - especially as drinks and refreshments can be served there - and the sweets just inside the door are a nice touch.
Would definitely stay here again. Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Overall, this is a nice hotel in a great location, convenient to most anything near the Gothic Quarter.
The room was clean, stylish and comfortable, but small (however, this is Europe so I've come to only be surprised if a room is bigger than expected).
Staff was friendly and helpful.
Bathroom was fine but just an FYI - bathroom door is transparent so if you are sharing the room with someone make sure you know them well or don't mind getting to know them better ;-)
Definitely not a room for a business traveler since there is no desk or anywhere that you would be able to work.
Room is reasonably well sound-proofed but you can hear the rumblings from the street - and nighttime sirens seem to be common on the weekend.
WiFi was OK, but the "free" wifi is only a basic connection (email, etc). If you want decent speed you have to pay extra (although the additional cost is reasonable compared to other hotels in Europe)
Great rooftop terrace - nice place for a morning cup of coffee or evening cocktail.
Fitness center is basic and small
Breakfast is great with a lot of food selections - it was included in my room rate so I can't comment on the cost but generally in Europe you'll pay 20-30 Euros if purchased separately.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Z B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Perfect location. Friendly staff. Good restaurant. Beautiful room, just a little bit small. Really close to boqueria. There´s a really good bar near the hotel called lobo bar. Our room had a great view of La Rambla. Itp´s was really a pleasant experience. I would definitely stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maikel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

A good priced boutique hotel in the heart of the Gothic Quarter. Perfect for quickly getting to the city and center of it all. One step outside, you are in action. Take a left and a few steps, you are in the city center, near all the tour buses and near the Gaudi Buildings.

Great view small the rooftop, nice bathrooms and comfortable rooms. The customer service was good, speak english well and had a candy bar just for the fun of it. Great for this sugarholic.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
102 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

The location is fantastic giving easy access to the many and varied attractions of this delightful city. Balancing the average cost of a deluxe room over four nights (£216 per night) I was slightly disappointed.
It is a stylish hotel but first impressions of a small, uninspiring reception area are not good and the only other public rooms were the appealing roof top terrace and the dark basement corridor where the public computer is situated.
Staff, generally, were very friendly and helpful - if asked - but not innovative.
Our room had two small balconies and was well sound proofed allowing no noise to penetrate from the pulsating beat on Las Ramblas. The hotel is well maintained and very clean, our room was spotless and the bathroom contemporary in design, just lacking a soap dish in the shower/bath area and more space to hang towels.
Breakfast was excessively expensive so every morning we walked 200 meters to the wonderfully authentic Viena Cafe which turned breakfast into one of the highlights of our time in Barcelona.
We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Bagues but, all-round, don't feel we really had a five star experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manorom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

I stayed at this hotel in March of 2014. Outstanding Hotel - the entire service team was excellent, dining lounge food was very good! Location right on La Rambla was perfect and the rooms are very soundproof so the late night activity on the street did not bother me at all. The morning breakfast we very good and substantial. My room was a perfect size with all the needed amenities. The stand out for me was the level of attention and services. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I stayed on a higher floor, I like it for the view of La Rambla. I'd recommend a street facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,259 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#7 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#9 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#6 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bagues? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bagues

Property: Hotel Bagues
Address: La Rambla, 105, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > La Rambla
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#29 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#33 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#111 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bagues 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a 5-star hotel located on Barcelona's famous Les Rambles, in the heart of the city's Gothic Quarter.Right in the middle of Barcelona's largest cultural and shopping areas, close to the Museum of Contemporary Art (MACBA), the Gran Teatre del Liceu opera house, the Cathedral and the emblematic Boqueria market-museum occupies the building that was the historic palace of El Regulador. It also houses the Masriera museum and function room, a permanent showcase for pieces by this most international Art Nouveau jeweller: Masriera.The hotel has 31 luxury rooms, most with views of Les Rambles or the famous Carme Street, each displaying an exclusive piece of Masriera jewellery.Don't miss the opportunity to stay at Barcelona's new jewel!Services31 guest rooms: 3 single rooms, 21 Superior (14 double and 7 twin), 4 Deluxe and 3 Jewel SuiteRestaurant - Bistrot El Regulador Cocktail bar El ReguladorTerrace with outdoor swimming pool and solarium with views of Barcelona's Gothic Quarter and Raval districtBreakfast buffet24-hour room service and mini-barBusiness Center Wi-Fi in all areasFunction rooms and spaces for events: poolside terraceswimming poolGym and saunaBagués-Masriera museumLaundry and ironing serviceSafe in receptionParking nearby (a charge applies)Small dogs allowed (except in bars and restaurants) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Derby Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Bagues reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bagues Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing