We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Bagues, Barcelona”
Review of Hotel Bagues

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Bagues
Ranked #27 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our stay in Barcelona and at Hotel Bagues. The daily breakfast (included) was very good and the staff were friendly and very helpfull. The location was perfect with the ability to walk to many of the downtown sights and shopping. The hotel was very clean, modern and safe and the staff were carefull to advise the guests how to stear clear of trouble with pickpockets and other unsavory characters in Barcelona. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for an excellent place to stay.
Doug and Marina, Vancouver Canada

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SirD0uglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Bagues, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to review your Bagues hotel stay.

The reviews are very important to advice to other potencial guests so again thank you.

I would like to offer you the possibility to contact me directly in order to arrange anything you need in your next trip to Barcelona.

Best regards,

Felipe Turell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (893)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

602 - 608 of 893 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

This hotel can best be described in short sentences:

5-star luxury in a relaxed and unpretentious way.

Luxury roof terrace with swimming pool and lounge bar.

New hotel, opened in 2010, so everything is new and "up to date and working".

Young, but very qualified and service-minded staff.

Immediately after check-in, we received a delicious bottle of Rioja, compliments of the hotel.

Rooms with balcony, which means that you can enjoy the atmosphere below on "Las Ramblas".

Perfect location, walking distance from all the lovely sights, as well as the beach.

Nicely furnished hotel, with the latest trends within design and decoration.

Spacious bathroom with bathtub and nice products.

Soft and large bed, consistent linen with hotel logo.

No noise from "Las Ramblas" due to very effective double-glazed windows.

Surprisingly less expensive than the other 5-start hotels in Barcelona.

More quiet and relaxing than for example Hotel 1898 and Hotel OHLA.

The only drawback is that you have to pay for wifi, if you need more than 90 minutes.

Needless to say, I will be staying here again the next time I am going to Barcelone, amazing value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank fublife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Hotel Bagues is on La Rambla right in the middle of the action. Outside reminds you of Bourbon Street in New Orleans, but you can close your balcony door and you don't hear a thing. The staff went out of their way over and over again to make our stay enjoyable. There is an amazing open air market very near that is a must visit. I would recommend Hotel Bagues to all of my friends.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie and Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Bagues, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

The titular review says everything about our hotel and we are really grateful for your appreciation.

The staff works very hard to get the best experience for you and this kind of feedback push the up to follow in the same direction.

Thank you very much and best regards,

Felipe Turell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

The staff can't do enough for you.Great location and very clean. We had window overlooking las rambles and it was great to open and get fresh air. Not to noisy we love being very central and this is it Starbucks next door with free wifi and market 100 meter away for fruit and other foods. Try bar cante for tapas it was beautiful and bar lobo is very good. We enjoyed the roof top for sun lounging as well.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dogsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Bagues, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting such a good review.

Focus in our potencial guests we would like to say that we have a totally independent list with the best restaurants in the city made by us. The list has more than 75 restaurants with several food options and we will arrange any place you want.

I am sure we will improve your Barcelona experience with our recomendations.

Best regards,

Felipe Turell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I would recommend this hotel because its centrally located, safe, modern, clean, quiet and staff were great!

Hotel is centrally located on La Rambla - major tree lined blvd with large pedestrian median in the center. Blvd seems to be busy all day. We arrived on a Sunday about 6:30 a.m. to find some people on the blvd who looked like they had been up all night. So I was a little skeptical but my mind was quickly put to ease. Access to the hotel is monitored, concierge staff were polite and efficient, and use of hotel elevator requires room key card. As noted, La Rambla is busy but our 2nd floor room was surprisingly quiet - I'm a light sleeper and slept soundly during our 2 night stay.

Hotel room was very clean, modern and well laid out making good use of space. Bathroom also modern and roomy with a large walk-in shower.

Hotel is within easy walking distance to large main square (Placa de Catalunya) and near the Gothic Quarter. We declined the hotel breakfast and opted for people watching at Cafe Zurich in the main square. Gothic Quarter provides many dining options and large market (La Boqueria) is also close by (great for fresh fruit - was closed Sunday).

We walked to the Picasso museum and Gaudi sights from the hotel. Parc Guell was a bit of a hike but other Gaudi sites are an easier walk.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slowcyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Bagues, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

Just a few words to say thank you very much for your good review about the Bagues hotel.

As i can read you found what you were expecting so we are happy for it.

We hope to see you again.

Best regards,

Felipe Turell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The hotel is well located in the center of the area, near the large Square where the tour buses are located, near the market and a short walk to the pier and beach. The downside of the hotel was that they regulated the a/c so it got pretty warm during the night and the rooms are very small with no place to place luggage and no drawers to put the folded clothing. They "give" 90 minutes of free internet (must be used at one time) and then charge for any further use; there is a computer in the lower level that you can access to get boarding passes, etc. Since it was our first time in Barcelona I don't know what other hotels are like but it was not as roomy as the Derby hotel Villa Real we stayed at in Madrid....and it was less expensive that Bagues.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkaym43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Bagues, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for review your Bagues stay.

We really apologize for the problem you had with the A/C but we did not notice the problem you were having during your stay. We use to fix problems in case you have them and we are always taking care about our guests to provide the best possible service.

Regarding the Villa Real (even being the same company) we are a totally different hotel, they have 140 rooms and we are a small hotel with 31 rooms in the old quarter of Barcelona so that is why we are not as roomy as they are.

By the way thank you very much for your comments and i hope to see you again.

Best regards,

Felipe Turell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I had a wonderful stay at this hotel in late August of 2012!

Really excellent location and the hotel itself is great. Keep in mind though that this is a small hotel so if you're looking for the myriad of amenities you typically find at resorts --- including a large pool and fitness center, you should steer toward a much larger hotel.

The room was very quiet as the outside-facing rooms all have doubled-up sets of windows spaced about a foot apart.

While there's a Starbucks on the next block, I suggest going over to La Boqueria Mercat which is about a block and half a way to pick up something for a breakfast snack or to the street level of Restaurante La Xina which is a block up and around the corner --- across from Le Meridien. Also next to La Xina is Bar Lobo which is a great spot for tapas!

Room Tip: My room was located on the first level above the main lobby. Outside facing rooms on this level hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agemini15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Bagues, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your opinion about the Bagues hotel.

You have said something important and very helpful for other potential guests, this is a boutique hotel so if you are expecting a huge 5* hotel belonging to a big chain that is not the hotel. We have tried to make a special boutique for people who enjoy small hotels with a very good restaurant and focus in an amazing service.

We are really happy you had a good stay and we are looking forward to welcoming you on your nest visit to Barcelona.

Thank you very much and best regards,

Felipe Turell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#28 of 515 in Barcelona
4,595 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#4 of 515 in Barcelona
907 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux
Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux
#23 of 515 in Barcelona
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
The Wittmore Hotel
The Wittmore Hotel
#7 of 515 in Barcelona
206 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#11 of 515 in Barcelona
514 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#22 of 515 in Barcelona
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bagues? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bagues

Address: La Rambla, 105, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > La Rambla
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#29 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#33 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#111 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $190 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bagues 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a 5-star hotel located on Barcelona's famous Les Rambles, in the heart of the city's Gothic Quarter.Right in the middle of Barcelona's largest cultural and shopping areas, close to the Museum of Contemporary Art (MACBA), the Gran Teatre del Liceu opera house, the Cathedral and the emblematic Boqueria market-museum occupies the building that was the historic palace of El Regulador. It also houses the Masriera museum and function room, a permanent showcase for pieces by this most international Art Nouveau jeweller: Masriera.The hotel has 31 luxury rooms, most with views of Les Rambles or the famous Carme Street, each displaying an exclusive piece of Masriera jewellery.Don't miss the opportunity to stay at Barcelona's new jewel!Services31 guest rooms: 3 single rooms, 21 Superior (14 double and 7 twin), 4 Deluxe and 3 Jewel SuiteRestaurant - Bistrot El Regulador Cocktail bar El ReguladorTerrace with outdoor swimming pool and solarium with views of Barcelona's Gothic Quarter and Raval districtBreakfast buffet24-hour room service and mini-barBusiness Center Wi-Fi in all areasFunction rooms and spaces for events: poolside terraceswimming poolGym and saunaBagués-Masriera museumLaundry and ironing serviceSafe in receptionParking nearby (a charge applies)Small dogs allowed (except in bars and restaurants) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Derby Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bagues reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bagues Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing