We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Hotel”
Review of Hotel Bagues

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bagues
Ranked #26 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a long weekend when we went to the Spanish GP. All the staff we encountered were very nice, helpful and professional. The hotel itself is quite designer as was the room we stayed in. The room was quite small but most importantly was clean and kept clean during our stay. The location on Rambla so it is easy to walk most places you just have to be careful out at night although I did notice quite few police around. While it was very noisy outside as soon as the window was closed there was barely any noise at all from outside.
Food and wine was also very good
I highly recommend this hotel as they have clearly made a lot of effort to please their guests.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThomasNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felipe T, Director General at Hotel Bagues, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting such a good review about our hotel.

We are always doing efforts to satisfy our clientes and as i can see you have realized what we are doing to get everthing you need.

I would like to offer the possibility to contact me directly in order to arrange whatever you may need in your next visit to Barcelona.

Best regards,

Felipe Turell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (904)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

659 - 665 of 904 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2012

We travelled to Barcelona for a trade conference and took some extra time for sight seeing. We stayed at Hotel Bauges for the first part of our visit to Barcelona. It is located right on the Ramblas, close to La Boquiera Market. We stayed in room 202 which was off to the side of the hotel so there was no issue with noise at all in this room. We had a view of the church next door. So if you want to see the bustle of the Ramblas from your room you should ask for a room overlooking it. If you want something quieter, I suggest this room. We received a free bottle of wine and chocolates as welcome to the hotel. The room was clean and very well appointed. I have no complaints about this hotel. It is in an excellent location on the Ramblas, near metro stations, La Boquiera Market and shopping. The tour buses stop at the square just up the street from the Ramblas which made that tour very convenient for us. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had drinks at the bar. We ordered their specialty gin drinks. They were pricey but very delicious. We did not eat at the hotel. We visited the rooftop pool area but it was too cold to swim yet.
It was well worth it for the price we paid. We moved to another hotel for the weekend because the cost per night almost doubled to over 300 euros a night. But if you can get a room for 180 euros or lower it is really worth it. I would stay there again if I were to return to Barcelona.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room as for one on the side facing the church. We were in room 202.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CKONTHEMOVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felipe T, Director General at Hotel Bagues, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write your review. We do value your comments.

Regarding the rooms overlooking La Rambla they are also very good soundproofed so it will be as quite as the other rooms which are viewing the unique baroque church you can find in Barcelona.

About the rooftop it is already open with the nice weather we are having from last week in Barcelona and it is very nice to have our fantastic Gin&Tonics right there.

Thank you very much again and best regards,

Felipe Turell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

My husband and I went to Barcelona for a long weekend. I was looking for a centrally located hotel with a touch of luxury that provided an oasis in a crazy city. This place was perfect! Right on Rambla in the heart of the city we had the whole of Barcelona at our doorstep. Opening our balcony door to the noisy, chaotic hustle of the Rambla I knew it was a great location, but wondered how well we would sleep. Well let me tell you, I'm about the lightest sleeper on the planet and those windows/doors they have in this place are amazing! Open them and it's crazy loud, shut them and you hear nothing! Stepping into the hotel was truly like stepping into an oasis of calm, clean and serenity. Our room, a deluxe facing the Rambla (#503) was superb. It's a very sleek, modern place with careful attention to detail. Slippers, robes, chocolates, even wine and a nice note left for us on our arrival, great bath products, fabulous shower, elegant decor, lovely aroma throughout, free sweets bar at reception, etc. Perfect for a getaway. This really doesn't have a family feel, but more of an adult sort of feel. I travel a lot with my family and would not have stayed here with my children. The staff are great, super helpful in everything, great restaurant recommendations. Barcelona is a fascinating city, really enjoyed it, but it's also hectic and less secure feeling than many other European cities. We witnessed several fights along many streets, a couple of arrests and pickpockets (overheard so many sad stories of other travellers) are rampant. I've been to 25+ countries in Europe and Barcelona is definitely up there on a very short list of places with a palpable crime level that means you should take extra precautions (i.e. only carry absolute necessities on your person, keep all valuables and passports, etc. in the hotel safe). Just be extra cautious and smart and you'll enjoy every moment. I love Barcelona and I'd highly recommend it, just be more careful. And most of all if you're looking for a great hotel in the middle of the action that will be your oasis in the city, Bagues is the place!

Room Tip: High floor facing the Rambla
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank roeshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felipe T, Director General at Hotel Bagues, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

Dear Guest,

I am pleased that you have taken time to leave comments about your recent stay at our hotel Bagués.

We are very happy that you found what you were expecting, we are always working to provide you a great stay.

I agree Barcelona is an amazing city with some pickpockets but there is nothing else you have to be worried about. Always take care of your personal belongings and I can assure you will enjoy Barcelona.

I hope to see you again.

Best regards,

Felipe Turell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We stayed here for five nights and were not disappointed. The rooms are great, very clean and modern and quite big especially based on most city standards. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and nothing was too much effort. It is based right on La Rambla and is central to most of the places that you would want to visit in the city. Despite being on a very business main street we had no issues with the noise. We ate in the restaurant and had the gourmet menu and it was fantastic, super value for money and the food was pretty damn good. The breakfast was very good with ample choice of buffet and a cooked to order breakfast of your choice.

Room Tip: Having only stayed in one room which was on the side street facing the church we had nothing to comp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank POTFOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felipe T, Director General at Hotel Bagues, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the good review posted in this webpage.

We are always trying to provide the highest standard service to achieve our target which is give to our guests what they are expecting.

Also i would like to say thank you for your comments about our restaurant, it is getting a good reputation in all the area and this feedback helps to keep the hard work up.

Best regards,

Felipe Turell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

We went on a girlie weekend to celebrate my friends 50th birthday, so choosing a hotel that was central and safe was important. We weren't disappointed! It is in the heart of the Rambles, it's a beautiful hotel, our room had a great view, the staff were very helpful and friendly. If there was any down side it was the bathroom door is glass and so there isn't much privacy, although we did manage to improvise using the throw from the bed!! We didn't eat in the hotel as there are so many lovely restaurants all around and a fabulous market that sell fresh fruit and smoothies for breakfast!
All in all, a lovely hotel and an amazing city. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lwoolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felipe T, Director General at Hotel Bagues, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you very much for your feedback.

This is a very good and positive review showing how was your stay with us and we are really grateful for the time you have taken to write your experience.

We are rated as one of the best hotels in Barcelona after 18 months and this opinion is helping us to keep the motivation and the hard work we have been doing since we opened the hotel.

Regarding the breakfast you are right there are lots of places near the hotel where you can have a good breakfast but not many of them providing a good service and our high quality raw material but even with that you could find it. What is a bit more difficult is get a good restaurant in this area and that is why we have made a very good place where you can get the best fresh food brought streight daily from "la Boqueria".

Do not hesitate to contact me next time to take personally care of your stay.

Best regards,

Felipe Turell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

The hotel is in a great location , but most of all the staff are Excellent and very helpful , will be returning soon !!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felipe T, Director General at Hotel Bagues, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this good review about our Bagués hotel.

We would be very happy to have you here soon.

Warm regards,

Felipe Turell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

we stayed at the bagues for three nights, having been to barcelona several times i had never actually stayed on La rambla before and i am glad i did, the location is great for exploring barcelona with the only slight down side being a slight audiable exposure to the hustle and bustle, if you want a nice hotel in the best location it is pretty much hard to fault.

Room Tip: do not eat anywhere on rambla
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jam85Wolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felipe T, Director General at Hotel Bagues, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time posting your experience in the Bagues hotel.

As you say if you want to explore Barcelona that is the best place to start, every interesting place is walking distance from the hotel.

I agree your advice regarding the restaurants in la rambla, there are not places where taste a good food.

The reception from our hotel have very good tips about best the restaurants in the area but we have been working very hard to have a good restaurant in our hotel so it would be great if you try it in your next visit to Barcelona.

Thank you very much and hope to see you again.

Best regards,

Felipe Turell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#27 of 515 in Barcelona
4,647 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#22 of 515 in Barcelona
2,151 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
The Wittmore Hotel
The Wittmore Hotel
#7 of 515 in Barcelona
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Ohla Barcelona
Hotel Ohla Barcelona
#46 of 515 in Barcelona
1,698 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#6 of 515 in Barcelona
924 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#63 of 515 in Barcelona
1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bagues? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bagues

Address: La Rambla, 105, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > La Rambla
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#29 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#33 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#111 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $178 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bagues 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a 5-star hotel located on Barcelona's famous Les Rambles, in the heart of the city's Gothic Quarter.Right in the middle of Barcelona's largest cultural and shopping areas, close to the Museum of Contemporary Art (MACBA), the Gran Teatre del Liceu opera house, the Cathedral and the emblematic Boqueria market-museum occupies the building that was the historic palace of El Regulador. It also houses the Masriera museum and function room, a permanent showcase for pieces by this most international Art Nouveau jeweller: Masriera.The hotel has 31 luxury rooms, most with views of Les Rambles or the famous Carme Street, each displaying an exclusive piece of Masriera jewellery.Don't miss the opportunity to stay at Barcelona's new jewel!Services31 guest rooms: 3 single rooms, 21 Superior (14 double and 7 twin), 4 Deluxe and 3 Jewel SuiteRestaurant - Bistrot El Regulador Cocktail bar El ReguladorTerrace with outdoor swimming pool and solarium with views of Barcelona's Gothic Quarter and Raval districtBreakfast buffet24-hour room service and mini-barBusiness Center Wi-Fi in all areasFunction rooms and spaces for events: poolside terraceswimming poolGym and saunaBagués-Masriera museumLaundry and ironing serviceSafe in receptionParking nearby (a charge applies)Small dogs allowed (except in bars and restaurants) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Derby Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bagues reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bagues Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing