We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hostal Boutique Khronos
Ranked #10 of 310 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I stayed here for 3nights in the balcony room. Well maintained and clean room. I am very particular to details as I have stayed in many hotels but this hotel has exceed my expectation. Although staying in the balcony hotel is a bit noisy for my liking because its facing the road but otherwise it's a perfect room especially during summer. It is very conveniently located close to Sagrada Familia and of course the Metro Station. I have walked all around the area and seen lots without using the train ticket much. The receptionist/owner are very friendly and helpful. He recommended me the nearest Tapa's Restaurant and the food and staff are really good. The restaurant downstairs is good too if you don't want to walk far. My experience is good enough to come back to this place. Oh before i forget the contemporary style of the hotel makes it enjoyable to stay in and suits my liking. Thank you Hostal Khronos!

Room Tip: I would not recommend the terrace room facing the road if you want a quiet room to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tino T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (442)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 442 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a 2 night city break in Barcelona staying at the Hostel Khronos.
We stayed in the twin bed room and after never staying in a hostel before was a bit nervous. Well we had nothing to worry about and all the nerves were completely unfounded.

On arrival we had a warm welcome and made completely at ease by the owners. The owners gave good recommendations and advice of where to eat, drink etc and were very helpful and loaned me an adaptor when I discovered that I had only managed to pack my USA travel adaptor instead of my European one.
Decor lovely and very nicely done -still can't believe this is a hostel!

Shown to our room and although it could be called small it was absolutely fine for a two night break. There is a "open" wardrobe with 6 hangers and the bathroom was lovely, it had the most powerful shower i had ever been in and we never had any problems with water temperature.
Hairdryer was provided and was quite powerful. Also had free toiletries ie. Shower gel and shampoo. There was free wifi which worked well.
The only negative part of the room is that the only window does not look out onto any natural light which could be a pain especially in summer. Not sure about the air conditioning (there was a control pad but it didn't seem to work - we didn't bother asking as it was February and didn't need it).
The outside roof terrace was lovely and I can imagine it being a lovely place to sit on a hot summers day/night. I did take a picture but am writing this on the mobile app and there is nowhere to upload pictures for some reason? ?

We used the renfe train from the airport and it was so easy to use. We bought a T-10 ticket at the airport train station for 10.30 euros which you get 10 journeys and you can share them within your group travelling. This lasted us the two days touring (we walked alot!) And we only had to buy a single to head back to the airport which was around 4 euros each.
Nearest train station was only 2 blocks away and was an easy walk.

We were in room 9 and it was quiet - we could hear other residents occasionally in the building but nothing that disturbed us. There was also a water cooler that was very welcome to fill our water bottles to rehydrate.

I would not hesitate to come back and stay at the hostal Khronos and the welocoming and helpful owners.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank bobber73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

The room was cleaned everyday weather it was
needed or not the communal areas were nice with a roof terrace which I'm sure would have been glorious with warmer weather. I visited Barcelona to celebrate my 30th birthday and I brought some cards from home which I displayed. To my amazement the staff had bought me a card and a box of truffles which was unexpected but very loverly. Thanks.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nickhill120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Adam was great , very helpful.His resteraunt sugjestions were right on the money. The room was perfect and breakfast was good. The location worked well for us. W ould stay again next time we are in town.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 710DawnR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Rooms much closer to an actual hotel than a hostal... And a pretty good one at that. They are awesomely furnished, and look clean and well looked after. Bathrooms make great use of limited space.

Cons? Well, noise from the street is a small issue (even though the street is not particularly busy at night) but if you choose to stay in the heart of Barcelona some compromises need to be done. The building the hostal sits is quite old so you have to climb a flight of stairs or take a minuscule lift... And that's pretty much it.

Service? polite and helpful. So far haven't found anything this good at this price level in the area.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank Jotau78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

What a perfect hotel, location etc. for a holiday in Barcelona. Staff were extremely helpful and catered to all our needs. Rooms are clean and comfortable. We are definitely going back and will be staying here again. Will be recommending this to friends who want to visit this cool city!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ria738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We enjoyed our stay in Hostal Khronos very much. Good location in a fine neighbourhood. Staff are nice to talk to and the hotel is clean, modernly decorated which we like. I read some reviews with some complaints about noise from other rooms, but we didn't have any trouble with this. We clearly enjoyed Barcelona very much and will definitely come back and preferably we would come back to this hotel, so to the question if we would recommend this hotel to others: yes.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ertjeoevel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hostal Live Barcelona
Hostal Live Barcelona
#8 of 310 in Barcelona
503 reviews
Eixample
Violeta Boutique
Violeta Boutique
#3 of 310 in Barcelona
494 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Martinval
Hostal Martinval
#21 of 310 in Barcelona
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hostal Centric
Hostal Centric
#15 of 310 in Barcelona
317 reviews
Eixample
BarcelonaBB
BarcelonaBB
#6 of 310 in Barcelona
563 reviews
Eixample
Magatzem 128
Magatzem 128
#13 of 310 in Barcelona
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Boutique Khronos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Boutique Khronos

Address: Calle Mallorca 285. Principal 2da, 08037 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 310 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range: $70 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Boutique Khronos 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khronos Boutique Hostel, a new concept in hotel in Barcelona, economic, charming and located in a neoclassical building in the center of Eixample.Newly opened, a few meters from the elegant Paseo de Gracia, in the heart of Barcelona. From this location you can enjoy walking from the main landmarks of the city, like La Sagrada Familia, Casa Batlló, La Pedrera, Las Ramblas and the Gothic Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hostal Boutique Khronos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Boutique Khronos Hotel Barcelona
Hostal Boutique Khronos Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing