We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel SERHS Rivoli Rambla
Reviews (1,511)
Filter reviews
1,511 results
Traveler rating
543
572
228
113
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
543
572
228
113
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationsuperior roomnoisy at nightfour star hotelstreet noisetour busescatalunya squarethe heart of the cityhotel is locatedroof terracebuffet breakfasthop on hop off buslight sleeperexcellent hotelgothic quarterreception staffvisit barcelona
Filter
Updating list...
581 - 586 of 1,511 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed here in June 2013. Ideally for tourists the hotel is located on La Ramblas the main shopping and tourist street of Barcelona. Also close to the famous farmers market which is a top site for foodies and locals in Barcelona.
Classic building with elegant architecture. Appears to be a hundred year old grand town home or office building.
Our room was modern, clean, spacious and quiet near the back of the hotel (4th floor).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Competitive price for a great location. We booked a balcony room at the Rivoli for a one night stay after disembarking from a 12 day cruise. The Rivoli is located on the La Rambla near the upper end away from the coast. We were a 3 minute walk from "The Barcelona City Tour" bus main stop (bus looks just like the "Big Red Bus" in London and many other European cities) with tickets sold at the Rivoli check-in desk... convenient. Great area for "touristy" shopping. Higher end shopping within a few blocks for those with larger bank rolls.

The Rivoli has a confusing room layout (would be a challenge for anyone with a handicap). Lots of steps and turns in rather dimly lit hallways. We had a balcony room overlooking the La Rambla. Initial concerns over street noise and lights were belayed when we discovered an electrically operated metal shade that covered the entire opening to the balcony. My pet peeve is to be charged "ANYTHING" to use the in-room safe and the Rivoli did not disappoint.....2.50 Euros per day. The bed was extremely uncomfortable as in HARD. That said, all else was just fine.

The staff was helpful and actually was able to get us to our rooms a couple of hours before their official check-in time. Rivoli has a bar and restaurant but we used neither preferring the local spots along the La Rambla.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CEEMME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Hotel was positioned in a great location. - due to the location the room was a little noisy..
My first room was horrible, i had to stay in it for one night and the next day was given another room with a balcony wow what a difference. Apparently they upgraded me (nice not to be charged) but if i had not got the upgrade i would of changed hotels. So if booking a room do not book a standard room VERY ORDINARY. This is really a 3 star hotel, staff where ok, not to helpful except for the door man at night...
We did not have breakfast included - as there where so many places to eat around the hotel at a fraction of the cost..
DONT let the hotel book you a taxi we incurred a 12 euro booking fee, when you could just catch one out side,

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I really don't like doing a negative review, but this hotel could do with a good staff shake up (except the doorman). It would appear that the staff only do the basic minimum of what they have to do. I found it amazing the complaints from guests in elevators ie asking me "what do you think of this hotel" then they would vent their problem and also whilst waiting in line at reception to ask a question etc guests would be disgruntled in their attitude about the lack of service from the staff. Yes, they answered questions but it was curt and dismissive like it was too much trouble. This was throughout our 3 day stay. The hotel was OK and no complaints it was not pretending to be 5 star and you have to make allowances, but good staff attitudes would have made it a lovely stay in the beautiful city of Barcelona. The position was exceptional, but even with that plus I would never stay their again, we did not feel welcome.

Sure they charge for the safe key, but this didn't bother us at all, it was only a small charge 2 Euros I think, so why did they even bother to make the charge! We found it unusual and petty.

Rozzie

Room Tip: chose a hotel where you can find better service
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 263rozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The great location of the Serhs in my mind more than makes up for the rooms that are a little bit tired, and the staff who were perhaps not as attentive as other places. Why would you eat breakfast at the hotel when you are minutes walk away from the Boqueria market and across the Rambla from Carrefour? Head to the Kiosko Universal at the Boqueria for a breakfast that you will never forget. How could the day ahead be anything but great when it starts at the Boqueria. the Serhs is bang for your buck!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Branko55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews