We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in Barcelona”
Review of Colon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Colon Hotel
Ranked #78 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Nyack, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best in Barcelona”
Reviewed February 1, 2011

Beautiful, quiet hotel tastefully decorated with an incredible staff and management that couldn't do enough, especially Gregory and manager Leticia. Perfect location facing the Cathedral, steps from La Rambla, museums, etc. Luxurious yet warm and informal, with reasonable rates, I cant imagine why anyone would want to stay anywhere else in Barcelona.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colon_Hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2011
Dear guest:

Thanks a bunch for your warm words regarding your recent stay at our property. The bottom line for all our efforts is our guests' satisfaction. We are delighted to see that our team succeeded in making your stay in Barcelona a memorable one.

We very much look forward to having you with us again in the very near future.

Respectfully,
Hotel Colón, Barcelona (Spain)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    923
    728
    163
    57
    30
See reviews for
426
816
149
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2011

I thought I had booked the Regencia Colon Hotel (and been checking TA for reviews etc), only to find on arrival my booking was with Hotel Colon – this was a pleasant surprise as Hotel Colon is the bigger of the sister hotels that are only 50 or so meters apart!!
The location of the hotel was superb. Right on the edge of a square overlooking the Cathedral, and an easy walk to La Rambla which is full of restaurants and shops. We ate breakfast at the hotel on one occasion, but found it quite expensive, so opted for the little patisserie across the square to pick up our breakfast. The front desk staff were very helpful, on our first night having arrived at 11pm (just after room service finished), we went down to ask if anywhere would still be open to get something to eat – one of the gentlemen at the desk (sorry I can’t remember his name) recommended a place, and even walked us out to Via Laietana to point to the restaurant/bar which was across the road. We found this a very friendly, welcoming gesture. Our room was very large and clean, and even with windows overlooking the Cathedral, we hardly heard any noise of a night time. The only slight disappointment was that our room had 2 single beds joined together, but due to our short stay we didn’t bother making a fuss about it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LD2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colon_Hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2011
Dear guest:

Thank you very much indeed for your stay at the Hotel Colón last month. Right smack in the middle of Barcelona, the Hotel Colón is rubbing shoulders with the city's principal historic, cultural and tourist landmarks.

Guests are the lifeblood of our hotel; we at the Hotel Colón spare no effort to make our guests' stays unforgettable experiences.

Best regards to Down Under,
Hotel Colón, Barcelona (Spain)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2011

Excellent central hotel. Right across from the cathedral so there is no way you could get lost, just head for the cathedral. Also in a pedestrian only area, which is a real plus.

Room was very spacious and clean. Was really surprised when we got a balcony looking over to cathedral as I thought this would have been extra.

Staff were absolutely wonderful, nothing was a problem. We had a problem with our luggage, British Airways lost it and kept fobbing us off. In order for us to enjoy our holiday and not waste any time, one of the gentlemen on the front desk (sorry can't remember his name) took all our flight information and was phoning the airline for us whilst we were out. Staff were also really informative, giving out plenty of information about the city.

So all in all this hotel is absolutely wonderful. Really high class and reminds me of an old glamorous hotel from the 20s. Loved it and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else. Thanks for making our stay so great.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobynJacqueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colon_Hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2011
Dear Jacqueline

On behalf of the team at the Hotel Colón, I thank you for your recent stay with us and your words of praise. Nothing motivates us more than satisfied guests.

Our property combines historical context with the highest standards of service. Our employees are indispensable assets to us; we are proud of our team’s innate, customer-minded focus and are delighted to learn that they were able to guarantee you a frictionless stay in our city.

Jacqueline, we truly hope you and your partner will soon stay with us again.

Warmest regards from the Continent,
Hotel Colón, Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2010

The Hotel Colon is of the Old School in the best sense of the phrase. It is luxurious without losing its charm, it is classy without being exclusive. Its location is perfect, the rooms spacious and well-equipped. The reception and hall staff are very good and welcoming. The breakfast is copious; the fresh orange particularly to be commended. Very small suggestion: the breakfast staff could wait until the client is comfortably seated and into their breakfast before asking discretely for their room number.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colon_Hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2010
Dear guest:

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Hotel Colón. We are pleased to see that we are succeeding in transmitting our hotel’s philosophy: Offering timeless elegance in the very heart of Barcelona blended with unobtrusive service.

We are therefore most grateful for your recommendation regarding the service during breakfast. We will pass your valuable input on to our service team and hope you will come back soon to see the implementation of this improvement.

Warmest regards,
Hotel Colón, Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 8, 2010

Overlooks the Catedral, next to Barre Gothic, walking distance to La Rambla street and La Ribera district. Location couldn't be better. Walking distance from Placa Catalunya (hence easy access to tour buses, airport bus etc.) Staff is very friendly, great with kids, very helpful with recommendations. Patio doors seal out any noise. We had a suite which overlooked a side street and also the Catedral. Overall, the hotel helped make our stay in Barcelona very comfortable and enjoyable. One enhancement would help - WiFi access, or at the minimum, a computer/printer in the lobby to check-in to flights.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colon_Hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2010
You made our day, dear guest! Thank you so very much for your warm words. It’s very encouraging indeed to see our guests’ overall satisfaction with their stays at the Hotel Colón.

Needless to say that we will not rest on our laurels but will spare no effort to keep on surpassing our guests’ expectations. We are therefore most thankful to those guests who share with us their suggestions on aspects that need to be improved. We will bring your input as to Internet connectivity and a printer in the lobby to the owners’ attention and hope to provide you this complementary service during your next stay.

Last but not least, allow us to refer you to our fan-page on Facebook which will keep you in the loop on Barcelona in general and the Hotel Colón in particular.

Warmest regards from Europe & see you soon again,
Hotel Colón, Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puylaurens
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2010

If you are visiting Barcelona for business or sightseeing this is just the perfect location. This grand turn of the century hotel has a central lovely lobby and small lobbies to chat with friends or relax and enjoy the setting. Right oposite the cathedral & pedestrian paved area but somehow without irritating noise as this is an elegant part of town.
We had a wonderfully big room, we could have paid more for a view but decided not to as the inner courtyard was quiet and pleasant. Staff were helpful, professional and friendly

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fussytraveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colon_Hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2010
Dear guest:

We thank you for your stay at the Hotel Colón and for your valuable contribution in TripAdvisor. Nothing pleases us more than knowing that we achieve our objective of providing memorable stays for our guests.

The stellar location of our property and the high level of service we provide are the main reasons for the huge number of repeat travellers at the Hotel Colón. We truly hope that also you will want to stay with us again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Hotel Colón, Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
culver city, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2010

This hotel was a very nice place to stay. It's location is ideal for walking to many of the great sites in town and to hop on the hop-on, hop-off daily tour bus, which we took to not only see the city but use it for our way of getting to the sites we wanted to see.

Warning about the hotel's location. It is right on a plaza that has exhibitions all the time. If your room faces the plaza, you'll hear the constant construction of the exhibits all day and into the early evening. Other than that, I would recommend this hotel. The staff was very efficient and helpful, the room was adequate, and the location is great.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattiedog99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colon_Hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2010
Dear guest:

We thank you for your stay at the Hotel Colón and for sharing your impressions of our property with other travellers. We understand from your review that your stay coincided with a major event on the Cathedral Square which is right on our doorstep.

To avoid disappointment next time, kindly specify in your booking request that you do not wish a room overlooking the Cathedral Square; we will do our best to assign you a quiet room at the rear of the building.

Warm regards from Spain,
Hotel Colón
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#33 of 513 in Barcelona
1,313 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
#49 of 513 in Barcelona
1,937 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#69 of 513 in Barcelona
2,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#98 of 513 in Barcelona
3,699 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#22 of 513 in Barcelona
4,405 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 513 in Barcelona
2,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colon Hotel

Property: Colon Hotel
Address: Avenida de la Catedral 7, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#52 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#61 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#84 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#125 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Colón is a classic and traditional 4 stars hotel situated in the heart of Barcelona, right opposite the Gothic Cathedral. It was founded in 1951 and during its 90 plus years of history, it has housed big names such as Hemingway, Tennessee Williams, Jean Paul Sartre, Sofía Loren, Jane Fonda, Francis Ford Coppola, Santiago Calatrava, and Arata Isozaki. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Colon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Colon Barcelona
Barcelona Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing