We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location Hotel”
Review of Colon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Colon Hotel
Ranked #69 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed one night at the Hotel Colon. I can not fault the service, the room and the fantastic view over the square towards the cathedral. My only disappointment was that the room was not ready when we arrived and we would have benefitted from a freshen up after our flight before spending a day sightseeing in Barcelona.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the square
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your stay at the Hotel Colón and your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our amenities and facilities. We are most thankful for constructive reviews for they allow us to enhance our understanding of our guests' needs and wants.

We look forward to accommodating you , so please don´t hesitate in contacting us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,004)
There are newer reviews for Colon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

793 - 799 of 2,004 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

The hotel is in a great location where day to day there is a hub of activity in the Cathedral square. The different routes that we took to explore the city from the hotel were just a short distance in each direction to great shopping and eating areas. The hotel building itself compliments the architecture of the city's superb buildings. Facilities in the hotel were great as were the hotel's staff, who were very friendly and could not do enough to help. The rooms were clean, tidy and spacious with great shower room facilities and the free wifi service was much appreciated. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thanks for staying with us at Hotel Colón. We are pleased to learn that you appreciated our team’s efficient and friendly service and enjoyed your stay in Barcelona. For us it is very important that our guests feel comfortable and happy while with us.

As you remarked in your comment we are strategically located near the Plaza de la Catedral, Plaza Catalunya, and las Ramblas, with numerous restaurants, bars, museums, and clubs within walking distance. And for a change in scenery, our “easy-to-use” public transportation will take you to virtually all other attractions in the city in minutes.

We´ll be looking forward to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This hotel is wonderfully placed, right in front of the Cathedral. It is in the very heart of the Gothic area and therefore it is perfect to explore it on foot. On the negative side, I'd say that they are expensive (i.e. you pay just for the location and the view); the décor is a bit tired especially in the communal areas, the internet connection is often lost and it is very slow. Service is hit and miss, it depends on who you deal with. We had the superior room with terrace and view on the Cathedral; absolutely superb. However, when we got it it was stuffy and hot (indicating that it had not been used for a while, but more importantly that they did not prepare it for us). In my opinion, it is a bit overpriced, unless you care for nothing but the view and the location.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Catello L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear Guest:

We are really happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our team’s efficient and friendly service, as well as our facilities. At Hotel Colón we like to take care of our guests so they can get best possible experience while visiting Barcelona.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers here at TripAdvisor with such kind comment. Please let us know next time you are planning to visit our city, since we´d love the chance to accommodate you, once more.

We look forward to see you again!
Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Hotel is ideally located for any short trip to visit and explore Barcelona in the heart of the old town. It is right in the piazza with the Cathedral, within walking steps to Las Ramblas, and Opera house amongst other things. Just visited the hotel prior to Easter week for three days/three nights. The staff was very friendly and consistently helpful. David and the fellow night staff on those three nights were beyond helpful by suggesting places to eat, routes to take with the buses and trains, providing information to local attractions, and being friendly faces during a trip. Hotel has a restaurant with an outdoor seating area that was perfect for absorbing the culture, especially on Saturday afternoon and Sunday mornings where traditional Catalan music and dancing is performed—a true treat! The only cons were the slower wifi in and around the hotel and the the lack of included breakfast thanks to our booking arrangement (through hotels.com and eventually expedia). Do call the hotel and check before you go just to secure this feature. No fear, there is a wonderful chocolate shop around the corner for breakfast or directly across the way for coffee, breakfast and meals all day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FranciDora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear guest,

Many thanks for your stay at the Hotel Colón and for sharing your impressions and insider tips with fellow travellers on TripAdvisor. Guest reviews are a gift to us for they allow us to check the level of service we wish to deliver against the service perceived by our guests.
Next time you plan to visit our city, please let us know in advance and we´ll be happy to arrange any especial request you might have.

We look forward to accommodating you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We had the opportunity to stay at this lovely hotel during a recent visit to Barcelona. The recommendation was made by our travel agent and we were nothing but pleased. The hotel is perfectly situated on the edge of the pedestrian area in gothic Barcelona. It is literally right across the street from the cathedral which affords amazing views and many opportunities for people watching. The staff has been very friendly and the rooms are clean and fairly good sized. The included breakfast had many choices and was good quality. I really appreciated the free wifi and had no problems with speed.

Overall, this hotel is a gem in old Barcelona and has been a wonderful place to stay while here. We would definitely stay again on our return to this amazing city.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Brett T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear guest,

We´d like to thank you for choosing the Hotel Colón and for taking a few minutes of your time to share you review with your fellow travelers. We are glad to know you have enjoyed your time while with us!
Barcelona is a cosmopolitan city that welcomes over 20 million tourists every year. There´s wide range of places to visit (Montserrat is definitely a must!), things to do, amazing food to eat, unbelievable cavas and wines to enjoy and a long list of leisure and entertainment activities. We are here to make sure your experience is nothing short of wonderful.
We would love to welcome you back next time you are in town.
Please don´t hesitate in contacting us.

Looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Beautiful old hotel in the heart of the Gothic area of Barcelona. Hotel exceeded our expectations with walking distance to all the main tourist sites. Our room overlooked the cathedral and the plaza below which was both beautiful and a hive of local activity. The rooms were clean and attended to each day - our bed was turned down each night with complimentary chocolates on the pillows! Staff where very accommodating with Tom our door man being a wealth of information about the local area. Highly recommended to anyone visiting Barcelona! A very comfortable, clean and convenient place to stay. Could not recommend highly enough, worth paying extra for a view. Absolutely wonderful!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inde T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear guest,

We are happy to learn you have enjoyed your time with us! An especial thanks to you for sharing your experience with fellow travelers here on TripAdvisor. We work hard to deliver the best possible service to each one of guests.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back, please don´t hesitate in contacting the hotel in advance so we can arrange any especial request, and deliver a "but"- free unforgettable experience.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Great location
Friendly stuff
Old hotel
Air condition doesn't function at night time because April is not summer yet.
Wifi is so slow
No checking for outside people that comes into the hotel.
There is constant noise from the outside at night time and in day time from visitor to the church and from streat cleaner there for you can't sleep with open door the noise stops once closong the door but than it becomes hot in the room without air con.

Thank ithakc
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear Guest:

We´d like to thank you for staying at Hotel Colón. Although we are happy to learn that you appreciated our team’s efficient and friendly service, we are sorry to hear that we haven´t met your expectations regarding the wifi .
We´d like you to know that we will be taking care of some of the points you highlighted in your comment and that we would to have the opportunity to show you the improvements next time you are in town.
Please don´t hesitate to contact us in advance for you next trip so we can arrange any special request.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#38 of 513 in Barcelona
1,353 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
#50 of 513 in Barcelona
2,047 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#11 of 513 in Barcelona
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
#46 of 513 in Barcelona
1,846 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#70 of 513 in Barcelona
1,196 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#65 of 513 in Barcelona
2,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colon Hotel

Address: Avenida de la Catedral 7, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#52 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#56 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#84 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#125 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $164 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Colon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Colón is a classic and traditional 4 stars hotel situated in the heart of Barcelona, right opposite the Gothic Cathedral. It was founded in 1951 and during its 90 plus years of history, it has housed big names such as Hemingway, Tennessee Williams, Jean Paul Sartre, Sofía Loren, Jane Fonda, Francis Ford Coppola, Santiago Calatrava, and Arata Isozaki. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Colon Barcelona
Barcelona Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing