We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay!”
Review of Colon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Colon Hotel
Ranked #80 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful stay!”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Colon in Barcelona pre-cruise from October 2 to October 6. It is a fabulous hotel...our room appeared to have been recently renovated; the bed was very comfy, the staff was super nice, the sidewalk café very good...and the view from our room was amazing. The hotel is perfectly located. Our balcony had a view of the "Catedral" across the way and there was always entertainment on the cathedral steps..opera, brass orchestra, dancing, etc. We hope to return to Barcelona for another cruise next Fall and will definitely stay at the Colon.

Room Tip: It's worth paying the extra to have a "room with a view".
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheilaMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thanks for staying with us at Hotel Colón. We are pleased to learn that you appreciated our team’s efficient and friendly service and enjoyed our facilities. For us it is very important that our guests feel comfortable and happy throughout their time at the hotel.
As you described in your comment we are strategically located near the Plaza Catalunya, Plaza Universitat and las Ramblas, with numerous restaurants, bars, museums, and clubs within walking distance.

We would love to have you stay with us again next time you are in town ;-). So please, feel free to contact us anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    923
    728
    163
    57
    30
See reviews for
426
816
149
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tavernier, Florida
Level Contributor
189 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This hotel is located directly across from the Cathedral, fabulous location. Our room had a lovely balcony overlooking the plaza, spotlessly clean and more than adequate. The staff was very helpful and courteous. You are within walking distance of many historical attractions and the hop off and on tour bus which we highly recommend. We left our balcony open at night for fresh air and it was quite, surprising for a city at night. There was a food festival occuring whilst we were there and it was lovely. We shall return

Room Tip: ask for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinnieTavernier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
From the Hotel Colón we want to extend our heartfelt thanks to you for your fourth stay with us this year and for your positive feedback. Taking a moment of your time to share your experience with other travelers is something we highly appreciate.
Our long-time goal has always been to deliver the best possible service to our guests so they can live a wonderful and unforgettable experience while in Barcelona. And reviews like yours let us now we are on the right track.
We would love to see you again next time you are in town.
Looking forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We had a great room with a balcony and a stunning view of the medieval cathedral opposite the hotel. We had been upgraded to this room which was a delightful and unexpected surprise at no additional cost.

The hotel is traditional in style and decor, and very charming. Our room was spacious, clean, quiet, the bed comfy and the bathroom well equipped. It was a real joy to open the balcony doors to such a beautiful view.

We arrived at 9am and were surprised to find our room ready. We had left Madrid very early that morning and really appreciated being able to settle in and freshen up.

We had only 2 days in Barcelona and found the location perfect; not only for the local Barri Gotic area, Las Ramblas and the harbour; but many sites were within walking distance. It's a really terrific location for bars and restaurants, the Picasso museum and so much more. La Sagrada Familia was a little further away, but definately worth a visit. No photograph, no film, nothing prepares you for the absolute wonder and magnificence of this building; no wonder it's called Gaudi's masterpiece; a 'must see' in Barcelona.

We found the staff (from check-in to departure) always professional, helpful and friendly; but some may say a little reserved in nature; but we don't mind that style of service. Certainly, nothing was ever too much trouble for them, and they happily stored our luggage until 9pm on the night of our departure and arranged a taxi to take us to the train station for our sleeper train to Granada.

Barcelona is a truly amazing city and we are planning a return visit and will definately be happy to stay here again.

Danielle

Room Tip: Request a room on an upper floor with a view of the cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Danielle,

We are really happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our team’s efficient and friendly service, as well as our facilities. At Hotel Colón we like to take care of our guests so they can get best possible experience while visiting Barcelona.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers here at Trip Advisor with such a detailed comment. Please let us know next time you are planning to visit our city.

We look forward to see you again!
Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We have just spent 3 days at Hotel colon and have to say how blown away we were with this hotel. The location was amazing we had the junior suite for a family of 4 and there was lots of room and a view to die for. On the 2nd night we arrived to find chocolates on all our pillows and a big fluffy dressing gown for the children. They thought that was the best ever.
We found an amazing coffee shop Box of Chocolates just around the corner from the hotel, great coffee and even better cakes and we'll worth a visit.
Front staff were very helpful and sorted out taxis and tickets for buses which was a great buy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear guest:
From all of us: you are very welcome! It has been our pleasure having you stay with us. And now we are the ones thanking you for choosing us and for taking a minute of your time to write such a kind review and share it with your fellow travelers.
It would be wonderful to welcome you back next time you are visiting our city, so please let us know in advance so we can arrange any especial request.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This hotel is located right in front of the Cathedral, making it a prime location. It seems like any direction we walked led us to great shopping opportunities. Our room was clean -- furnishings seemed a bit dated but we had a nice little balcony. The staff was friendly and helpful, and there's a nice little cafe right outside. I would definitely recommend this hotel and I'll likely stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MXR618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear guest,
We are happy to learn you enjoyed your time staying with us and took advantage of our strategic location to enjoy of the several beautiful and historic touristic spots that Barcelona has to offer.
We would love the opportunity to accommodate you for a second time on your next visit to our city. Please don´t hesitate in contacting us so we can arrange any special request you may have.
Until we meet again, please receive our kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We just returned from 17 days in Spain and Italy with stays in 6 different hotels and the Colon Hotel stood out as my favorite. The staff was the most friendly and accomodating of all of the places we have stayed, and made us feel as if we were the only guests. Their professionalism and obvious sense of pride in what they do and their hotel definitely shows.

The hotel was very nice. We were given a first floor suite with three small balconies that you could go out on. The view of the Catherdral was somewhat blocked by the trees, but it didn't bother us at all. We were happy with our room. If you want a full view, ask for one above the tree line as others have stated. We liked that the bathroom had two sinks. It had a jaccuzi tub and shower. The bathroom was also large compared to all of our other hotels. The bedroom was a good size and had three closets. The bed was very comfortable, and we slept well even though we were on the outside part of the hotel. Outside noise did not bother us at all.

The location was perfect for us as we loved the Barri Gotic area and walked almost everywhere from there. We did take a taxi to La Sagrada Familia, but we walked everywhere else we went with one other exception. We did the Hop Off Hop Off bus tour from right near the hotel. We got our tickets from the hotel. The people at the front desk were extremely helpful with suggestions about things to do.

The continental breakfast at this hotel was also the best of any of the hotels we stayed at, and the staff taking care of us for these meals was also the most friendly. It came with our room price. The food selection was much larger than anywhere else, and it was all good.

I would definitely recommend this hotel. Also, as far as safety is concerned, I felt very safe at and around the hotel as well as everywhere in Barcelona. Barcelona is a wonderful city and everyone we came across was extremely friendly.

Room Tip: Get a Cathedral View with a balcony. If you want to have a full Cathedral view, make sure to ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest:
We are really happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our facilities, as well as our team’s efficient and friendly service. At Hotel Colón we like to take care of our guests so they can get the best possible experience while visiting Barcelona.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other fellow travelers with such a detailed post.
It will be a real pleasure to have you stay back at the hotel next time you visit Barcelona.
We look forward to see you again!
Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The Hotel Colon (Chris Columbus' real name), is a comfortable hotel in a great location - right on the central square in the Barri Gotic of Barcelona. The Barcelona Cathedral is right across the square and each night, the square is full of people, buskers and life. Despite this, the rooms are comfortable and quiet.
We had a room at the back of the hotel - no view worth mentioning, but also no noise from surrounding areas.
Roll down blinds mean the room is dark and aids sleeping in if that's what you want.
The old town - the Barri Gotic - and the Placa de Catalunya are within just a few minutes walk of the hotel.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear guest:
We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our team’s efficient and friendly service. At Hotel Colón we are committed to deliver the best possible experience while visiting Barcelona.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers and please let us know next time you are planning to visit our city.
We look forward to see you again!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#33 of 513 in Barcelona
1,313 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
#48 of 513 in Barcelona
1,936 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#68 of 513 in Barcelona
2,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#98 of 513 in Barcelona
3,699 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#22 of 513 in Barcelona
4,404 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#16 of 513 in Barcelona
2,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colon Hotel

Property: Colon Hotel
Address: Avenida de la Catedral 7, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#52 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#62 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#84 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#125 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Colón is a classic and traditional 4 stars hotel situated in the heart of Barcelona, right opposite the Gothic Cathedral. It was founded in 1951 and during its 90 plus years of history, it has housed big names such as Hemingway, Tennessee Williams, Jean Paul Sartre, Sofía Loren, Jane Fonda, Francis Ford Coppola, Santiago Calatrava, and Arata Isozaki. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Colon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Colon Barcelona
Barcelona Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing