We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient, comfortable, welcoming”
Review of Colon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Colon Hotel
Ranked #82 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Convenient, comfortable, welcoming”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We arrived at the hotel after a flight from Zurich via Munich. The staff were welcoming and made us feel comfortable immediately. Throughout our visit of 4 nights, the staff helped us with restaurant recommendations (all good), cabs, directions, a electric conversion plug and money exchange.
Our room was just the right size, very clean, well-maintained day-to-day, and we had double doors that opened onto a small balcony almost overlooking the Cathedral. The location is perfect if you are working your way through the top sites of Barcelona. We walked to all but a few destinations, and for those we took a cab from a taxi stand nearby.
Our friends recommended this hotel for us, and we would gladly recommend it to other travelers!

Room Tip: The closer you are to the Plaza, the noisier it will be. You trade off a view of the Cathedral for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aglessnerz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
From the Hotel Colón we want to extend our heartfelt thanks to you for your second stay with us and your positive feedback. Taking a moment of your time to share your experience with other travelers is something we highly appreciate.
Beyond doubt, the location of our hotel is just perfect for leisure travelers who wish to easily get to the city's must-see attractions. We are lucky to be surrounded by Barcelona's prime touristic sites. Whether you are well familiarized with the area or you are first-timer, our friendly and attentive staff will be more than happy to give you the latest insiders’ tips of what´s happening in the city.
We are glad to know you had a wonderful time.
We are looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    899
    712
    162
    57
    30
See reviews for
421
798
146
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Such a perfect hotel on a perfect location. I would have preferred a cathedral view room, however as a single traveller I am really satisfied with the single room I have. So big that it could have been a double room. Facilities great. Breakast pretty good as well. They even serve Nespresso!! Totally worth to stay at this hotel. The loction between the 2 main streets is just perfect!

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank demarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear guest:
First of all, we´d like to thank you for having chosen our hotel for the night previous to your cruise. We feel terribly sorry to learn that we fell short to meet your expectations.
Our long-time goal has always been to deliver the best possible service to our guests so they can live a wonderful and unforgettable experience while in Barcelona. Occasionally, especially with over-night flights, we have guests arriving before our regular check-in time. When this happens, we try to accommodate them as soon as possible, as long as our availability allows us.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel has the best location in Barcelona. It has huge rooms with great views. The value for the money is unbeatable. We stayed with a group of 25 in March. While the service at the desk is just average, the price, size and location more than make up for it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wooded01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your kind words and for taking a moment of your time to share your experience with other fellow travelers.
The Colon Hotel location is strategic for leisure travelers, all the main touristic attraction in the down town area are just blocks away, and it takes you a few minutes to go from shopping in Plaza Cataluña, to enjoying a wonderful meal at La Boquería market.
Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We chose a room with cathedral view and it was excellent. Nice easy location in the gothic quarter and it was close to La Rambla.

The hop on hop off bus stops a short distance from the hotel. The buses were crazy busy and it was hard to get on at times even though they were coming every 5 mins.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoelandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest:
First of all we´d like to thank you for you stay at the Hotel Colon. We are really happy to learn that you enjoyed your time with us.
It is true; in a big city like ours location is a key element when it comes to maximizing exciting experiences. We are located right in the mythical Barri Gotic, and just a few walk-minutes from Plaza Cataluña and the Rambla with the well known La Boqueria market.
We hope to see you soon again.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had an all too brief stay in Barcelona before boarding a cruise ship, and spent our one night at the Hotel Colon. The hotel was chosen for us by a travel agent, and we were pleasantly surprised by the amazing location! Since our time was so brief, being able to walk out the door and access the city was a huge plus.

The hotel itself was lovely. The staff was courteous, and able to meet our needs. We had 2 rooms, one for myself, my husband and our 9 year old son, and one for my mother and 12 year old daughter. Both rooms were clean, well maintained, and comfortable- and they were next door to one another.

A huge, unexpected bonus? The whirlpool bathtubs. Total bliss after a day's worth of flying followed by a day's worth of walking around the city!

Free wifi was a plus for me.

We had the breakfast buffet at the hotel twice, and it made all 5 members of our family very happy. Everything was delicious, freshly prepared, and refreshed often.

If (when?) we make it back to Barcelona, I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear guest,
We´d like to say thank you for your stay at our hotel last time you visited Barcelona and for sparing a few minutes of your time to share your experience with fellow travelers here on TripAdvisor.
We are happy to learn you enjoyed the efficient and friendly service provided by our staff and we would love to welcome you back. As you mention in you comment above, we are conveniently located nearby Plaza Cataluña with virtually hundreds of different options in entertainment, dinning, leisure, cultural interest...
Next time you find yourself planning you a trip to Barcelona, please let us know and we will be more than happy to help you find the exact match to your needs.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This hotel is such a gem. Amazing location, easy walk to major attractions, metro right next to it. Rooms are beautiful and staff is very friendly. We had a beautiful view out of our balcony. Lots of room for all four of us to sleep in. We had 2 rooms - bedroom and a room with a sleeping sofa and a cot. We had a corner room so the balconies from the two room were connected. Absolutely loved this hotel and would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DisneyCrazy2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guest:
Glad to hear you enjoyed your time in Barcelona and especially your stay with us at Hotel Colón. We´d like to thank you for choosing us in the city.
This wonderful cosmopolitan town offers different touristic attractions and we are located within walking distance of many hotspots and just a-few-minutes metro or bus ride to the rest of them. Being so close to different venues near Plaza Catalunya, Plaza Universitat and las Ramblas allows our guests to maximize their experience while visiting us.
It will be great to have you again next time you visit this part of the Mediterranean, so please don´t hesitate in contacting us as soon as you find yourself planning your next European escapade!.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This hotel provided us a great option for our family of 4. We had a room with a sitting room which had 2 twin beds. Adequate room for us too. Our bed was basically 2 twins together but not a big deal. Shower was a bit messy with spray , tho. Hotel is right in plaza with cathedral. Parking garage right in front (underground) so extra bonus! Good location is Gothic quarter for shops. Charming hotel.

Room Tip: Request room above 4th for quieter night, back of hotel may help too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
From the Hotel Colón we want to extend our heartfelt thanks to you for your second stay with us and your positive feedback. Taking a moment of your time to share your experience with other travelers is something we highly appreciate.
We would love to see you again next time you are in town.
Looking forward to hearing from you.
Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#96 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,660 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#64 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
#48 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#42 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,346 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#32 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colon Hotel

Property: Colon Hotel
Address: Avenida de la Catedral 7, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#52 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#62 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#84 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#125 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Colón is a classic and traditional 4 stars hotel situated in the heart of Barcelona, right opposite the Gothic Cathedral. It was founded in 1951 and during its 90 plus years of history, it has housed big names such as Hemingway, Tennessee Williams, Jean Paul Sartre, Sofía Loren, Jane Fonda, Francis Ford Coppola, Santiago Calatrava, and Arata Isozaki. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Colon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Colon Barcelona
Barcelona Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing