We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Colon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Colon Hotel
Ranked #79 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
HASTINGS
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful Location”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The location of this hotel could not have been better - central, and lovely to sit outside and watch the activity on the plaza after a day of footing it around the city. Very pleasant and helpful staff and I was particularly impressed on arrival to be given a photocopy on how to look after myself in Barcelona - ie avoiding pickpockets, dark alleys, etc - a really helpful warning.

The room was certainly adequate - the single bed was very comfortable and while the furnishings weren't luxurious, the bathroom was well appointed. All very fresh and clean.

Lovely cafe at street level too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoralieHastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest:

Many thanks for your stay at the Hotel Colón. We are pleased to learn that you appreciated our team’s efficient service and enjoyed your stayed in Barcelona. For us is very important that our guests feel comfortable and happy during their stay in the hotel.

Don't hesitate to return to Hotel Colón if you come again to Barcelona, we will be waiting for you.
Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    880
    705
    162
    55
    29
See reviews for
415
782
145
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marina del Rey, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed in Barcelona for three nights and was very pleased with this location. The room had a balcony over looking cathedral square where there was a lot of music and dance performers into the night..... Not too late.
We found the staff to be very helpful. Breakfast was great. My only complaint was that the bed was two singles pushed together instead of a double or queen as requested. This was very uncomfortable. Make sure you get a taxi quote before venturing out. We paid 22 euros to the hotel from the airport and 39 from. Enjoy

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JoAnCanning2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Marina:

We are really happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our team’s efficient and friendly service, as well as our facilities. At Hotel Colón we like to take care of our guests so they can get best possible experience while visiting Barcelona.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here at Trip Advisor with such kind and detailed comment. We are sure those insiders´ tips will be of great help to fellow travelers!
Please let us know next time you are planning to visit our city, since we´d love the chance to accommodate you once more.
We look forward to see you again!

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The Hotel Colon has a great location and we loved our superior room. It was spacious and very comfortable. There's a great cafe as you turn right out of the front door - great breakfast and good tapas.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay at Hotel Colón during your recent visit to Barcelona. We are happy to learn you enjoyed your time with us.
Next time you plan to visit our city, please let us know in advance and we´ll be happy to arrange any especial request you might have.

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton UK
Level Contributor
247 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Great location for the old part of the city, les rambles etc. hop on hop off bus located just outside. Negatives the rooms a bit overpriced for the quality compared with others. Breakfast good and staff helpful. Free wifi and great outside area for watching the world go by. The beds are very hard.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bully1959Canaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear guest:

Thank you very much for your stay at the Hotel Colón and your explanatory feedback. We are most thankful for constructive reviews for they allow us to enhance our understanding of our guests' needs and wants.
As you remarked in your comment we are strategically located near with numerous restaurants, bars, museums, and clubs within walking distance. And for a change in scenery, our “easy-to-use” public transportation will take you to virtually all other attractions in the city in minutes.

Don't hesitate to return to Hotel Colón if you come again to Barcelona, we will be waiting for you.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
249 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The Hotel Colon is situated perfectly in the Gotic Quarter in Barcelona right across from the Cathedral. (It is a few blocks from La Rambla and a stone's throw away from the Touristic bus that we used over two days. Plus, only a 15 minute walk to the Sea.) We had a room on the 5th floor, overlooking the Cathedral (for an extra 25 Euros a night, but well worth it). The room was comfortable and spacious, but, to me at least, curiously devoid of wall paintings/pictures. The A/C was very good - a pleasant surprise. Despite being above the Square, it was quite quiet, an earlier concern of mine. The Bar/Lounge area is a wonderful place to spend some time after a long day sightseeing: quiet and refreshing. The front desk was efficient and but somewhat 'stiff' - so don't be concerned: it is not you, just their modus operandi.My only minor quibbles are that the Dining Room is quite pricey, and certain of the Breakfast (also somewhat pricey) offerings were not very appetizing. But, the breakfast is served in a nice quiet room downstairs, which was very pleasant. In summary, this is an excellent property and highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest:

Many thanks for your stay at th Hotel Colón. We are pleased to learn that you appreciated our team’s efficient service and enjoyed your stayed in Barcelona. For us is very important that our guests feel comfortable and happy during their stay in the hotel.
It will be great to have you again next time you visit this part of the Mediterranean, so please don´t hesitate in contacting us as soon as you find yourself planning your next escapade!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

One room for four adults, my children are 21 and 17, is hard to find in Europe. I posted a pic of our very roomy 4 bedded room with desk, sitting area and large bath....couldn't ask for more! But we got more-the staff at this hotel is OUTSTANDING - incredibly accommodating and helpful and just happy! I LOVE to be able to walk out the front door of my hotel in a large city and have some entertainment- whether cultural, social, edible or drinkable - within walking distance. Not only are these entertainment venues nearby, but the square between the hotel and cathedral is a venue for many a street entertainer or troubadour group! Surprises await-could not have chosen a better place to call home in this beautiful city!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dishrodheat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
From all of us here at Hotel Colón, we´d like to thank you for choosing us for your stay while in Barcelona. We are most thankful for constructive reviews for they allow us to enhance our understanding of our guests' needs and wants.

All the best from Barcelona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Was all set to ring the praises of the Colon Hotel when I decided to first read what other travellers had to say. Michele E from Pennsylvania described the Colon Hotel most succinctly.
Location, charm, character and cleanliness says it all. One thing she doesn't mention however, is the excellent restaurant which we enjoyed at dinner time. For around 85Euros we had a delicious meal and a good bottle of Spanish Red. The ambience was also perfect. A live pianist quietly entertained us with classical music while we enjoyed a table overlooking the Cathedral. Would highly recommend the restaurant and the hotel.

Room Tip: Opt for a room overlooking the square and the Cathedral. Lots to look at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thanks for staying with us at the Hotel Colón. We are pleased to learn that you appreciated our team’s efficient and friendly service and enjoyed our facilities. For us it is very important that our guests feel comfortable and happy throughout their time at the hotel.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers here at Trip Advisor with such a detailed comment.
We look forward to having you stay with us on your next trip to Barcelona.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#95 of 521 in Barcelona
3,604 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#64 of 521 in Barcelona
1,959 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
#46 of 521 in Barcelona
1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#43 of 521 in Barcelona
4,299 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#38 of 521 in Barcelona
1,258 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#9 of 521 in Barcelona
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colon Hotel

Property: Colon Hotel
Address: Avenida de la Catedral 7, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#52 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#60 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#84 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#125 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Colón is a classic and traditional 4 stars hotel situated in the heart of Barcelona, right opposite the Gothic Cathedral. It was founded in 1951 and during its 90 plus years of history, it has housed big names such as Hemingway, Tennessee Williams, Jean Paul Sartre, Sofía Loren, Jane Fonda, Francis Ford Coppola, Santiago Calatrava, and Arata Isozaki. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Colon Barcelona
Barcelona Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing