We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A room with a view”
Review of Colon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Colon Hotel
Ranked #81 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A room with a view”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed in the junior suite overlooking the cathedral. Beautiful view and a great location within the Gothic Quarter. The staff was very friendly, welcoming, and helpful.
I was somewhat concerned about it being too loud, but it was not. We slept soundly and were not awakened by outside noise.
GREAT location -- walking distance to many sites in the area. HIghly recommend the Hotel Colon!

Room Tip: The junior suite has a pull-out couch, which we wanted for our teenage daughters. It's also a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrepup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear guest:

From all of us here at Hotel Colón, we´d like to thank you for choosing us for your stay while in Barcelona. We are most thankful for constructive reviews for they allow us to enhance our understanding of our guests' needs and wants.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    904
    714
    162
    57
    30
See reviews for
421
800
147
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Great location.
Near Gothic Cathedral, near La Rambla (3 blocks).
Near hop-on/hop-off tourist Red Line bus.
Nice breakfast available to guests, just stay away from the eggs unless you like the taste of
runny, powdered eggs

Lobby renovated and makes a good first impression; however, rooms were neglected and remain old and tired, the result is much like putting whipped cream on a turd. For all intents and purposes the management is flogging a dead horse.

Cleaning staff ineffective; on check-in found globs of black hair in toilet and trash in wastebasket. Left teapots and cups from room service when room was being made up for the next day.

For American tourists, there are no American compatible electrical outlets, you will need an adapter. I asked the front desk for it and they had only one. Imagine, a hundred rooms or so with unsuspecting tourists from America, and they had only one adapter - that's really guest oriented isn't it?

Many of the amenities in the rooms are nonfunctional. Bathroom door lock broken so one cannot exit bathroom without someone outside to open door. Too bad if room is rented by a single occupant, they would need to use the wall-phone in the bathroom to call for help. Hard to believe this wasn't reported by previous occupants - but the management obviously doesn't give a damn.

A/C insufficient or nonfunctional, spent the night sleeping in a pool of sweat. Had to request room change after maintenance person checked the a/c out three times with no positive result.

No shelves in bathroom, incidentals or medications must be kept on bathroom stool or on toilet seat.

In tradition of most of Europe; bathrooms are hopelessly outdated and poorly functioning. Required tremendous effort to divert water from tub to over-head shower.

Ratings above one star by other reviewers patently absurd, must have been submitted by hotel owners and/or their families and friends.

...and then the drilling started. I screamed on the phone to the reception desk that I would not pay for the room unless the drilling stopped!

This "hotel" deserves zero stars. The owners should be arrested for scamming the public into thinking this is a functioning hotel.

Don't stay here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Murray100Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for having chosen the Hotel Colón for your recent stay in Barcelona.
We are sorry to learn that your stay with us did not satisfy all of your expectations. From your comments we understand that the cleanliness of your room did not match our usual standards. We will investigate the reason for these shortcomings to avoid similar complaints in the future. As to the equipment of our rooms, we have taken note of your suggestions and passed them along to our maintenance department.

Again, we deeply regret not having met all your expectations this time but hope you will afford us a second chance to make amends.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Colon Hotel was our favorite hotel during our trip to Spain. The location, across from the Barcelona Cathedral was excellent. The hotel provided easy access to many Barcelona sights. We spent two nights in a Junior Suite with great views of the Cathedral. Our room had a bedroom with a queen sized bed, bathroom, living room where we had two rollaway beds and a couch and three small balconies with great views. This was a perfect room for our family of four. The room seemed recently updated. We felt very safe in this location.

The hotel had excellent service. We enjoyed the breakfast at the hotel, which was expensive but convenient. There are many food options in the area.

Room Tip: The Junior Suite with Cathedral Views is an excellent choice for families. The room is spacious and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RealBetis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your stay at the Hotel Colón and your explanatory feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our amenities and facilities. We are most thankful for constructive reviews for they allow us to enhance our understanding of our guests' needs and wants.

For any leisure traveler interested in visiting Barcelona's many cultural and tourist attractions, our hotel is definitely an excellent choice: Many of Barcelona's hotspots are virtually round the corner and the city's efficient and easy-to-use metro system takes you to sites further away.

We look forward to accommodating you , so please don´t hesitate in contacting us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis, mn
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My two young adult sons and I stayed here in a "triple" (they also have rooms for 4 - so rooms with twin beds are available) and we had a pleasant stay. The hotel is in a fantastic location for walking and sightseeing, cafes, & restaurants. Colon Hotel is a full service hotel with it's own restaurant/bar and a very helpful front desk. Our room wasn't fancy but it was very clean and spacious. We always felt safe and welcomed and the place has an old-world charm. Bathrooms come with many toiletries and a hair dryer, plus robes and slippers. I'd stay here again - the price was right for what is delivered!

Room Tip: The balcony rooms have better views but are more expensive. We stayed in a room overlooking a side s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pumpkin6543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your stay at the Hotel Colón and your explanatory feedback. We are most thankful for constructive reviews for they allow us to enhance our understanding of our guests' needs and wants.

Don't hesitate to return to Hotel Colón if you come again to Barcelona, we will be waiting for you.

Looking forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This hotel provides a nice sanctuary in the middle of the hurly burly of Barcelona. Staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel is traditional in its style with many rooms overlooking the adjacent gothic cathedral. Rooms are well appointed inside with all the facilities you would expect including a bath (as opposed to just a shower), air condiitioned and mini bar etc. Beds are turned down in the evening which is always a nice touch. Only negative was that there was quite a lot of noise from the rooms above (we were on 4th floor) between 0530 and 0700 each morning. Would stay here again when visiting Barcelona.

Room Tip: Worth paying for Cathedral view and "superior" rooms are very spacious and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thestourbridgelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear guest:

We extend our heartfelt thanks to you and your partner for your second stay at the Hotel Colón and your positive feedback.
Beyond doubt, the location of our hotel is just perfect for leisure travellers who wish to acquaint themselves with the city's must-see attractions. Located right smack in the city centre, the Hotel Colón is surrounded by Barcelona's prime tourist sites. Our seasoned and committed team at the front desk is more than happy to provide our guests with insider tips as to what to see & what to do while in town.

Warm regards & see you soon again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, CT
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I wanted to be able to wake up in the morning and be right near those beautiful narrow streets with their infinite turns and twists and restaurants....and this hotel provided just what I needed. A helpful staff, a great location and very clean. So glad I chose this area of Barcelona to use as my home base.....only 1.5 kim to Gaudi's Casa Battlo and a bit further on to Gaudi's Pedrera....about 3 kim tops to la Sagrada Familia and 1.5 km to the beach!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goshenmicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind words and for taking a moment of your time to share your experience with other fellow travelers.
The Colon Hotel location is strategic for leisure travelers, all the main touristic attraction in the down town area are just blocks away, and it takes you a few minutes to go from shopping in Plaza Cataluña, to enjoying a wonderful meal at La Boquería market; or from getting yourself lost in the streets of medieval Barcelona, to having a drink at the wonderful bar at the port. All this without having to take a bus or the subway!

We would love to have you as our guest once again the next time you visit our wonderful city, so please don´t hesitate in contacting us in advance!.
Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire, Usa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We spent 3 nights in this hotel before going on a cruise in May. Lovely view of cathedral where there was always something to see. In the mornings, there would be couples with their professional photographer taking their wedding photos with the lovely background. This hotel was in a good area for walking to other areas of city. Workers at check in were far from friendly--it was like we were bothering them. Room quite plain, but the interested view made it OK

Room Tip: Book room with cathedral view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest:

Many thanks for your recent stay with us. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our facilities and took advantage of our privileged location to discover Barcelona. We are committed to deliver the best possible experience to each of our guests while with us.

We´d love the opportunity to show you our improvements, letting us welcome you back on your next stay in Barcelona.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#96 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,667 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#67 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
#47 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#42 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,350 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#32 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#24 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colon Hotel

Property: Colon Hotel
Address: Avenida de la Catedral 7, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#52 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#61 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#84 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#125 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Colón is a classic and traditional 4 stars hotel situated in the heart of Barcelona, right opposite the Gothic Cathedral. It was founded in 1951 and during its 90 plus years of history, it has housed big names such as Hemingway, Tennessee Williams, Jean Paul Sartre, Sofía Loren, Jane Fonda, Francis Ford Coppola, Santiago Calatrava, and Arata Isozaki. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TravelUp, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Colon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Colon Barcelona
Barcelona Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing