We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel”
Review of Colon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Colon Hotel
Ranked #74 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2013

A lovely hotel in an ideal situation. Our window overlooked the cathedral and was great for people-watching. The room was very clean and comfortable. All the staff we met were friendly and helpful. There was a pianist in the bar every evening and drinks were reasonably priced, for a city hotel. We didn't have breakfast there (too expensive) but there are lots of cafes nearby - and a Starbucks just across the road. Easy walking distance to Las Ramblas and Placa Catalunya.

Room Tip: Best views at the front, quieter at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caroldh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Guest:

We´d like to thank you for your stay at Hotel Colon and specially for taking the time to write a kind review almost a year after you visited us!. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our facilities and took advantage of our privileged location to discover Barcelona.

We can hardly wait for you next visit to the city, and we´ll be looking forward to accommodating you once again!

Warm regards from the Mediterranean,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,037)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,061 - 1,067 of 2,038 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

The first view of the hotel sent a tinge of excitement as the cathedral was bang opposite. Location was unique in that it afforded an opportunity to go around the old town several times and absorb the 'fee' of Barcelona. Looking out of the window at the time of sunset, the effect was magical, combined with the Christmas bazaar in the square.

Room Tip: Look for top floor rooms facing the cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrabhuD759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay at Hotel Colon during your recent visit to Barcelona. We are happy to learn you enjoyed your time with us.

Please let us know next time you are planning to visit our city, since we´d love the chance to accommodate you once more.

We look forward to see you again!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed 20th December to 24th December at this lovely hotel. The room was very comfortable and the view across the square to the Cathedral was amazing . The hotel is centrally positioned, just a short walk to Las Ramblas, opposite the cathedral and close to the Metro. The Christmas market was wonderful, although it was a little bizarre selling Christmas items in 18c sunshine!

The only drawbacks to our stay were lack of air conditioning in our room and the noise of the christmas market dismantling overnight 23rd December, otherwise would thoroughly recommend.

A must do is the cable car ride to the castle of Montjuic.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0Maria0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind words and for taking a moment of your time to share your experience with other fellow travelers.

The Colon Hotel location is strategic for leisure travelers, all the main touristic attraction in the down town area are just blocks away, and it takes you a few minutes to go from shopping in Plaza Cataluña, to enjoying a wonderful meal at La Boquería market; or from getting yourself lost in the streets of medieval Barcelona, to having a drink at the wonderful bar at the port. All this without having to take a bus or the subway!.

We would love to have you as our guest once again the next time you visit our wonderful city.
Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I was visiting Barcelona for work-related meetings, and chose to stay at the Hotel Colon on the recommendation of colleagues - what a recommendation! The Hotel is right opposite the Cathedral, so ask for front facing rooms if you want a great view. I stayed in a sixth floor room without Cathedral view, but the room itself was excellent - lovely big bedroom with plenty of space, and very clean and comfortable.
Easy to get to - only 5-10 mins walk from the aerobus stop in Placa Catalunya, and 5 mins walk to the Jaume 1 metro station

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank west65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Guest:

First of all we´d like to thank you for you stay at the Hotel Colon. We are really happy to learn that you enjoyed your time with us and that you appreciated our facilities.

It is true; in a big city like ours location is a key element when it comes to maximizing exciting experiences. We are located right in the mythical Barri Gotic, and just a few walk-minutes from Plaza Cataluña and the Rambla.

We would love to have you stay with us on your next visit.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed in a lovely room with a balcony overlooking the Cathedral. Well appointed, lots of storage. The hotel was within walking distance of several restaurants and shops in addition to the wonderful historic sites. Staff was friendly and helpful; complimentary breakfast generous.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kerseymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thanks for staying with us at the Colon Hotel. We are pleased to learn that you appreciated our team’s efficient and friendly service and enjoyed your stay in Barcelona. For us it is very important that our guests feel comfortable and happy while with us.

If you find yourself planning your next trip to Barcelona, please don´t hesitate in contacting us. We´ll be looking forward to see you again at Colon Hotel.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Spent Christmas in Barcelona and enjoyed the location of the Hotel Colon, with a lively Christmas market in the plaza in front of the hotel. Very good room, clean and everything worked.
5 minute walk to aerobus to get to airport, the hotel recommends the Jaume I metro station as close to the hotel but no escalators. Lots of places for breakfast near hotel and a short walk to Las Ramblas.

Room Tip: The single rooms contain a very large single bed and all the normal room appointments, with an entra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear guest.

We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are committed to deliver an unforgettable experience while visiting Barcelona.

As you described in your comment we are located near numerous restaurants, bars, museums, and clubs. And for a change of scenery, our easy-to-use public transportation will take you to virtually any other touristic attractions in the city in just minutes.

We look forward to your next visit!

Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night and got a room in one of the wings on the 1st floor. The rooms were immaculately clean although a little bit dated. The only gripe i had was that the room was quite cold, which was originating from an even colder bathroom, despite the heating being on full. Obviously i couldnt comment as to whether this was only an issue to that 1 room or not. The rooms at the front of the hotel with their balconies overlooking the Cathedral would have been much nicer but obvioulsy these come at a premium.

The location though was perfect. Would i stay here again? Probably not. Not that i had a problem with it but would try another hotel in the same vicinity in a similar price window to see if that was any better. In short i would describe this as a 3-4 star hotel in a 5 star location.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phiphi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your stay at the Hotel Colon. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stayed in Barcelona. We are most thankful for constructive reviews for they allow us to enhance our understanding of our guests' needs and wants.

For any leisure traveller interested in visiting Barcelona's many cultural and tourist attractions, our hotel is definitely an excellent choice: Many of Barcelona's hotspots are virtually round the corner and the city's efficient and easy-to-use metro system takes you to sites further away.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#37 of 515 in Barcelona
1,373 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
#51 of 515 in Barcelona
2,074 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#75 of 515 in Barcelona
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#11 of 515 in Barcelona
514 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
#46 of 515 in Barcelona
1,867 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#65 of 515 in Barcelona
2,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colon Hotel

Address: Avenida de la Catedral 7, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#52 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#62 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#84 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#125 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $155 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Colon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Colón is a classic and traditional 4 stars hotel situated in the heart of Barcelona, right opposite the Gothic Cathedral. It was founded in 1951 and during its 90 plus years of history, it has housed big names such as Hemingway, Tennessee Williams, Jean Paul Sartre, Sofía Loren, Jane Fonda, Francis Ford Coppola, Santiago Calatrava, and Arata Isozaki. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Colon Barcelona
Barcelona Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing