We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, wonderful location”
Review of Colon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Colon Hotel
Ranked #80 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great stay, wonderful location”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Our family spent four nights at the Hotel Colon this past week. The hotel was recommended to us for it's location - which we soon discovered is second to none! Off the busy thoroughfares but on an historic square that is close and convenient to all. The winding streets of the Gothic district are mere steps away, La Rambla and the harbor each an easy 10 minute stroll. Best of all was the view from our two rooms - the breathtaking Gothic Cathedral.

The Colon is an older, somewhat dated hotel but it oozes character and warmth. The staff was helpful and accommodating at every turn - even bringing us an electric converter when our daughter blew out hers - and her room's electric fuse - while using her curling iron. The front desk staff were ready with recommendations when asked, making dinner reservations, as well as arranging for a car and driver for a visit to the Dali Museum (a must see) in Figueres. The rooms were spotless and well kept and the terrace doors kept the noise of the holiday festival being readied in the square at bay. Breakfast was included in our hotel rate and the offerings, while the same each day (fresh fruit, cheeses, ham and bacon, scrambled eggs, yogurt, croissants, breads, muffins, fresh squeezed orange juice and coffee and tea), were ample and fresh.

A sleek modern hotel this is not, but those can be had most anywhere. The Colon offers a fabulous location and views second to none.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with views of the Cathedral - you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MZBLongIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us at the Colon Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed our amenities and facilities. For us it is very important that our guests feel comfortable and happy throughout their time at the hotel.

As you described in your comment we are strategically located near the Plaza Catalunya, Plaza Universitat and las Ramblas, with numerous restaurants, bars, museums, and clubs within walking distance. And for a change of scenery, our easy-to-use public transportation will take you to virtually all other touristic attractions in the city in just minutes.

We would love to have you stay with us again next time you are in town. So please, feel free to contact us anytime.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    923
    728
    163
    57
    30
See reviews for
426
816
149
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Great location close to everything. The single room was fine- clean and comfortable although the design isn't very interesting. The deal I had was really worth it though. The reception staff was nice, professional and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zohar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Glad to hear you enjoyed your time in Barcelona and especially your stay with us. We´d like to thank you for choosing us for your weekend in the city.

This wonderful cosmopolitan town offers different touristic attractions and we are located within walking distance of many hotspots and just a-few-minutes metro or bus ride to the rest of them.
It will be great to have you again next time you visit this part of the Mediterranean, so please don´t hesitate in contacting us as soon as you find yourself planning your next trip.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duisburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This hotel is near to almost everywhere you want to go in El Gòtic, like the Lambla and Picasso Museum, not to mention the cathedral which is just in front. The Mercat Gòtic also in front of the hotel where people sell some interesting old things.
The people in the front desk is also friendly and helpful. They helped me store my bag since I came quite early and when I checked in in the afternoon my bag is right in my room.
The only drawback of my stay is the soundproof problem. I can hear clear what happened in the corridor, though it may be a common problem for hotels in Spain.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for staying with us at the Hotel Colon and for your kind feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our amenities and facilities.

For any leisure traveler interested in discover Barcelona, our hotel is definitely an excellent choice: we are located in the downtown area, only minutes away from shops, restaurants and many other hotspots.

If you find yourself planning your next trip to Barcelona, please don't hesitate in contacting us. We would love to have you back as a guest!.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

What a lovely hotel, excellent position. The staff were attentive and friendly without being obtrusive.We had a free upgrade to a superior room with a wonderful view of the square and Cathedral (Really good soundproofing)
We'd heard a lot about personal safety in Barcelona, but felt really safe and easy, even eating out at night.
Super fresh breakfast, freshly squeezed orange juice...of course!
Cant rate hotel highly enough. Even the day of the general strike didn't dampen our enjoyment.

Room Tip: Don't worry about noise from the cathedral bells, you won't hear it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear guest:

We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our team’s efficient and friendly service. At Colon hotel we are committed to deliver the best possible experience while visiting Barcelona.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers here at TripAdvisor with such a detailed comment. So thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers and please let us know next time you are planning to visit our city.

We look forward to see you again!.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at the Hotel Colon two years in a row, 3 times total. Each time we keep thinking, because of the wonderful location and nice atmosphere, that we can overlook the rude employees, but this year will be our last. The front desk associates are without a doubt, the most rude we have encountered in any of our travels all over the world. They are uncaring and unconcerned with issues encountered at the hotel. We can put up with a lot, if the employees are nice and accommodating. The Hotel Colon employees are neither. I really feel bad rating this lovely hotel in a terrific location so low, but until the front desk associates learn some major customer service skills, we will seek accommodations elsewhere.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the cathedral are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TXMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your stay at the Hotel Colón and your feedback.

We take note about your comments. At Colon hotel we are committed to deliver the best possible experience while visiting Barcelona. We hope to have the opportunity to show you that our team is efficient and your disappointing experience has been only one punctual thing.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers here at TripAdvisor. We would like to have you as our guest once more.

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Very nice hotel in a great location. Metros nearby, hop on/off bus stops right on corner, surrounded by shops and restaurants and sites, 5min walk from government congress, and right in front of the Gothic Cathedral. Staff are wonderful and offer great services. My request for a full or queen was honored (as a solo traveler). However, the bed is the WORST I've slept on in my entire life! It completely ruined my stay here. I slept on a pallet on the floor the second night and was more comfortable. Also there was lime build up on the shower head.
Would've rated this a 7 but the bed made it a 4.

Room Tip: Make your requests at booking and they will accommodate if possible. They do pay attention to the cu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traci H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for having chosen the Hotel Colon for your recent stay in Barcelona.

We are sorry to learn that your stay with us did not satisfy all of your expectations. As to the equipment of our rooms, we have taken note of your suggestions and passed them along to the department.

On the other hand, we are pleased to know that you were satisfied with the attention received from our dedicated team!

Again, we deeply regret not having met all your expectations this time but hope you will afford us a second chance to make amends.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The staff is very friendly and helpful, the bed comfortable, and the bathroom perfectly suitable. If you took just those things and price, it doesn't represent a great value. Where the Colon Hotel really comes through is its location, and that's probably what commands the price. From the hotel you are literally steps from the Cathedral, the Gothic district, and several good restaurants. A few blocks more takes you to museums, the Palau Música Catalana, numerous great restaurants, la Ramblas, and the Boqueria market. You can walk to several of the Gaudi houses and other sites as well. For further adventures you can take the metro or a short cab ride.

I thought the room itself looked a little worn and plain, and could use some color. My wife disagrees with this assessment and thought the furniture, etc. was just fine. We both agreed that the bathtub was slow to drain, and this took some careful tuning of the shower to get it slow enough to still work as a shower but not put out so much water that the tub starting filling excessively. On the last day we didn't have hot water. This was reportedly fixed later, but too late for us.

Room Tip: We were in 601. Our friends were in in 602. 602 was bigger and had a nice chaise/couch like thing to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

We´d like to thank you for your stay at Hotel Colon and specially for taking the time to write a kind review almost a year after you visited us!. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our facilities and took advantage of our privileged location to discover Barcelona.

We can hardly wait for you next visit to the city, and we´ll be looking forward to accommodating you once again!

Warm regards from the Mediterranean,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#33 of 513 in Barcelona
1,313 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
#48 of 513 in Barcelona
1,936 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#68 of 513 in Barcelona
2,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#98 of 513 in Barcelona
3,699 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#22 of 513 in Barcelona
4,404 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#16 of 513 in Barcelona
2,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colon Hotel

Property: Colon Hotel
Address: Avenida de la Catedral 7, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#52 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#62 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#84 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#125 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Colón is a classic and traditional 4 stars hotel situated in the heart of Barcelona, right opposite the Gothic Cathedral. It was founded in 1951 and during its 90 plus years of history, it has housed big names such as Hemingway, Tennessee Williams, Jean Paul Sartre, Sofía Loren, Jane Fonda, Francis Ford Coppola, Santiago Calatrava, and Arata Isozaki. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Colon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Colon Barcelona
Barcelona Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing