We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Colon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Colon Hotel
Ranked #78 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

The staff is very friendly and helpful, the bed comfortable, and the bathroom perfectly suitable. If you took just those things and price, it doesn't represent a great value. Where the Colon Hotel really comes through is its location, and that's probably what commands the price. From the hotel you are literally steps from the Cathedral, the Gothic district, and several good restaurants. A few blocks more takes you to museums, the Palau Música Catalana, numerous great restaurants, la Ramblas, and the Boqueria market. You can walk to several of the Gaudi houses and other sites as well. For further adventures you can take the metro or a short cab ride.

I thought the room itself looked a little worn and plain, and could use some color. My wife disagrees with this assessment and thought the furniture, etc. was just fine. We both agreed that the bathtub was slow to drain, and this took some careful tuning of the shower to get it slow enough to still work as a shower but not put out so much water that the tub starting filling excessively. On the last day we didn't have hot water. This was reportedly fixed later, but too late for us.

Room Tip: We were in 601. Our friends were in in 602. 602 was bigger and had a nice chaise/couch like thing to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

We´d like to thank you for your stay at Hotel Colon and specially for taking the time to write a kind review almost a year after you visited us!. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our facilities and took advantage of our privileged location to discover Barcelona.

We can hardly wait for you next visit to the city, and we´ll be looking forward to accommodating you once again!

Warm regards from the Mediterranean,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    881
    705
    162
    55
    29
See reviews for
415
782
145
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Whitestone, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

The hotel has a wonderful location, in the Gothic Quarter, and right out the doors of the hotel you have the Cathedral right in front of you!! The hotel is very clean, rooms spacious and the suite we had was wonderfully decorated! Just a block down there is a bus stop for the tour buses which you can get and hop on or off and tour the whole city..we took advantage of the 2 days bus tour for 31 Euros well worth it...you can purchase the tickets from the hotel.. there are a few cafes nearby to have breakfast in the morning..breakfast at the hotel is not included but can be obtained for a fee which we didn't think was necessary since there were two nice cafes right near the hotel! The staff was helpful and very nice and spoke perfect english..we walked everywhere and the hotel is in a perfect section of Barcelona...walking distance to Las Ramblas and the wonderful "food market" which we couldn't get enough of..great food!! There is a wonderful restaurant called the 4Gats which we enjoyed and it is within walking distance from the hotel...wonderful stay...this hotel will not disappoint and Barcelona is a beautiful city!

Room Tip: if you would like exceptional views of the cathedral ask for rooms that face it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pizzsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear guest:

Thank you very much for your stay at the Hotel Colon and your explanatory feedback.

For any leisure traveller interested in visiting Barcelona's many cultural and tourist attractions, our hotel is definitely an excellent choice: Many of Barcelona's hotspots are virtually round the corner and the city's efficient and easy-to-use metro system takes you to sites further away.

We look forward to accommodating you again
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Facing the cathedral in the middle of Barri Gotic, this hotel is well located with many major attractions within walking distance and the cathedral square itself bustling, particularly in the evening with a tourist-oriented flea market. Rooms are spacious and comfortable and service fine. However, don't pay up as we did for a cathedral view unless you are assured a room on the third (fourth by U S standards) floor; healthy trees block most of the view from lower. Breakfast is reported marginal; we patronized one of the excellent coffee-and-pastry shops behind the cathedral.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Njj3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest:

Many thanks for your stay at the Colon Hotel. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stayed in Barcelona. For us is very important that our guests feel comfortable and happy during their stay in the hotel.

Don't hesitate to return to Colon Hotel if you come again to Barcelona, we will be waiting for you.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

The location of the hotel was just perfect for us because we were able to walk to most of the places we needed. We were able to see the Merce Performance stage from our suite. The bathroom was clean but on the small range on the size. The room was spacious and clean. The staffs were very knowledgeable and welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Afamefula E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your stay at the Hotel Acta Antibes and your kind feedback.

For any leisure traveler interested in visiting Barcelona's many cultural and tourist attractions, our hotel is definitely an excellent choice, just a few minutes away, as well as many restaurants, bars and shops.

We look forward to having you on your next trip to Barcelona.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banchory, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

I booked a few months in advance and opted for a standard Cathedral facing room. We were lucky enough to be on the 5th floor overlooking the Cathedral and square. At first I was concerned that I might not sleep because of noise, BUT as soon as you close the french doors onto the wee balcony all noise goes. The bed was comfy, the room spotless and no noise from the corridor due to a further internal door between the bathroom and the bedroom. Buffet breakfast was great, and leisurely, with no-one trying to move you on. Staff friendly and helpful. I was unlucky enough to have to call out a Dr in the middle of the night, but just one call to Reception and the Dr was with me within 20 minutes. A big thank you to staff of the Hotel. I would recommend thoroughly.

Room Tip: Twin rooms only facing back of Hotel, doubles to the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mollyandsocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear guest,

Glad to hear you enjoyed your time in Barcelona and especially your stay with us at Hotel Colon. We´d like to thank you for choosing us for your weekend in the city.

This wonderful cosmopolitan town offers different touristic attractions and we are located within walking distance of many hotspots.

It will be great to have you again next time you visit this part of the Mediterranean, so please don´t hesitate in contacting us.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Higham, Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
309 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Visited Barcelona at the end of Oct 2012 and stayed 2 nights in the Colon Hotel. We were extremely pleased with our stay, and highly recommend it to anyone with family traveling to Barcelona.
- Location: The location of the hotel (in Barri Gothic) put us in the center of everything. We were within walking distance (<10 min) for everything on our list (the Cathedral, La Rambla, Christopher Columbus monument, Placa de Catalunya, Picasso Museum, Funicular to Montejuic, great restaurants, etc).
- Room: As a family of 4 people (kids aged 10 years & 8 years old), we booked the "Junior Suite with two single beds overlooking the Cathedral". The 1st floor room was EXTREMELY spacious (bedroom with a connected living room); the staff also brought us a roll-away bed into the living room, and the living room couch folded out into another bed. Whilst the view of the Cathedral was blocked by the large tree, from the balcony we were able still able to listen to the live music.
- Staff: Extremely helpful, and very nice with less-than-fluent Spanish speakers.

Room Tip: "Junior Suite with two single beds overlooking the Cathedral" is definitely worth the mone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas - Genevi... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Guest:

Many thanks for your stay at the Hotel Colon. We are pleased to learn that you appreciated our team’s efficient service and enjoyed your stayed in Barcelona. For us is very important that our guests feel comfortable and happy during their stay in the hotel.

Don't hesitate to return to Hotel Colon if you come again to Barcelona, we will be waiting for you.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Right in the center of old town! Good enough for Hemingway and Sophia Loren ,good enough for me. Try to get a room overlooking the cathedral .Rooms are spacious . I would suggest you skip the breakfast here unless you are a big eater. Very very spendy ! There is a little bar around the corner that opens at 6 AM which is better and the price is right. Also fresh orange juice. The subway is a short distance away at the ramblas.

Room Tip: Any room is a winner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

We´d like to thank you for your stay at Hotel Colon and specially for taking the time to write a kind review almost a year after you visited us!. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our facilities and took advantage of our privileged location to discover Barcelona.

We can hardly wait for you next visit to the city, and we´ll be looking forward to accommodating you once again!

Warm regards from the Mediterranean,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#97 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,606 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#65 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
#46 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#42 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,305 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#37 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colon Hotel

Property: Colon Hotel
Address: Avenida de la Catedral 7, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#52 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#59 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#84 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#125 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Colón is a classic and traditional 4 stars hotel situated in the heart of Barcelona, right opposite the Gothic Cathedral. It was founded in 1951 and during its 90 plus years of history, it has housed big names such as Hemingway, Tennessee Williams, Jean Paul Sartre, Sofía Loren, Jane Fonda, Francis Ford Coppola, Santiago Calatrava, and Arata Isozaki. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelUp, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Colon Barcelona
Barcelona Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing