We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Box seats for Barcelona's major festival”
Review of Colon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Colon Hotel
Ranked #72 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I lived in Barcelona in the late-1970s, put my parents and in-laws up in the Hotel Colon on their visits then, and have stayed there several times over the past 32 years. The Colon has been modernized over the years and aged well; the service has always been highly professional and helpful.
For me, the location is the best in the city as it overlooks the main Cathedral and its very active plaza, and is surrounded by mere steps to most of Barcelona's major attractions -- the Palau de la Musica, the Picasso Museum, Santa Maria del Mar Cathedral, Plaza del Pi, the Ramblas, the main Boqueria Market, Tinell Hall and the city museum... It is also an easy walk to most of the popular Gaudi buildings although you'll need a taxi or metro for the Sagrada Familia, which is indeed now a must see.
At the Colon, it is necessary to have a room overlooking the Cathedral that is -- except in winter -- at least on the 3rd floor and preferably higher above the trees. On a few occasions, including our most recent in late September, we booked far in advance for rooms 604, 605 or 606: each has an attractive, large (40'x15') private terrace with potted plants and table and chairs to truly enjoy not only the Cathedral but all the many activities in the plaza below.
This year, we were there for Barcelona's major, annual, four day Merce Festival with several of the over 600 music, dance and cultural events performed or at least passing under our terrace. The effect was of having box seats with picnic lunches, suppers and good wine for high quality music, dance, cultural celebrations and evening fireworks.
Our room, bathroom and dressing area were of more than adequate size, very clean and fresh, the queen mattress was just right and the water pressure was fine...although tap water throughout Barcelona is awful -- buy bottled. We had few occasions to require service by the staff but all of our contacts with them were pleasant.
In sum, the Colon is a good hotel in an excellent location with at least three rooms that are spectacular during the annual Merce festival and at other times.

Room Tip: Book a balcony on the 3rd, 4th or 5th floors (above trees) overlooking the Cathedral or, for a speci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your stay at the Hotel Colon and your explanatory feedback. We really appreciate all your confidence in us over the years. For us it is very important that our guests feel comfortable and happy while with us.

We would love to see you and your family again next time you are in town.
Looking forward to hearing from you.

Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,070)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,128 - 1,134 of 2,070 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

Don't belive some of the the reviews you read about the Colon Hotel, yes it is a little dated but it clean and you are in the middle of everthing and all have to do is walk. And the staff was the best aways there to help and give advice. You could pay more but I don't think you can get more I will go back anytime.

Room Tip: Ask for a roon on the 5th floor over looking the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggie1094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear Guest,

We´d like to thank you for choosing us for your stay while in Barcelona. This is a wonderful city with hundreds of different touristic attractions and as you described we are located within walking distance of many hotspots and just a-few-minutes metro or bus ride to the rest of them.

It will be great to have you again next time you visit this part of the Mediterranean, so please don´t hesitate in contacting us as soon as you find yourself planning your next trip!.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We loved the location and the Gothic Quarter, would highly recommend this neighborhood to anyone visiting Barcelona. Stayed 3 nights in a junior suite overlooking the cathedral and the room was spacious. The furniture is a bit dated but that didn't bother us at all. We were hoping that the sofa bed would be more comfortable but it had the typical 3 inch mattress. The staff was lovely and quickly attended to our needs. We flew in and out of Barcelona and for our last two nights stayed in the Exiample area and we really preferred the Gothic Quarter. We really enjoyed the views from our three balconies although they were small. It was noisy some nights but again that was not a big issue for us.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parislover_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind words and for taking a moment of your time to share your experience with other fellow travelers.

The Colon Hotel location is strategic for leisure travelers, all the main touristic attraction in the down town area are just blocks away, and it takes you a few minutes to go from shopping in Plaza Cataluña.

Now, if walking is not your cup of tea, the easy-to-use metro system will take you were you want faster than you can say "I love Barcelona", and the nearest metro station is only 3 minutes away from the hotel. And as you pointed out in your review: having the Cathedral as a view.. Breathtaking!.

We would love to have you as our guest once again the next time you visit our wonderful city, so please don´t hesitate in contacting us in advance!.

Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My favourite hotel in my favourite city. Location is excellent, opposite the gothic cathedral and a 10-minute walk from Placa de Catalunya and Las Ramblas. The reception staff are helpful and friendly. Some of the rooms are a bit quirky but all have bath and shower, minibar, room safe, air con, double glazing and plenty of wardrobe space and drawers. Discounts available for early booking (www.hotelcolon.es).

Room Tip: Only some doubles/twins have a cathedral view. Some singles overlook what the hotel calls a courtyar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H11LSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Directly across from the cathedral, in the middle of the Gothic Quarter and steps from the
Born, this hotel couldn't be in better position for excursions and eating. The rooms are clean
and the bathrooms well-appointed. The rooms with the terrace are wonderful for relaxing and
great views of the cathedral square. Each concierge was helpful and the tour buses stop
right at the corner. We stayed during a festival and enjoyed all the festivities right beneath
our terrace!

Room Tip: room 604 has a huge, well appointed terrace but a somewhat smaller room than one with French balconi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephanieboca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear Guest:

First of all we´d like to thank you for you stay at the Hotel Colon. We are really happy to learn that you enjoyed your time with us and that you appreciated our facilities, as well as our team’s efficient and friendly service.

It is true; in a big city like ours location is a key element when it comes to maximizing exciting experiences. We are located right in the mythical Barri Gotic.
The pleasure of visiting most of downtown attractions by foot, and just let yourself wander down the historical - yet modern- Barcelona.

We would love to have you stay with us on your next visit, so please don´t hesitate in contacting us. We look forward to see you again!.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Colon for four nights, from September 30th thru October 4th. We booked a room on the 6th floor that had an outside terrace almost as large as the room, and we used it for impromptu meals, as we don't like to eat all of our meals in restaurants. The desk clerks were always helpful and courteous. We walked to almost every site there was in Barcelona from this hotel, which may have been pushing it a bit. We walked to three of Gaudi's famous buildings, Casa Batllo, Casa Mila, and La Sagrada Familia Cathedral, all in one morning from our hotel, and after lunch the same day, walked up to the Parc Guell. This was a bit difficult since you are walking up hill, but it was worth it. We decided to take a taxi back to our hotel, and it cost less than 10 Euros to do so. We took a half day of riding on the Hop on Hop off bus to see parts of the city that were too far to walk to. Later in the week, we walked to the seaside, going down La Rambla to the monument with Christopher Columbus on top, continuing our walk along the water to the beaches. Took us a couple of hours but we were in no hurry. Great places to eat near the hotel. We went to 4Gats, only three blocks away, and to restaurants along the port, where hundreds of sailing boats are moored, within 25 minutes walking from the hotel. We walked to the Zoo and to the Picasso museum, again within 20 minutes of the hotel. It's location directly across the pedestrian square in front of the old Cathedral, makes this the best location in town. It was a bit high in cost for the room, but I knew that before making the reservation. We got a discount for booking more than 4 weeks ahead of our arrival date. The taxi from the airport was just over 35 Euros, including bag fees, and the ride was less than 30 minutes in traffic. Barcelona is a great city to visit, and the Colon Hotel is a great place to stay. Unfortunately, I cannot comment on their restaurant, as we did not dine there for any meal.

Room Tip: The higher up, the better the views. As far as I can tell, all rooms face the Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your stay at the Hotel Colon and for sharing your impressions and insider tips with fellow travelers on TripAdvisor.

As you described above, for any leisure traveler interested in a long or a just-passing-by visit to Barcelona, our hotel is definitely an excellent choice: we are located in the downtown area, only minutes away from shops, restaurants and many other hotspots.

If you find yourself planning your next stop-over in Barcelona (or hopefully a longer visit), please don't hesitate in contacting us. We would love to have you back as a guest!.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in September. For a 4 star hotel I found the service average and hotel overpriced. We stayed 2 nights & rubbish left on the stairs remained there for our entire trip. The hotel could use a good clean. Breakfast was average. Location is good. Would look elsewhere for accommodation, we also stayed at a 3 star hotel on Las Ramblas which was a better location, better priced & cleaner. Look elsewhere for a hotel in Barcelona.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arnie8862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear guest,

Many thanks for your stay at the Hotel Colon and for sharing your impressions and insider tips with fellow travellers on TripAdvisor. We are most thankful for constructive reviews for they allow us to enhance our understanding of our guests' needs and wants.

We have taken note of your comments and we´ve passed it along to the department in charge so they can take proper action.

We would love to see you again next time you are in town. Hopefully you´ll give us a chance to show you our improvements.

Looking forward to hearing from you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#38 of 516 in Barcelona
1,402 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
#55 of 516 in Barcelona
2,108 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#75 of 516 in Barcelona
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Pulitzer
Hotel Pulitzer
#107 of 516 in Barcelona
2,284 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
#47 of 516 in Barcelona
1,916 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#62 of 516 in Barcelona
1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colon Hotel

Address: Avenida de la Catedral 7, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#52 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#59 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#84 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#125 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $135 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Colon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Colón is a classic and traditional 4 stars hotel situated in the heart of Barcelona, right opposite the Gothic Cathedral. It was founded in 1951 and during its 90 plus years of history, it has housed big names such as Hemingway, Tennessee Williams, Jean Paul Sartre, Sofía Loren, Jane Fonda, Francis Ford Coppola, Santiago Calatrava, and Arata Isozaki. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Colon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Colon Barcelona
Barcelona Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing