We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful friendly hotel”
Review of Colon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Colon Hotel
Ranked #72 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Lovely city center hotel covenant for all sights. Lovely clean homely rooms I was traveling on my own so no issues with safety.my room was facing center court yd of hotel but was not an issue as did not need a view. The only problem I had was loud talking ect echoing up from court yd but did go quiet at 11. Staff are very friendly and helpfull at this hotel doorman and reception especially. Would stay here again in a heart beat
No swimming pool or gym but did not require either

Room Tip: Ask for a cathedral view if a room with a view is important
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joe1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Dear guest,

Firstly we'd like to thank you for having chosen the Hotel Colón for your recent stay in Barcelona and also for taking a few minutes of your time to share your experience with your fellow travelers at TripAdvisor.

Being located in the heart of the legendary Gothic Quarter, one of the oldest one in the city gives our guest and added value to their visit. Just at a walking distance away from some of Barcelona's hot spots, such as Las Ramblas, La Boquería Market, el Born, the Waterfront, Barceloneta Beach, Plaza Catalunya (etc); makes us a great place to stay at.

We are looking forward to your next visit!

Regards,

Hotel Colón - Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,004)
There are newer reviews for Colon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,124 - 1,130 of 2,005 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2012

Excellent location, Gothic area very nice with good restaurants, had a great view from our balcony.The rooms are outdated but the location and service makes up for it,Perfect place to stay in Barcelona.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RustySutherland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are happy to learn you took advantage of our strategic situation to fully enjoy Barcelona.

The Gothic Quarter is definitely one of the most beautiful areas of the city, full of excitement things to do year-round. We encourage our guests to take a stroll down the narrow medieval streets to experience firsthand all that it has to offer, from cafes, to restaurants, shops, museums and local talent street artists it's is almost certain the Gothic will pleasantly surprise you.

We look forward to welcome you back next time you are in town!

All the best,

Hotel Colón – Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Hotel was nice and service was excellent. The rooms were a bit out dated, but were clean and larger than most Euro hotel rooms. We did not dine in the hotel so I cannot rate the restaurant. Most importantly the location was great and the staff went out of their way to help with our requests. A couple of steps in either direction takes you to Born , Las Ramblas, Plaza Catalunya and quite a few restaurants. This hotel is located on the plaza with the Barcelona Cathedral. There were quite a few events in the square. There is a stop for the sight-seeing bus very close. Also one minute away there is a large covered market....not boqueria large, but a nice place to shop for food close to the hotel. We traveled with two small children and their family room consisted of two separate bedrooms and a large bath. For the price and location I will stay here on our next trip to Barcelona. There was very little noise, much quieter than the Ramblas area. This is not a 5 star hotel, but I gave it 5 star rating because for us it was a perfect fit due to location, family room availability and service. I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the Cathedral.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jp3Atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Dear guest,
We appreciate your review and we are truly glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We do our best to recreate a good experience during your stay at the Hotel Colón and kind reviews like yours let us know we are walking towards the right direction.
Our neighborhood, the Gothic Quarter, is one of the must-see in Barcelona. Also close to public transport, makes us a perfect place to stay with family.
We are looking forward to your next visit to Barcelona and we hope you’d try out our amazing restaurant.
Warm regards,
Hotel Colón-Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed here for one night in June on a week long holiday in Spain.

Pluses : great location. Opposite the Cathedral and easy to walk from here to a lot of central Barcelona. Oh - and the breakfast buffet was pretty good - with lots of fresh fruit, jamon, Spanish cheese and tomato bread (as well as English fare for those who wanted it).

The negatives: despite check in time being 2pm it took until 3.40 to get in. And then we were given a room with two single beds despite booking a double room. After a fuss, and another hour's wait we got a small double room. It was small, the pillows very uncomfortable, and all rather faded and dated.

I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Natalie222Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Dear guest,

We are truly sorry to hear that we fell short to meet your expectations on your last visit. However, we´re afraid most of it was due to an unfortunate misunderstanding. The classic double room in Spain usually means two twin beds.

Anyway we have a great location close to most important tourist attractions in Barcelona. Hotel Colon is always glad to provide you a service of our restaurant with delicious breakfast.

We hope to see you in our hotel next time

Warm regards,

Hotel Colón-Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Just returned from a 5 days stay at the Hotel Colon, Barcelona. I chose this hotel for the location which was spot on. Away from the busy Las Ramblas, (about 2 blocks away) on a square in the Gothic Quarter opposite the Cathedral and only about a 10 - 15 minute walk to the Harbour. Definitely chose the rooms with Cathedral views, the view is worth it alone, however they say that they come with a balcony, which they do, but just be aware that there is only room to stand out on them. We had a 3rd floor room and it was perfect to be able to look out on the Square below. The hotel was clean and the room spacious with enough counter space in the bathroom for all my products, which made a lovely change! The AC was quiet and the temperature was perfect for the 30 degree heat outside. The staff are friendly and would help with any trips information you would like. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms with Cathedral View
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JKMHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your opinion, we really appreciate it!

Our hotel was founded in 1951, and building is classic example of the edifice of 50th with unique and unforgettable atmosphere.

However, we are glad, that you enjoyed your stay in Hotel Colon and our staff was glad to serve you and make your visit comfortable.

We are looking forward to see you again.



Thank you,

Hotel Colón-Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We wanted a place near, but not on Las Ramblas. Booked a Cathedral View room at Hotel Colon based on earlier TripAdvisor reviews and was happy we did. Perfect location in Gotic section of town. Easy walk to Ramblas, El Born, and Barceloneta. Convenient subway stop near by gave us access to other parts of the city.

Got there very early. Desk checked us in, tagged our bags, and had them delivered to the room before we got there. Room was clean, quiet, comfortable (if a bit old) and had the great Cathedral view we were promised.

Every time we asked someone for something: directions, recommendations, ice, internet help ... it was delivered with a smile. Very well-coached staff from top to bottom.

Room Tip: Pay a few bucks more and book a Cathedral view on an upper floor.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delray2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We booked 5 nights at this hotel and loved every minute. We had a balcony at the front which enhanced the atmosphere. From here most tourist attractions are within easy reach and the tourist buses leave from the square. WiFi and safe are free and noise is not a problem due to double glazing throughout. Breakfast is excellent. Staff are very friendly and helpful. This charming hotel is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel are shaded in the afternoon. Avoid the rear as the sun beats on this...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Dear guest,

We are truly glad that you have enjoyed your time with us and that our friendly staff and installations help made your stay even more enjoyable.

As you well said it in you comment, our strategic location makes of us a perfect starting point to discover our city by foot. We're are in the middle of Gothic Quarter, in front of the Old Cathedral and only minutes away from the Ramblas, la Boquería Market and the Waterfront. Without a doubt a great place to stay.

We are looking forward to your next visit to Barcelona and hopefully will be able to have you back as our guest again. Please contact us in advance so we can make sure to arrange the room with the spectacular view.

Kind regards,

Hotel Colón -Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#38 of 513 in Barcelona
1,353 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
#50 of 513 in Barcelona
2,050 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#10 of 513 in Barcelona
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
#46 of 513 in Barcelona
1,846 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#70 of 513 in Barcelona
1,197 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#62 of 513 in Barcelona
2,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colon Hotel

Address: Avenida de la Catedral 7, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#52 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#58 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#84 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#125 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $164 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Colon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Colón is a classic and traditional 4 stars hotel situated in the heart of Barcelona, right opposite the Gothic Cathedral. It was founded in 1951 and during its 90 plus years of history, it has housed big names such as Hemingway, Tennessee Williams, Jean Paul Sartre, Sofía Loren, Jane Fonda, Francis Ford Coppola, Santiago Calatrava, and Arata Isozaki. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Colon Barcelona
Barcelona Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing