We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Ranked #65 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 31, 2014

After a bad experience at the Le Meridian, Barcelona (don't stay there!) we transferred to the fine hotel. We were greeted in the lobby with Cava in flutes! They upgrade our room to an ocean view.
great service, wonderful rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,805)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,899 - 1,905 of 4,805 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2014

First, we had a great stay in most every regard, a bit of a hiccup on check in with room availability but otherwise great from a service point of view. We booked two Executive Suites and the rooms were really superb...not your typical ultra-traditional Ritz Carlton room, much more transitional in styling but very nicely appointed with a luxury feel. The breakfast buffet (included with our AmEx FHR package) was nothing short of excellent, the concierge staff was very helpful and the staff overall was attentive and gracious in every regard.

It is important to understand that this hotel is located somewhat outside of the main city area and primary points of interest. If I were to liken this particular area to someplace in the US, it would be Miami South Beach. You are absolutely in the epicenter of the hottest night life, with several clubs literally right in front of the hotel. (as clubs don't really get going until well after midnight, we were never disturbed by this and noise was never an issue) This isn't a knock on the hotel at all, it is to say that you are not staying in a classic European city center hotel...of which there are many if that is your preference. We were traveling with the kids and this location was perfect for us, we loved being by the beach and a bit removed from the hustle and bustle of a city center. It was a quick 10-15 minute cab ride to many of the sites and old areas of Barcelona we wanted to see. If you are up for 30-40 minute walk, that is an option as well.

Room Tip: Essentially your two options are city view or ocean view, we had one of each and it comes down to pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honest0112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Been there for 4 nights. Really nice hotel and very well situated if you want to be next to the beach and the clubs at the beach.
The rooms are spacious and well equipped. What I didn't like was that the room already showed that people have lived in it, but still it was ok and not too bad.
Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ewidmaier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

For €330 a night you expect something really special given this hotel's reputation. Well, it generally lives up to expectations in most areas...good checkin staff, spacious well-appointed bedrooms with fantastic views over the city and beach, but since i was there for about 12 hours total it was difficult to discover what the real "upside" to this hotel was.
Breakfast was good, didnt get a chance to try the bar, my only criticisms (hence only 4 stars) is that no staff knew where a popular local restaurant was (just around the corner on the beach as it happened) and i'm still waiting for my bill to be emailed to me some 3 weeks later.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Zoom6562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelArts, Manager at Hotel Arts Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear Zoom6562,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comment and share your experience at Hotel Arts Barcelona. I am very pleased to hear our hotel met your expectations.

On the other hand, I am sorry to read we were not able to follow-up promptly with your invoice. Please let me know if you haven’t received it at this date, and I will personally ensure you receive this document. You may leave your contact details via email at hotel.arts[at]ritzcarlton.com or calling +34 93 221 1000.

Feel free to let me know if there is anything else you would like to share with me, I will be pleased to assist.

Yours sincerely,

Brunella Zinato
Hotel Manager
Hotel Arts Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

I am not even sure where to begin, as my husband and I have so many great things to say about this wonderful hotel. Aside from the beauty and the amazing location of this hotel, the staff was nothing less than perfect. We received unparalleled customer service by the front desk agents, concierge, bell boys, etc. All staff always had a smile on their faces and were so quick to help in any which way they could. The Concierge was absolutely amazing and we thank each one of them for helping make our experience/honeymoon in Barcelona so fun and memorable. Special thank you’s go out to, Laura, Alex, Blanca, for the perfect restaurant recommendations, and helping us arrange special trips during our stay. You all were WONDERFUL and so pleasant at all times.
At check in, our front desk agent upgraded us to a beautiful sea view room once she heard it was our honeymoon. We also were surprised by champagne and dessert that read “Congratulations” in our room upon our arrival from the beach. We absolutely loved it, and truly felt like we were on our honeymoon.
If you’re fun, trendy, love the beach and nightlife scene and great customer service stay here!! If you’re boring and lame (like the people who wrote nasty reviews about this hotel) do not stay here, it’s not for you!
The room we stayed in was clean, large and perfect. We felt so comfortable that we did not want to leave, ever!!! Thank you again, Hotel Arts for helping make our Honeymoon AMAZING!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank FeyzaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelArts, Manager at Hotel Arts Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear FeyzaK,

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review about the hotel. I am very pleased to hear our Ladies and Gentlemen were able to anticipate and fulfill your needs during your honeymoon. You may trust that we will share your kind words with them, particularly with Laura, Alex and Blanca.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Brunella Zinato
Hotel Manager
Hotel Arts Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We choose the Hotel Arts based on the location. We love the water. The facility and staff were outstanding. Eleventh floor room with water/coastal view of the beaches and boardwalk to the north. Room size and appointments were excellent as was the service received. No complaints on the room rate, but, the lack of WiFi access in the room (charge required) and the high cost for meals / drinks is excessive. Free WiFi was available in the lobby, however, the lobby was quite noisy and busy (very congested). There was no area to truly relax in the lobby. Although many of the staff (check in, host, servers, etc) were interns or new employees, they were all well trained, attentive, and very professional. Access to transportation was easy and plenty of dinning venues within walking distance. Overall, our stay was an excellent experience, but WiFi should be provided free of charge and meal cost adjusted a bit lower. Expectations vary for everyone, ours was met. Can't satisfy all. I do recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Select room on the north or east side with with ocean and coastline view several floors up. Had no n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark33527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stayed here for two nights and experienced the good and the not so good.

Our room on the 7th floor looked directly at the building next door which wasn’t terribly appealing. I asked if we could be moved but was told the hotel was full. But the room itself was lovely – spacious, very comfortable bed and the shower is astonishing. A shame, though, that the toiletries are not known brand 5* products (Asprey – I thought they were famous for their jewellery, not their shower gel?). Bring back Acqua di Parma!

The day before we arrived I e-mailed the hotel to confirm that wi-fi and breakfast were included in our room rate, as we were on a corporate deal through my work. No response before we arrived (and still no response, three weeks later).

Once we’d got settled, I asked one of the many hovering staff members in the reception area if our wi-fi was included in our room rate. She looked at something and said, yes it was. Back in our room, and on trying to log in to our laptops, we had to put in our name and room number so the room could be charged. I phoned reception, told them what was happening and they said that we had to do that but the charge would not show on the bill. Well, the charge did show on the bill. So on checking out, I had to retell everything again to request that the bill be corrected. I know it’s not a big deal, and it was sorted out for us, but in a 5* hotel those sorts of things shouldn’t happen at all.

As other people have already said, the jockeying for position around the pool is not handled well by staff. Surely it’s not that difficult to have a policy that if people leave the area, they have to take their belongings with them, not keep them on the sunloungers so they have a self-assumed right of return whenever they choose, while the queue for sunloungers grow and grows? And children should be made to use the separate children’s pool. However, the garden area is beautiful and provides lovely nooks and crannies to get lost in, and keep cool in, away from the busier area by the pool.

The flowers are wonderful (roses when we arrived; hydrangeas when we left) and the glass of iced water at check-in was very welcome in the July heat. Housekeeping staff were delightful and the turn-down service inconspicuous and charming.

Location-wise, it was lovely to be by the sea and get a breeze. Some people may find it slightly off the beaten track with regards proximity to the major tourist sights, but we walked most places, got the occasional bus (get a T10 card for €11, which will let you hop on and hop off as you choose) and taxis to and from the airport (about €35 each way).

A lovely city and a lovely hotel ... almost.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the 10th floor so you can see over the neighbouring buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Pisces28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelArts, Manager at Hotel Arts Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Dear Pisces28,

Thank you for sharing such a detailed comment with the travelers community and for your kind words, although I am sorry to read that you encountered some difficulties during your stay with us.

At Hotel Arts Barcelona, we strive to provide the finest service and offer every guest a seamless experience. We hope to have the opportunity to outshine this experience if you would like to visit us again in the future.

It will always be a pleasure to welcome you to Hotel Arts Barcelona.

Yours sincerely,

Brunella Zinato
Hotel Manager
Hotel Arts Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#118 of 515 in Barcelona
6,473 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#202 of 515 in Barcelona
3,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 515 in Barcelona
1,783 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
#119 of 515 in Barcelona
2,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arts Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arts Barcelona

Address: Marina 19-21, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#11 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#11 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#17 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#25 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#25 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#56 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $229 - $1,023 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Arts Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pristine Hotel Arts Barcelona guides guests through relaxation through a myriad of luxurious accommodations. Surrounded by the picturesque backdrop of Barcelona, the landscape at and near our hotel in Barcelona, Spain will leave you in awe. Visit us and explore our unique setting, inside of our hotel and all around as you discover the seafront and exquisite design and art nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Arts Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arts Hotel Barcelona
Arts Barcelona Hotel
Best Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing