We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the expense”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Ranked #50 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Urbandale, Iowa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth the expense”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

A beautiful hotel very near the beach in the Olympic Port. The staff repeatedly went above and beyond in their service. It is also conveniently located near a subway stop to access all areas of Barcelona.

Room Tip: Request a corner room--views of two directions are then available through the giant windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckyOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,819
    951
    319
    123
    77
See reviews for
928
1,475
121
1,068
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (922)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We only spent one night here, but that was enough to make us remember it forever.
The staff was very professional and friendly, the hotel is beautiful in every way.
The breakfast was excellent and so was the location of the hotel.

We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
188 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Hotel Artis is one of the best hotels I evert stayed in... but it comes with a price tag. The location is perfect at Barcelona's beach. Rooms are beautiful and very, very nice. The staff is very friendly. Wifi is very expensive! But, still! A hotel worth coming back to.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vanamstel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Only spent two nights but were very impressed with the staff and the facilities. Everyone was helpful and went out of the way to be gracious as well. There was no problem finding help and almost seemed over staffed - if that is possible. A bit far for a walk to town but had a great water front location that more than made up for the distance from town. Have no doubt will stay here when in Barcelona. Plenty of restaurant choices within an easy walk. Did not use the on premise restaurants so no commentary provided.

Room Tip: Hard to imagine that any view or location would be bad. Had a view of the marina and the ocean and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We arrived at Hotel Arts Barcelona at 6 am, and Stefan (night Assistant manager) did give us a early waiting room(as we had a 2 yr old baby with us). he gave us this waiting room until we got our reserved standard room (the waiting room was a SUITE at 25th floor lol). I was so happy that Stefan realized we had a young baby, and we couldn't wait till 3 pm for our room, that i call first class service where guests are treated exceptionally.
And by 3 pm,when it was check-in time and time for us to get our real room, they ended up not switching us, they let us have the suite for the night. a suite and we had only paid for a regular room? we got 2 bathrooms, 2 beds, amazing city view,i couldn't have asked for more from the hotel. But sadly, me and my daughter both were terribly sick(diarhea from eating pizza at Marrakech's airport, so I couldn't enjoy the stay when i spent half the time in washroom and changing diapers.) And when we needed a doctor, and medicines, the hotel's staff was courteous enough to arrange all that for us, they even took a taxi went and got our medications (you need that kind of 1st class service when you are stuck sick in a different country). I got 2 injections on by bum ,while trying to admire the suite view lol. my daughter was also given rectal medicines, so my stay in Barcelona was not fun, but i truly think the staff, their service, the hotel interior-which i found very classy, complimentary upgrade everything was amazing.
I just wish i was healthy enough to enjoy the stay....but maybe it was god's way of putting me in complimentary ugraded luxury while me and my daughter were exteremly uncomfortable and unwell??!
Thank you Stefan and all the staff for helping me return home to Toronto safe and sound!

Room Tip: ask for Stefan, he gave us a room upgrade and early check in because we had a "baby"
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samirah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

The Arts is huge - 40 storeys high with over 500 rooms - and that's the problem. It has spacious and smart rooms (and gorgeous bathrooms), charming and personable staff and numerous amenities with a choice of restaurants and terraces. But there's just not enough to go around with so many guests. The reception is heaving with arrivals and departures, the lifts can be slow and crowded, the pool is lovely but packed, the chambermaid service a bit erratic (no under-door message if you miss the first evening round) and the breakfast buffet crowded and unrestful. All a tiny bit four star, if that. The location, on the beachfront, is pretty special for a hotel in a great city but presents another slight problem - it's a ten minute cab ride to the Paseo de Gracia or, if you prefer, a 45 minute walk. In sum, this is (and is priced as) a genuine five star hotel but is so big it can't provide the full five star experience. If you want that, the Mandarin Oriental beckons.

Room Tip: Rooms face the sea, the City or have a side-on view of both; even on a lower floor the views are goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buitenverwachting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We just came back from staying 2 days at the Arts Hotel Barcelona. We booked Club room and stayed on 33 floor. Room was great, specious, clean, great view of the city and beach area.
Huge bathroom with separate shower. Very comfortable beds. Club room is located on 33 floor, so we did not have far to go.
Service was with a smile, but very inexperienced. They are training interns from different European countries and some of them should not be working on that level. Mainly because of the meal service. Water for tea was cold, soup in the evening buffet was cold, tapas same every day. Girl that was suppose to cook eggs for breakfast did not know what she was doing at all. It was apparently her first day, but that is no excuse to serve on club level.
My husband got a little unhappy and complained. Next day there was different chef and meals were supervised. We received coupon to main breakfast buffet downstairs and that was outstanding.Overall, I would not book Club room in the future, but just regular room. Views are great from almost all levels.
There is a problem with elevators. You have to take 2different elevators to get to any floor and they are overloaded. Sometimes we had to wait 10 min to actually board elevator and then it stopped at almost every floor. Very annoying!
Hotel location is great, if you want to be close to the beach. It is long and beautiful beach, great for long walks and full of different restaurants. Although hotel would not recommend any closeby.
It is about 20-30 min walk to Las Ramblas or you can take taxi or Hop on Hop off bus that goes to Playa Catalunya and stops right in front of the hotel. Las Ramblas is packed with tourists, so called "tourist trap" million cruises. Watch your belongings. We set down for paella, pizza and sangria, but did not feel well after that lunch. Hard to find restaurant that serves anything other then paellas.
We found Hop on off bus waste of time. First of all line up are huge, everybody waiting to sit on top. Second, it is slow and goes to places that are not really interesting. We tried to get off at Zagrada, but there was no place to move and most of it is covered for never ending renovations.
Hotel recommended for us to see dancing fountains. After 50 Euros for taxi it really was nothing special. If you saw Bellagio's fountains, this is poor cousin.
This was our second trip to Barcelona and even though I love this city, it will be our last.

Room Tip: Ask for beach and city view. Cannot go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bartekToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#91 of 521 in Barcelona
5,968 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
#123 of 521 in Barcelona
2,240 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#9 of 521 in Barcelona
1,615 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 521 in Barcelona
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arts Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arts Barcelona

Property: Hotel Arts Barcelona
Address: Marina 19 - 21, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#7 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#11 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#17 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#25 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#25 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#44 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Arts Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The pristine Hotel Arts Barcelona guides guests through relaxation through a myriad of luxurious accommodations. Surrounded by the picturesque backdrop of Barcelona, the landscape will leave you in awe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Arts Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arts Hotel Barcelona
Arts Barcelona Hotel
Best Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing