We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service and hotel I have ever stayed at”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Ranked #57 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
norwalk, ct
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best service and hotel I have ever stayed at”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We are currently staying at the Hotel Arts, the hotel is beautiful and words can't adequately describe the level of service we have received. Every single person was gracious and helpful. Starting with Carol at the front desk who couldn't be friendlier and more accommodating, followed by Farah who gave us special insights into making our trip more meaningful and finally Laura at the pool who made my 9 yr old daughter feel like a princess. You really have the feeling that every single employee is vested in making each and every guest feel valued and that there is nothing that they wouldn't do to make your trip into the most perfect one possible. Stay here you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Higher floors give a beautiful view of Barcelona
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,982
    990
    342
    128
    82
See reviews for
1,004
1,561
131
1,107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (951)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newnan, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

My wife and 8 year old daughter spent 3 nights here recently while in Barcelona. We used points for our stay. It was our first time in Barcelona.

When I rank hotels on TA, I rank them accordingly to the class I feel they are in. So in short, my 3 rating represents what I felt was a below average Ritz Carlton but just the same, the Hotel Arts is a fine hotel.

It felt like the hotel in some ways is distancing itself from truly being a RC .. perhaps the brand isn't as highly thought of in Europe as in Asia and North America .. not sure.

Other general observations ...

1) The "Marriott" Rewards lounge as they refer to it was really disappointing. The lady staffing it was great and informative but the food and drink offerings were very basic. Unimpressive croissants and pastries in the morning for instance. Likewise, the space is very odd. You enter through the back of the cocktail bar and then go into this back room that functions as the lounge. I guess my comment would be to either do a real lounge that is going to impress folks or don't do a lounge at all.

2) We used the concierge to book our dinners. Overall I found it a strange experience. One night the concierge did recommend a tasty Japanese/Brazilian place - Ikabana but the other night steered us to a joint down the beach - Platja Ca la Nuri. The food was marginal at best here and I would advise folks to avoid. My main issue with the concierge we worked with was that he told us to "ask for XXX" when you arrive at the restaurant even though I'm sure that when he made the reservations for us, it was clear the booking was coming from the Hotel Arts concierge. In short, I felt like he was steering us to places he had connections in essence versus necessarily the better places. I have never felt this way at other RCs.

3) Ritz Kids - Ritz Kids is mentioned on the website but when we checked in, the clerk didn't seem to know what it was other than the "scavenger" hunt (which my daughter did like). I suggest they consider having a similar program to many other RCs where there is a kids night out possible.

4) Not the hotel's fault - but overall, I think we would have preferred staying in the core city. The beach is fine but it's quite a walk to get to the middle of things.

5) Age - The hotel was built shortly after the 1992 Olympics and while it went through a renovation I think around 2006 is beginning to show it's age again. Nothing major but I assume another update will occur sometime in the next few years.

There were pros

1) Pool area was great.
2) Staff was helpful
3) The "bites" snackbar was good for breakfast
4) Cocktail bar has reasonable prices for good wine.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rogerslb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelArts, Manager at Hotel Arts Barcelona, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear rogerslb,

First of all, thank you very much for taking the time to send us your comments following you stay in June.

I am very concerned about the issues you mentioned and I ask you to accept my sincerest apologies. I can totally understand your displeasure about the inconveniences you experienced during your stay and I regret that we were not able to offer you and your family the finest experience you were right to expect.

We are investigating to follow up on these incidents and I would like to invite you to contact me personally if you would like to discus your experience further. You can reach me calling +34 93 221 1000 or writing to hotel.arts[at]ritzcarlton.com.

I hope to welcome you back soon in order to give you the impeccable experience you expected.

Yours sincerely,

Brunella Zinato
Hotel Manager
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

I stayed at Hotel Arts for six days on a business trip. I had never been to Barcelona before. I found the staff incredibly helpful and welcoming and of course the hotel itself is first-rate. The physical plant is terrific, the beds and linens cozy and comfortable, and the location is very good for a visitor to the city. I ate in the hotel a couple of times during my stay and the food was also excellent, both room service and in the restaurant.

I did have about one and a half days free to act as a tourist before I had to move on. The hotel is just a block from bus stops for the two most popular double-decker bus tours of the local attractions, and I used those buses to get a bird's-eye view of the city as well as opportunities to hop on and off to visit sites of interest. It is also near a subway station and I found getting there and back on Barcelona's subway to be relatively painless and simple (although subways are quick and efficient, I don't favor them when traveling, because you can't see other things along your route).

The only criticism I'll make is that I had a pedicure and I wasn't all that impressed with the spa. It was good but I expected the spa in a hotel like this to be better. The spa staff were very nice and professional but I expected better facilities than simply soaking my feet in a large bowl. This is a very minor quibble about an overall terrific hotel experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ImeldaTheHon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

If you have the pleasure of visiting Barcelona, the Hotel Arts is amazing. The rooms, service, flowers and staff are the best in town. Always a pleasure to stay here! Great location. Walk to the beach or tour the city.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Club Lounge. Gizelle and Pieter will take great care of you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTTraveler203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

I was there last October and did not like the overall experience. This hotel has nothing extraordinary. Staff is ok. Rooms are a bit unpersonal, but maybe it's just me. Location is also not ideal. I will go elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrAlberto041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelArts, Manager at Hotel Arts Barcelona, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear MrAlberto041,

Thank you for taking the time to express your dissatisfaction throughout our survey. I am sorry that we failed to offer you the finest experience during your stay with us last fall. All our Ladies and Gentlemen strive to provide our guests with the best service and create memorable travel experiences.

Although we failed in leaving you a pleasant memory of your last visit, I would be truly grateful if you accepted to discuss your experience further with me.

Feel free to leave your contact details via email at hotel.arts[at]ritzcarlton.com or calling +34 93 221 1000 and I will personally return your call or message as soon as possible.

Yours sincerely,

Brunella Zinato
Hotel Manager
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Cool place, good looking and nice staff but TERRIBLE SERVICE. In brief:
- We arrived at 10.30 pm with 3 tired small children and had to wait for 30 mins.
- We waited another 30 mins for someone open the connecting doors to the kids room.
- We specifically asked for a king size bed in the parents' room but got twin beds.
- The taxi for 6 PAX which we ordered 30 mins in advance was not ready
- We waited over 45 mins for a kids dinner in the lobby all-.day restaurant
- On our second day in the room we found only one coffee cup and two Nespresso capsules next to the coffee machine
The views were great

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mirjam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelArts, Manager at Hotel Arts Barcelona, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Mirjam S,

I was sincerely concerned to hear that you encountered difficulties during your stay with us, and that you left us with a bitter memory of our hotel. Please allow me to send you my most sincere apologies.
I am also thankful that took the time to express your comments, as they will help me investigate each point you mentioned, and take the necessary actions in the failing areas.

All our Ladies and Gentlemen strive to provide the finest service and offer every guest a seamless experience. When it is reported that we fail to do so, you may trust that we engage all our resources to correct the mistakes immediately and prevent them from happening again.

If you would like to discuss your experience personally with me, feel free to leave your contact details via email at hotel.arts[at]ritzcarlton.com or calling +34 93 221 1000 and I will return your call or message as soon as possible.

Yours sincerely,

Brunella Zinato
Hotel Manager
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Just stayed here June 2014. Room keys never work, and they admit its a problem. No ice machine works any any floor i tried. They know this and do nothing about it. Ice being a basic luxury. Granted they will bring you all the ice you want if you want someone in your room 3-4 times a day. Getting regular coffee is like running the gauntlet, use machine in room for a mini coffee, that is if they remembered to refill your (only 2 Nescafé) capsules, which they don't always do. Go to lobby, but it must be just the right time otherwise it gets moved to another floor. Or pay for club level and it is out all the time, or just wait 30 minutes and have sent to your room for 30 euros

Rooms are clean with very nice decor, location is good, but the whole process and making the little things hard makes this the worst Ritz I have ever stayed at and for the price would highly recomend avoiding.

Wasn't trying to be a snob, but at these prices you should expect the basic luxuries, keys that work, ice, coffee, a failure on all 3

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Emmet1175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelArts, Manager at Hotel Arts Barcelona, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Emmet1175,

Thank you very much for taking the time to bring your concerns to us. Your comments are key for us to evaluate our guests’ experience and constantly improve ourselves.

I am very affected to read that your overall experience didn’t meet your expectations. Please accept my apologies. I am very concerned about the detailed comments you made and I will ensure to check up on these points with my team, if you allow me.

I would be grateful to have the opportunity to personally contact you in order to follow-up with you. If you would be so kind to send me your contact details to hotel.arts[at]ritzcarlton.com or calling +34 93 221 1000, I will return your call or message personally as soon as possible.

Yours sincerely,

Brunella Zinato
Hotel Manager
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#107 of 512 in Barcelona
6,212 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
#122 of 512 in Barcelona
2,344 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 512 in Barcelona
1,280 reviews
Eixample
Cotton House Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arts Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arts Barcelona

Property: Hotel Arts Barcelona
Address: Marina 19 - 21, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#11 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#17 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#25 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#25 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#49 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Arts Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The pristine Hotel Arts Barcelona guides guests through relaxation through a myriad of luxurious accommodations. Surrounded by the picturesque backdrop of Barcelona, the landscape will leave you in awe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Arts Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arts Hotel Barcelona
Arts Barcelona Hotel
Best Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing