We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Ranked #50 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

I recently stayed at the hotel Arts with my girlfriend and thought I’d put a few notes up on here for prospective guests.

On first arriving at the hotel I was greeted by name, how they knew that it was me I do not know, I have no id on my luggage but somehow they knew. The hotel has a curious layout, there is a lobby of sorts on the ground floor but the real lobby is one floor up and so we took the lift. The lobby is quite small, but there are ample staff to deal with your issues. There was a conference on while we were there and so a lot of ‘suits’ around, this is normal for a hotel of this repute, but if you don’t want this then go elsewhere. After completing the check-in process we headed for our room. A note here that despite pre-paying my room, the hotel blocks a further €150 a day for any expenses incurred. I did question this as I found this to be a little steep, but was told that the hotel was expensive, so there! Of course no money is actually taken until leaving but some might find this a little excessive.

To get to the rooms you head down another corridor to a bank of six lifts. Our room was on the third floor and was a good size. A big picture window and a great bathroom. I read that the hotel was refurbished in 2006, but the room does still look a little dated. There is a Bang and Olufsen CD player in the room, but who carries CD’s with them these days? The TV again seemed to be quite old, ours had two thick black lines across the screen and I can only say that it was phosphor burn where the same welcome screen had been on the TV for many a year and that this was now permanently marked onto the screen.

We weren’t there to watch TV, so this didn’t bother us unduly. The reception was right about the cost of items in the room, the Nespresso coffee machine was €4 a cup for instance. I know of no other hotel in the world that charges for in room coffee, but so be it. The corkscrew was also listed as a charge at €11, but I presume this was in case you took it and not for it’s use!

We needed some info about our plans for Barcelona and so headed to the concierge. Special mention must go to Oscar who was helpful and pleasant and informative. He even took the time on later days to ask us if we visited the attractions and if we had enjoyed them, this man was a real gem for the hotel. All of the staff were extremely pleasant I must also add and there were always plenty of them to look after your needs.

As the hotel is a little out of the centre we used the metro to get around. This a short walk from the hotel and €7 a day for unlimited stops. It is clean and safe, but there is a lot of walking sometimes between line changes so be aware of this.

Barcelona is a delight, the architecture and shops will keep most people busy for a week at least. To sum up then, a very good hotel, a little pricey, but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tootiredtotango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelArts, Gerente at Hotel Arts Barcelona, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear tootiredtotango,

First of all, I would like to thank you for having taken the time to give us and forthcoming clients such a detailed feedback on your stay.

I regret and apologize for any inconvenience or anything inappropriate you might have encountered during your stay. Nevertheless, I am happy to hear that you have received a proper and pleasant service and you have had a positive overall impression. I can assure you I will let our employees know about the matters mentioned.

I would be pleased to have the opportunity of discussing your experience in more detail and I invite you to contact us calling +34 93 221 1000 or by mail writing to hotel.arts[at]ritzcarlton.com. I look forward to receiving your message and to answering your call or e-mail personally.

Thank you again for your message and I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Brunella Zinato
Hotel Manager
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,833
    956
    320
    123
    79
See reviews for
937
1,476
124
1,075
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (924)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

I recommend Hotel Arts Barcelona. We stayed for one night after enjoying a 10 day cruise. The service was exceptional from valet to check-out. They gave me a glass of water and some handmade candy while I was checking in. They also gave me a very nice Barcelona city map. Nice bathroom with soaking tub and separate toilet and shower areas made it easy for a family to enjoy. The ocean/city views from our 21st floor room were gorgeous. The bed was very comfortable. The restaurants were very pricey as were the in-room snacks, so better to dine in the city. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gomccall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Staying at the Club Level at the Hotel Arts in Barcelona is a very, very pleasant experience. My guest room on the 33rd floor was clean, spacious and well appointed with a great view over the beach and the port. The bathroom featured a rainforest shower in a separate stall and had an excellent array of amenities. The bed was very comfortable and sleep quality was excellent. The highlight, though, was the really excellent Club Lounge which provided day long beverages and snacks of the highest quality. A really smart, sophisticated and quiet oasis away from the hustle and bustle of the rest of the hotel the Club really felt like a home away from home. The staff in the Club Lounge were fantastic - very obliging, friendly and efficient; they really made my stay something special.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burleighboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

I just returned from four nights at this hotel. We paid to stay on the club level and it was well worth what we paid. The room was lovely with amazing views and the food, drinks, and service provided in the club lounge were all top shelf.

We wound up taking taxis each morning to get us to where we wanted to start our sightseeing. We found the taxis very well priced with no trip being more than 10 euros.

The walk to the metro stop, while not that long is not particularly attractive, and we preferred to just get going.

The exception was the day we went to Montjuic Park. On that day we walked 20 minutes or so along the beach and then took the cable car right to the park. Beautiful views!!

The staff at the hotel is very personable and helpful. At times maybe too personable, in that there were times we wanted to just get going and they wanted all the details of how we had spent the day. Still, better than not caring.

We did not eat onsite, with the exception of the club lounge, so I can't help with that.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ijfri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
75 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

The location is a bit off, although that would depend on what you are doing. But it's always nice to be next to the ocean. Everything at the hotel is very expensive; instant coffe from the simple espresso machine in the room was more than 4 euro. The logistics were a bit weird; from the entrance you take an elevator one floor where the reception is. There you have to go around the corner to take another elevator up to your room. And to find your way back from the pool you need a GPS... Wouldn't stay there if I had to pay for it myself.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tjongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Arts, during our honeymoon. We Had been backpacking across Europe and this was our last stop. Upon our arrival, we definitely stuck out like a sore thumb, being surrounded by beauty and class. My wife and I were worried we would be treated differently, because of our appearance. To our surprise, every single employee we talked to seemed to go the extra mile and were extremely kind. Our stay was absolutely perfect, and it we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tattooedtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for a few nights while visiting Barcelona. Had a great corporate rate which made it easier to stomach the prices for everything while at the hotel. Breakfast was off the charts good and a great way to start the day (or recover from the night before!) prior to exploring the city. Didn't bother with drinks or dinner in the hotel, so many other wonderful options in the city.

I was meeting my girlfriend there after she'd been traveling for work. I was delayed a day so called ahead and the concierge arranged for flowers and a handwritten note to be awaiting her since I could not be. Nothing crazy but a really nice touch by a thoughtful concierge who seemed to actually care....not always the case.

The room was beautiful, a bit modern and sleek for what one usually finds in Europe. Very comfortable and had a great view of the water.

Only thing that would make me consider a different place if visiting again is the location. It's a bit of a jaunt to any of the things I found interesting in Barcelona (architecture, shopping, gothic district, etc). The water is beautiful and waking up overlooking the sea is nice, but not really why we were visiting.

Overall, loved it and would recommend to anyone visiting the city.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COTraveler81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#92 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,986 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
#121 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,250 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#11 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#5 of 521 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arts Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arts Barcelona

Property: Hotel Arts Barcelona
Address: Marina 19 - 21, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#7 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#11 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#17 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#25 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#25 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#44 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Arts Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The pristine Hotel Arts Barcelona guides guests through relaxation through a myriad of luxurious accommodations. Surrounded by the picturesque backdrop of Barcelona, the landscape will leave you in awe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Arts Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arts Hotel Barcelona
Arts Barcelona Hotel
Best Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing