We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautifull hotel, but uneven value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Ranked #49 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautifull hotel, but uneven value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is a beatifull hotel, with a great location.
Most personnel is helpfull and competent. A few glitches however tainted our stay.
When we arrived, the person at the reception said our room would be ready in less than an hour. We then went for a quick lunch in the hotel (that was extremely average in quality and high in price), and when we came back, the same person said that they could not say when our room would be ready.
We had reserved a room with Sea view. "Sea view" is interpreted broadly, as 90% of the view was taken by the City and railtracks, and if we stretched our necks we could glimpse at the Sea.
However we went to the reception, and the did the necessary for us to get a room with frontal Sea view that was beautifull.
As some other people, we also experienced problems with the water temperature. Sometimes impossible to get cold water ...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrunoMBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelArts, Gerente at Hotel Arts Barcelona, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear BrunoMBrussels,

Thank you for having sent us your feedback.

I am sorry to read about your dificulties during check-in and the water supply incidents, and I ask you to accept my apologies. I would be glad to have the chance to follow up on these incidents personally giving you a brief call or e-mail. If you agree, I would ask you to provide your contact data to hotel.arts[at]ritzcarlton.com or calling +34 93 221 1000. It will be my pleasure to return your call or e-mail.

I hope to have the chance to welcome you again soon in order to give you an entirely spotless experience. Yours sincerely,

Brunella Zinato
Hotel Manager
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,823
    955
    319
    123
    77
See reviews for
932
1,476
122
1,070
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (923)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
182 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

A great hotel at the sea front. The staff is very friendly, helpfull. The reception however seems too small for the size of the hotel, reulting in long waiting times. The rooms are bright, modern tasteful. The flower decoration in the hotel is beautiful.
Which side your room is on, makes a large different with fantastic views on the city or the sea, but more boring view on the north side especially.
The meeting room with the balcony is unique and an inspiring place.
The boulevard with the beach, clubs and restaurants is on minutes walking distance.
Prices are high but worth it.

Room Tip: Sea or city side. avoid the north side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Honestly, this is one of the best hotels I've experienced in a long time. I had the pleasure of spending 4 nights here for business, and enjoyed every minute.

THE GOOD

All the staff were friendly and helpful, smiling and courteous. The rooms are fantastic, the bathrooms are great. The beds are super comfortable, and the in-room amenities are top notch.

The breakfast is superb (I only had breakfast in the hotel, so can't comment on the restaurants). All the facilities are great, and up to the standards you would expect from such an establishment.

The location is good (20 minutes from the airport), right on the beachfront with plenty of entertainment options all around.

THE BAD

It's expensive. Even by European standards. Paying 8 euro for a beer is just wrong (3 euro everywhere else). 32 euro for a breakfast is steep (although it really is a good breakfast). Also the meeting facilities and associated meals are incredibly expensive.

THE UGLY

Absolutely unacceptable this day and age is charging for WiFi access. And shamelessly charging 25 euro a day for a not-very-reliable and slow internet service is completely ridiculous. Their internet access system is also a little cumbersome, and not always available.

If it wasn't for this, I would have been happy to give this hotel 5 stars.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sacha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Overall, this hotel was excellent - on par dare I say with our stay a few years ago at the George Sank in Paris on almost every dimension except for the flowers in the entrance way. That aside, we stayed with a group of 4 including one small child, and did not want to leave at the end.

The pros:
* Staff service was excellent. I actually fell ill on this vacation and the staff went out of their way to make sure I got medical care and filled a prescription for me. The concierge made every effort to make difficult reservations happen even calling in favors. We traveled with a small child and all of the staff went out of their way to make friends with him.
* Rooms. Excellent appointments and very comfortable. The room had top of the line entertainment and an espresso machine. Views were spectacular. The room was very spacious and the rain shower with jets were a nice touch.
* Breakfast Buffet: in the Veranda is the wonderful - all you can eat Jamon Iberco/Manchego cheese sandwiches, fresh fruit, pastries, crepe bar - all yummy and a great deal at $30 Euros.
* Enoteca: This was a very nice restaurant. Good food and service. Nice to have this in the hotel.

The cons:
* Aroloa: Great service but the food was not great. I know the Spanish eat less than the Americans but the portion size was ridiculously small.
* Pool was not heated - though that would not be a problem in summer months I might imagine

Considerations:
* Closer to the beach than shopping - shorter cab ride inland. Nothing major but realize that other top end hotels are actually in the city and more central to a lot of the sites. The beach does have many nice restaurants and better views
* Close to casinos
* Hosts conferences - don't know if that is good or bad

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bicoastaltraveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
231 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 701 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Hotel Arts is in the perfect location for Barcelona’s beaches and shopping. For night, casinos and night clubs up and down the beach. We stayed up on the 31st floor Club level. The room view of Barcelona’s marina and beaches was breath taking. We enjoyed the club offerings of breakfast, noon snack and evening drinks and apps before dinner, even the afternoon tea was nice, we stayed for 5 nights and really enjoyed going to the beach all day long for three days in a row, so relaxing. The highlight of the trip was cruising on a classic Russian sidecar motorcycle, an unforgettable city tour and out to the Olympic Stadium.

I had 6 star expectations out of this "Ritz" Hotel Arts and was a disappointed and happy at the same time. The bad... The Club level room carpets were a spotty stained mess and even though my socks didn't change color, it was not an acceptable presentation for a club level room at rack rate, everything else was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Love2TrvlMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelArts, Gerente at Hotel Arts Barcelona, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Love2TrvlMM,

Thank you for this feedback on your visit to Hotel Arts. I am very glad that we could give you a memorable stay and that your experience at our hotel was, in general, satisfactory.

However, I would like to apologize for the point you mentioned about the carpets in our Club Lounge. This impression is obviously not up to the standard of service we strive to offer, and I can assure you that I will check-up on this issue with my team.

I sincerely hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally in order to make your next reservation.

Yours sincerely,

Brunella Zinato
Hotel Manager
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tønsberg
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Being a high class luxury designer's hotel, the Hotel Arts Barcelona doesn't disappoint. I have stayed here twice, fortunately invited by business affiliates to conferences. Very spacious rooms, great and cofortable beds, fabulous B&O in-room entertainment as well as a Nespresso machine. This hotel has it all, unless you are into a cosy family athmosphere. Bring your swim suit and be sure to enjoy the great outdoor dining as well as enjoying the bar.

Room Tip: Try selecting a corner room in the upper floors if you don't suffer from height anxiety.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toralfsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We had a 3 night break in a corner suite and were upgraded to one on the 25th floor with amazing views of the sea and Barcelona. The staff in this hotel are outstanding and I give a special thanks to Sammie on the front desk who went out of her way to be helpful. She organised a lovely cake for my 50th birthday and gave us lots of information on Barcelona.
The room was very spacious and comfortable. The only slight criticism is that it could do with freshening up and a new mattress on the bed. We had breakfast included which was the best I have had anywhere in the world with a huge choice.
The marina and beach area close to the hotel has many nice restaurants and bars. Ican particularly recommend Opium restaurant on the beach front.The hop on hop off tourist bus stops outside the hotel. There was a big conference on during our stay and we found some of the attendees to be a little noisy and inconsiderate towards fellow guests.
Barcelona is a beautiful city and the Arts is a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor if staying on a weekend as their are clubs nearby which are noisy at 2am. Views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cehderby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#92 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,979 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
#121 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,244 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#9 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,618 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 521 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arts Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arts Barcelona

Property: Hotel Arts Barcelona
Address: Marina 19 - 21, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#7 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#11 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#17 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#25 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#25 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#43 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Arts Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The pristine Hotel Arts Barcelona guides guests through relaxation through a myriad of luxurious accommodations. Surrounded by the picturesque backdrop of Barcelona, the landscape will leave you in awe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Arts Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arts Hotel Barcelona
Arts Barcelona Hotel
Best Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing