We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Ranked #70 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 30, 2007

I had a corporate rate of 230Euro which is about half the going rate. I still think it was a ripoff.

Hotel nickels and dimes you for everything, They even charge you for coffee in your room.

Bathroom in room is magnificent.
The shower is second to none.
For heaven's sake, enjoy it with your SO.

Gym is fantastic.

Hotel location is a bit far from any site except the beach.

The immediate area around the hotel is SLEAZY!
It is so ridiculous it is worth looking at the male and female pole dancers right next to the hotel. I was totally taken aback.

Overall, considering everything, i would stay at a hotel in a more central area.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank sepos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,862)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,506 - 3,512 of 4,862 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2007

If you are fortunate enough to take a trip to Barcelona and its beautiful city, be sure to stay at this amazing hotel. It has 28 fabulous apartments which have views second to none over the marina, beach and city, as well as standard rooms.
The décor is modern and extremely comfortable with fresh flowers daily around the Hotel, its corridors and rooms.
The restaurant is atmospheric with fine food. It has a very comfortable relaxing lounge area with modern fire place, to relax before your meal.
It has a beautiful pool area with lounge furniture and hammocks to relax in and also a hot spa tub.
By far the staff at this hotel make your stay very memorable. They are courteous, friendly and cannot do enough to make your stay comfortable. We had our anniversary here and would not hesitate to recommend this as a very special place to stay on your special occasion.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank andyrossjohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2007

We stayed from 23/08 until 29/08. Having read some of the reviews we were a little apprehensive about staying - would we get a good room, etc. We were given a stunning room on the 27th floor with a view of the city and the beach. The hotel is truly beautiful and as it was summer we took great advantage of the pool and jacuzzi. Except for the last day, we had a good time. The only downfalls were: a lot of very bad mannered teenagers use the jacuzzi and ate ice cream in the tub with the consequence that a lot of empty glassware was left around the side. Also the children placed serviettes and plastic cups in the water. Apart from this, the staff were very helpful and the hotel kept very clean. Our last day was spoilt due to a group, MetLife, reserving at the last moment the whole of the hotel - consequently the pool was closed at 6pm (very early for summer) with very little notice (the notice didn't go up until 10am that day) and some of the staff from the group not very polite as they were already milling around guests trying to relax. Several other guests complained as well but as the hotel was short of staff, some of these were placed to assist the group and as a result the service went down a little. I would still highly recommend the hotel despite this disappointment but would strongly advise you to find out if other groups are booked at the same time or not. Groups need to understand that individual guests go to the hotel to relax and not be stressed out by so many people milling around and as it was our wedding anniversary we felt doubly cheated that day.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank incyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2007

My family and I absolutely enjoyed our one night stay at the beautiful Hotel Arts. From the moment we arrived staff at the front desk, pool, restaurant and valets were extremely friendly and helpful. We had adjoining rooms on the 12th floor with breathtaking views of the city and water. The rooms, decorated in a warm contemporary style, had every amenity and electronic gadget one can imagine. Beds were beyond comfortable and the bathroom and shower had many special touches. The pool area was perfect with double beach towels and hammocks, extras we enjoyed. We only had one meal at the hotel, the buffet breakfast, the decor was lovely, the food delicious and the service perfect.

The only negative related to the in room coffee maker. First off, the coffee and fixings are located in a box in the cabinet and ours was a mess having been used and not replenished after previous guests. We had to call several times to have new products brought to the room and then were charged a hefty fee for each cup of espresso.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Murphy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2007

Spent 5 nights on our 22nd wedding anniversary in September 2006.

Booked through AMEX an Executive Suite with club lounge access as under their programme you may get a room upgrade on arrival.

Sure enough as the hotel knew it was our anniversary we were upgraded to the Japanese Suite on the 30th floor. This suite is fantastic, it is the complete length of the hotel with views over the sea, 1760sq feet. It has Japanese-inspired contemporary design, Spacious lounge area with built-in bar, Dining room with adjacent kitchen, Large marble bathroom, King-size bedroom located on the corner with views overlooking the Mediterranean with floor to ceiling windows. Bang & Olufsen TV's and stereo.

My wife and I were 'blown away'. The staff were the best I have ever seen and the few assigned to the Club lounge always remembered your name. The Club lounge situated on the 33rd floor was fantastic with their many 'food presentations' per day and unlimited drinks. The early evening chocolate dipped strawberries went down very well with the wine!!

The pool area was very good with excellent attentive staff placing your towels out for you and ice cold (free) bottled water. Several times the pool bar staff brought around free cocktails to try - a nice touch. We did have lunch at the poolside on one occasion which was very good.

We only ate once in the restaurant, (as the food in the club lounge was adequate for our needs....and included!!) the quality and service was excellent.

There is plenty of night life opposite the hotel with plenty of bars and restaurants. The Hard Rock Cafe is a must and much cheaper than London's!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and if you can manage the extra cost of a club room you will not be disappointed with the food & drink on offer.

Have a great time

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank Howie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2007

This hotel is beautiful and the location is wonderful. The views from all rooms are unparalleled since this is one of the tallest buildings in the city. The rooms are nice and the linens on the beds are very comfortable. The service at the hotel is appalling and no amount of asking for help actually produced results. Some examples of basic requests that we were never able to get during our fours days there: having the room cleaned every day, having a coffee maker in the room (that was supposed to be there already), asking for a do not disturb on our telephone line as we tried to sleep of jet-lag (they would do it for outside callers but the mini-bar people and other staff would ring any way). We had also asked ahead of time for reservations in the restaurants in the hotel, were ignored and then not given much help in finding places to dine. The airlines delayed our luggage and even when it was finally delivered to the hotel, they didn’t give it to us. When we insisted on seeing their luggage room (since the airline claimed they had delivered it) they did admit they had bags they couldn’t identify. The bags had our names six places on the outside and two on the inside. There is no gift shop in the hotel where you can buy even the most basic toiletries and no help from the staff getting so much as an extra tube of shampoo.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank mbprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2007

We had two interconnecting rooms, city view. Wow it was great to watch the light changing and see every sight from our 14th floor windows. The rooms were immaculate, beautiful bathrooms, seating areas and such comfy beds.

Not sure about overall food quality, my only slight problem.

There at the same time as The Rolling Stones, they were OK but their bodyguards were a bit heavy with one or two guests wanting photos from a distance which, in a public place, is a bit naughty.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#126 of 517 in Barcelona
6,551 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#9 of 517 in Barcelona
1,804 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
#119 of 517 in Barcelona
2,487 reviews
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#203 of 517 in Barcelona
3,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arts Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arts Barcelona

Address: Marina 19-21, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#11 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#11 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#11 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#25 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#25 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#56 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $293 - $969 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Arts Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pristine Hotel Arts Barcelona guides guests through relaxation through a myriad of luxurious accommodations. Surrounded by the picturesque backdrop of Barcelona, the landscape at and near our hotel in Barcelona, Spain will leave you in awe. Visit us and explore our unique setting, inside of our hotel and all around as you discover the seafront and exquisite design and art nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Arts Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arts Hotel Barcelona
Arts Barcelona Hotel
Best Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing