We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique building - worth seeing”
Review of La Pedrera

La Pedrera
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.10*
and up
Skip the Line: Gaudi’s La Pedrera Audio Tour in Barcelona
Ranked #11 of 699 things to do in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Casa Mila, popularly known as La Pedrera, is a most unusual building, constructed between 1906 and 1912 by the architect Antoni Gaudí (1852–1926) and declared UNESCO World Heritage in 1984. Today it is the headquarters of Fundació Catalunya La Pedrera and houses a cultural centre that is a reference point in Barcelona for the range of activities it organises and the different spaces for exhibitions and other public uses it contains. A visit to La Pedrera, landmark building and container, gives us a better understanding and appreciation of architecture and transports us to the period when Antoni Gaudí lived.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Unique building - worth seeing”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Typical of Guadi, this is a very unique building. you can see that from the street but it's worth checking out the inside, as well as going up to the roof. I didn't get to go to any of the performances there, but I've heard it's a lovely venue. If you're into the funky architecture, you should definitely check it out.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nadine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15,869 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9,183
    4,772
    1,470
    331
    113
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Do not do the nighttime tour”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I purchased a ticket for the nighttime tour and it was not worth the money. Our guide did not speak very good English and the tour was slow and drawn out.
The only good park about it was being on the rooftop at night, there were some beautiful views! If you have extra time give Casa Mila a visit, otherwise I'd skip it altogether if you are tight on time.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Heshmati89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
128 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Evening tour”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We did the evening tour of La Pedrera. Mainly because it wasn't that much more expensive than queueing during the daytime and we thought it would be less crowded. It was definitely worth it. If you're a Gaudi fan (and it is possible to be over 'Gaudi-ed' in Barcelona) this is a must. The exterior facade is currently being renovated but that doesn't detract from the stunning interior. The courtyard is beautifully painted and upstairs there is a lovely apartment to see which is in original condition. The views from the roof are incredible at night too. Two things to remember if you do this evening tour, first is that you have to go up four floors to see the apartment and then more stairs up to the roof. There is a lift, but getting into it can be a bit of a scramble. And the second, once on the roof, it's floodlit with lamps that are placed low to the ground. These can be rather dazzling and there are lots of steps it would be easy to miss. The glass of cava at the end was nice. If you're planning to eat after your visit, don't forget to check what time your chosen restaurant closes

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Tilly00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Level Contributor
185 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“What a creation!”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We took an entire day to enjoy a Gaudi day and La Pedrera was a stop we thoroughly enjoyed also. Gaudi was an amazing person and his creativity comes to life in this building. It is beyond ones imagination to see this skilled man and see how he creates such beauty and use in buildings. This is another must see in my opinion!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan39564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Architecture”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

The line to this attraction moved quickly & we opted for the listening devices which played information in your choice of languages about the architect & history of Casa Mila. Great photo ops from the roof!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank AJ635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Pedrera also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to La Pedrera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing