We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful park, nice views, but monumental zone overpriced” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Guell

Park Guell
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.00*
and up
Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Park Güell
Ranked #11 of 691 things to do in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Park Guell is one of the masterpieces of the Catalan architect Antoni Gaudi, who projected it in 1900. Inaugurated as a public park in 1926, it was listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1984, reconizing its patrimonial and cultural value as a symbol of modern architecture, being one of the biggest exponents of Gaudi's modernism. This playful urban park, the work of architect Antoni Gaudi, features peaceful greens, winding paths and many sculptures and mosaics designed by Gaudi himself. We recommend the following options for ensuring that you arrive on time at the Park Guell Monument Precinct: - Metro (green line, get off at Lesseps or Vallcarca). When you leave the station, you’ll have a walk of about 20-25 minutes. - City bus (lines H6 and 32). When you get off the bus, you’ll have a walk of about 15 minutes. - City bus (lines 92 and 24). When you get off the bus, you’ll have a walk of about 5 minutes. - Barcelona City Tour and Bus Turistic. When you get off the bus, you’ll have a walk of about 10 minutes. - Taxi to Park Guell (Carretera del Carmel or Calle de Marianao)
Enschede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful park, nice views, but monumental zone overpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

The park is quite big and offers nice views of Barcelona. The monumental zone is overpriced (€7/€8) and quite small. My advice: do not visit the monumental zone, but only the free areas. If you do want to visit the monumental zone, buy your tickets online, as availability is very limited (restricted to 400 entering visitors per half an hour). You do not need to print your ticket.

The park is easily reachable by the TMB 24 bus service, departs from Pl Catalunya very regularly ('El Corte Ingles' side).

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank sihida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50,684 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26,350
    15,846
    6,361
    1,464
    663
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

My wife and I didn't know that you needed to purchase tickets to access the central portion of the park. Nonetheless, we still had a great time walking up the paths and around the park. It's a beautiful park, and there are still some neat things to see outside of the paid area. There are also great views of Barcelona the higher up you walk. Definitely wear a pair of comfortable shoes due to the stone steps and the incline/decline.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_n_Eating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Architectural Fantasy Land”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

I was "doing" Gaudi in Barcelona, an amazing thing to "do", and Guell park was on my "must" list. I was enchanted. You walk through a fantasy landscape with a mini-housing development including Gaudi's own home to visit, If you are interested in mosaic design, this is a must for you, especially the large raised plaza with great views and don't miss "el drago" leading up to the plaza. All of this and much more makes this a must for children and the young at heart.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank BaltiBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oudkarspel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
120 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Book in advance and go early in the morning”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

On our second day in Barcelona we went direclty to Guell Park only to be advised that we had a 3 hours wait for entry; we subsequently ordered tickets for the following morning - early. Note we were advised that there is free entry to the park before 8.30am.

We returned the following day and the park was peaceful in comparison to the previous day. We were therefore able to take lots of pictures without hundreds of people around. It was extremely pleasant to sit and enjoy the park before the crowds of people arrived.

Overall, a great experience albeit we would say that the park is over-priced. We had expected more for our money, namely, that that park was much bigger.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Amands, Belgium
Level Contributor
169 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Tourist trap”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

Unless you're an absolute fan of the work of Gaudi, want to pay for his work that was actually meant for the public, want to get in line for hours (!!) to be allowed into the monument area, avoid this crowdy hell. All that remains when you're not paying is an average park on a hill stuffed with tourists and these guys selling absolute crap jewelry, sunglasses etc. And the obligate Indians "fwesh water, one euro" of course. There are much nicer and quiter parks in this world, and also in Barcelona.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DeWolf77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Park Guell also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Park Guell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing